Recognition, Resilience, and Resolve

Asian Heritage Month in Canada is a time of year to highlight the Pan-Asian diversity of cultures and peoples and recognize the extraordinary contributions that communities of Asian descent in Canada have made and continue to make to our country.

It is also an opportunity to raise awareness of the on-going challenges faced by Asian communities across Canada and to confront and denounce anti-Asian racism and discrimination in all its forms.

This year’s theme, Recognition, Resilience, and Resolve, embodies the many contributions peoples of Asian descent in Canada have made. It also recognizes and celebrates communities of Asian descent in Canada, their experiences, and stories which are rooted in resilience and perseverance.

During Asian Heritage Month, Parks Canada wants to honour the memory of Canadians of Asian descent by remembering the stories of remarkable individuals and events, sometimes tragic, sometimes glorious, that have redefined our places and heritage.

Asahi baseball team National Historic Event

Asahi's athletic and sportsmanlike performances inspired spectators of all origins

Black and white photo of Asahi baseball team
Asahi baseball team © Nikkei National Museum

Between 1914 and 1941, at a time when Japanese Canadians faced racism, Vancouver's Asahi Baseball Team thrilled fans by winning championships in senior amateur leagues. Its signature offensive strategy, "brain ball," emphasized bunting and speed on the bases, reflected the values of discipline and teamwork, and, coupled with a sparkling defence, levelled the playing field with more powerful opponents. The Asahi became a symbol of the Japanese-Canadian struggle for equality and respect, and despite being disbanded during the Second World War internment, left a legacy of inspiration for future generations.

Watch the Vancouver Asahi Heritage Minute video on Historica Canada’s YouTube channel



D'Arcy Island Leprosarium

D'Arcy Island's beauty contradicts its past history

Black and white photo of men on a beach with barrels, boxes and other supplies being delivered.
D’Arcy Island © British Columbia Museum

In the late 19th and early 20th centuries, D’Arcy Island, now part of the Gulf Islands National Park Reserve, was part of a dark episode in Canadian history. Beginning in 1891, a small group of people afflicted with leprosy from the City of Victoria’s Chinese community were exiled to D'Arcy Island to limit the spread of the disease. Those on the island received food, but no medical care. Their only contact with the outside world was a supply ship that moored four times a year to bring goods to the island. Thirteen men died on D’Arcy Island during this period, while others were relocated or repatriated.

Today, nature has reclaimed the island, making it a beautiful destination for kayakers and boaters, but an interpretive plaque, old orchard and building ruins are a reminder of this tragic chapter in Canadian history.

Frank Wong’s battle after the war

In hopes for the right to vote

Frank Wong in front of the Arc de Triomphe in Paris
Frank Wong © Veterans Affairs Canada

Fort Rodd Hill National Historic Site highlights the inspiring story of Frank Wong, a Chinese-Canadian soldier, who volunteered to serve in the Second World War for two reasons: One, his love of Canada, and two, the hopes that serving might help Chinese-Canadians one day have the right to vote.

Upon his return to Canada, Frank and many other Chinese-Canadian veterans campaigned for the right to vote. This was finally granted in 1947, although immigration from China continued to be severely restricted until 1967. Frank would say later in his life that his time in the military was the least discrimination he ever faced. He later became one of the founders of the Chinese Canadian Military Museum Society, which collected the stories of these often overlooked veterans and preserved an important part of Canadian history. He returned to the Netherlands in 2003 and was awarded a medal for his participation in the liberation of the Netherlands.

Learn more about Frank Wong

Abbotsford Gur Sikh Temple

Seedling of a community

Outside view of Abbotsford Sikh Temple with its white façade and blue staircase
Abbotsford Gur Sikh Temple © Jacob Simmonds

In 1911, determined Sikh pioneers from India built this temple, or Gurdwara, with lumber carried from the nearby sawmill where many of them worked. Blending traditional Sikh and western frontier designs, the temple includes a prayer hall and a community kitchen. Not only a place of worship, it also became a centre for the social and political life of South Asian immigrants, helping them forge a vibrant community. Today, this oldest surviving Gurdwara reminds us of the immigrant experience of Sikhs in Canada, and continues to be a sacred symbol of their spirituality.

Learn more about Abbotsford Sikh Temple National Historic Site

Additional resources: Asian history and culture in Canada

Reconnaissance, résilience et audace

Le Mois du patrimoine asiatique au Canada est l'occasion de souligner la diversité panasiatique des cultures et des peuples et de reconnaitre les contributions extraordinaires que les communautés d’origine asiatique au Canada ont apportées et continuent d’apporter. C'est aussi l'occasion de sensibiliser les gens aux défis actuels auxquels sont confrontées les communautés asiatiques à travers le Canada, d'y faire face et de dénoncer le racisme et la discrimination anti-asiatique sous toutes ses formes.

Le thème de cette année, Reconnaissance, résilience et audace, réfère aux innombrables contributions que les communautés d'origine asiatique au Canada ont apportées. Il reconnait et célèbre également les communautés d'origine asiatique au Canada, leurs expériences et leurs histoires enracinées dans la résilience et la persévérance.

En ce Mois du patrimoine asiatique, Parcs Canada tient à honorer la mémoire des Canadiens d'ascendance asiatique en rappelant des histoires de personnes audacieuses ainsi que des évènements, tantôt tragiques, tantôt glorieux, qui ont redéfini nos lieux et notre patrimoine.

L’équipe de baseball des Asahi

L’habileté et l’esprit d’équipe des Asahi rassemblent des spectateurs de toutes origines

Photo noir et blanc de l’équipe de baseball Asahi
Équipe de baseball Asahi © Musée national Nikkei

Entre 1914 et 1941, alors que les Canadiens japonais subissaient le racisme, cette équipe de Vancouver embrasa les partisans en remportant des championnats de ligues amateurs seniors. Son « brain ball » (jeu astucieux), stratégie offensive alliant amortis et vitesse sur les buts, reflétait ses valeurs de discipline et de travail d'équipe. Combiné à une brillante défense, ce style lui permit de rivaliser avec les formations de puissants frappeurs. Symbole de la lutte pour l'égalité et le respect, l'équipe fut démantelée pendant l'internement de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, mais demeura une inspiration pour les générations futures.

Voyez la Minute du patrimoine sur l’Asahi de Vancouver sur la chaine Youtube de Historica Canada



La léproserie de l’ile D’Arcy

Une beauté quasi irréconciliable avec son histoire

Photo en noir et blanc d’hommes sur une plage avec des barils, des boites et autres marchandises livrées.
Ile D’Arcy © Musée de la Colombie-Britannique

Au tournant du 20e siècle, l’ile D’Arcy, qui fait maintenant partie de la Réserve de parc national des Iles-Gulf, est le théâtre d’un épisode sombre dans l’histoire canadienne. À partir de 1891, quelques membres de la communauté chinoise de la ville de Victoria sont atteints de la lèpre. Afin d’éviter la propagation de la maladie, ils sont forcés de s’exiler. Les habitants de l’ile reçoivent de la nourriture mais aucun soin médical. Leur seul contact avec le monde extérieur consiste en un navire de ravitaillement qui les visite quatre fois l’an. Treize hommes y sont morts, d'autres sont relocalisés ou rapatriés.

Aujourd’hui, la nature a repris ses droits sur l’ile D’Arcy, elle est devenue un incontournable pour les kayakistes et les plaisanciers. Un panneau d’interprétation, un verger et quelques ruines rappellent ce moment tragique de l’histoire canadienne.

Frank Wong

À l’œuvre pour le droit de vote

Frank Wong posant devant l’Arc de Triomphe à Paris
Frank Wong © Anciens Combattants Canada

Le Lieu historique national du Fort-Rodd Hill met en valeur l'histoire inspirante de Frank Wong, un Sino-Canadien qui s’est enrôlé lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale pour deux raisons : à cause de son attachement au Canada et pour que son exemple serve à la cause du droit de vote des Canadiens d’ascendance chinoise.

À son retour au Canada, Frank et d’autres anciens combattants sino-canadiens firent campagne pour obtenir le droit de voter. Ce dernier leur fut finalement accordé en 1947, bien que l’immigration en provenance de la Chine continua d’être soumise à de sévères restrictions jusqu’en 1967. Frank affirma plus tard que jamais il n’avait subi aussi peu de discrimination que pendant son service dans l’armée. Il devint l’un des membres fondateurs de la Chinese Canadian Military Museum Society, qui a recueilli les histoires de ces anciens combattants souvent négligés et garde cet important pan de notre histoire collective.. Il retourna aux Pays-Bas en 2003 et se vit décerner une médaille pour sa participation à la libération des Pays-Bas.

Apprenez-en plus sur Frank Wong

Le Temple Sikh d’Abbotsford

Germe d’une vie communautaire

Vue extérieure de l’entrée du temple avec sa façade blanche et son escalier bleu
Temple Sikh d’Abbotsford © Jacob Simmonds

En 1911, des pionniers sikhs originaires de l'Inde bâtissent ce temple, ou Gurdwara, à même le bois d'une scierie où plusieurs d'entre eux travaillent. D'une architecture caractéristique des débuts de l'Ouest et de la tradition sikhe, le temple comporte une salle de prière et une cuisine communautaire. Lieu de culte et centre d'activités politiques et sociales pour les immigrants de l'Asie du Sud, il a contribué à l'éclosion d'une vie communautaire intense. Aujourd'hui, ce Gurdwara, le plus ancien qui subsiste, nous rappelle l'expérience de ces immigrants au Canada et continue d'être un symbole sacré de la spiritualité sikhe.

Apprenez-en plus sur le Temple Sikh d’Abbotsford

Ressources supplémentaires sur l’histoire et la culture panasiatiques au Canada