The Government of Canada has updated the country’s Tentative List for World Heritage Sites, an inventory of natural and cultural heritage properties with strong potential to be inscribed on the World Heritage List. Properties can only be nominated for inscription on the World Heritage List if they are included on a country’s Tentative List.

On December 20, 2017, the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada, Catherine McKenna, announced the addition of eight new sites to Canada’s Tentative List:

These eight sites are joined by five sites that remain from when the Tentative List was updated in 2004.

Sites added to the Tentative List in 2004

Public process

A public process was used to solicit applications for consideration for Canada’s Tentative List for World Heritage Sites. 42 applications were received for sites from across the country, and reviewed by an independent Ministerial Advisory Committee of Canadian experts in the fields of natural and cultural heritage. The Advisory Committee recommended to the Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada the addition to the Tentative List of those properties with strong potential for successful inscription as World Heritage Sites.


Anticosti Island photo: René Bourque

Heart's Content Cable Station photo: Department of Tourism, Culture, Industry and Innovation – Government of Newfoundland and Labrador

Le gouvernement du Canada a mis à jour sa liste indicative pour le patrimoine mondial, un répertoire des lieux patrimoniaux naturels et culturels les plus susceptibles d’être inscrits à la Liste du patrimoine mondial. Pour proposer l’ajout d’un lieu à la Liste du patrimoine mondial, celui-ci doit d’abord être inscrit sur la liste indicative d’un pays.

Le 20 décembre 2017, la ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada, Catherine McKenna, a annoncé l’ajout de huit nouveaux sites à la Liste indicative du Canada :

Ces huit sites s’ajoutent aux cinq lieux qui se trouvent toujours sur la liste depuis la dernière mise à jour, en 2004.

Sites ajoutés à la Liste indicative du Canada en 2004 :

Processus public

Un processus public a été utilisé pour solliciter des propositions de lieux patrimoniaux à ajouter à la liste indicative du Canada. Nous avons reçu 42 propositions de sites d’un peu partout au pays et elles ont été examinées par un comité consultatif ministériel indépendant formé de spécialistes canadiens du patrimoine naturel et culturel. Ce comité était chargé de recommander à la ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada les lieux les plus susceptibles d’être classés sites du patrimoine mondial.


Photo de l'Île d’Anticosti : René Bourque

Photo du poste du câble de Heart’s Content : Ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture, de l’Industrie et de l’Innovation, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador