In 2018, the Government of Canada recognizes a number of significant events of the First World War (1914-1918) and of the Second World War (1939-1945) which have touched the lives of many Canadians and were defining episodes in the history of our country.

First World War: Centennial of Canada’s Hundred Days

August 8 to November 11, 1918
A small group of Canadian soldiers, walking through debris and rubble and surrounded by buildings damaged by the war. A lone church tower rests standing in the distance.

Canadian soldiers passing through the ruins of Cambrai
Source: Dept. of National Defence / LAC PA-003286

Over the course of the Great War, now raging for four years, the Canadian Corps has earned a reputation as shock troops because of their training, discipline and professionalism. Their final, and arguably most significant, impact in the Allied war effort comes during the Hundred Days Offensive, a series of critical and intense strikes against German forces, ultimately ending the war.

Beginning on August 8, 1918, in France, the Canadians gain a stunning victory at Amiens, described by a German military leader as “the black day of the German Army.” From there, they launch successful offensives breaching the Hindenburg Line – Germany’s last line of defence along the Western Front – cross the Canal du Nord and make their final advance capturing the Belgian city of Mons on November 11, the very day the armistice takes effect.

The entire campaign, which sees the Canadian Corps advance and gain significant ground, is a distinguished accomplishment; 30 Canadians are awarded the Victoria Cross, the British Empire’s highest decoration for exceptional courage. After 100 days of heavy fighting, however, the corps is gravely battered, suffering more than 45,000 killed, wounded or missing in action.

We will remember them…

First World War: Centennial. Armistice: End of the Great War

November 11, 1918
On November 11, 1918, Canadian troops are celebrating in the streets of Mons in Belgium.
They are accompanied by a military band and are surrounded by the local residents.

Canadian troops marching through the streets of Mons, Belgium, on November 11, 1918. Source: Dept. of National Defence / LAC PA-003547

On the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month of 1918, the Great War, the ‘war to end all wars,’ came to an end. Fighting as two separate Dominions of the British Empire, soldiers from Canada and Newfoundland alike distinguished themselves in the air, at sea and on battlefields in Belgium and France; and specifically for the Newfoundlanders, Gallipoli, Turkey.

Now during the war’s final hours, with enemy forces defeated along the Western Front as a result of the Hundred Days Offensive, 25 year old Nova Scotia native Private George Lawrence Price falls victim to a German sniper just outside the city of Mons, Belgium, minutes before the 11 AM armistice takes effect. He is believed to be the last Allied soldier killed in the war.

Price, along with more than 66,000 Canadians and another 1,300 Newfoundland troops never make it home, while many more continue to die of their wounds long after the fighting ends. Countless other men and women return with physical and mental scars from the war’s unimaginable brutality.

Canadians pause and mark this anniversary each year during Remembrance Day ceremonies, honoring those who served this country.

We will remember them…

Second World War: 75th anniversary of the Battle of the Atlantic

1939-1945
In the fore-ground, here are the silhouettes of sailors on the deck of a boat in rough waters. On the horizon, below the clouds, a convoy of ships.

Sailors of HMCS Saguenay watch depth charges explode. Source: Department of National Defence / LAC PA-116840

Within hours of Britain’s declaration of war against Germany on September 3, 1939, a Nazi submarine torpedoes SS Athenia, a passenger liner bound for Montreal from London. Among the 112 victims are Canada’s first casualties of the Second World War. The sinking sets the stage for the Battle of the Atlantic, a gruelling six-year struggle for the survival of Britain, the liberation of Europe and to help supply the Soviet Union.

Canada and the colony of Newfoundland play crucial roles in protecting, manning, and supplying Allied convoys. Rapid expansion of Canada’s navy, merchant marine, and air force bolster this lifeline: everything necessary for the war in Europe must arrive by ship. In recognition of Canada’s significant contribution, Rear-Admiral Leonard Murray becomes Commander-in-Chief of the Canadian Northwest Atlantic region in 1943, the only Canadian to hold such a command during the war.

Withstanding enemy action from the sea and sky combined with extreme weather, Canadians and Newfoundlanders are relentless in securing Allied victory on the Atlantic, a feat that costs the lives of nearly 1,990 from the Royal Canadian Navy, 752 Canadian airmen and 1,629 Canadian and Newfoundland merchant sailors. Without their sacrifice, determination and courage, the war would have been lost.

We will remember them…

Second World War: 75th anniversary of the Battle of the St. Lawrence

1942-1944
Huge hole at the front of the left  hull of the vessel SS Thomson from a torpedo strike.

Torpedo Damage to the SS Fort Simpson Source: MNaval Museum of Quebec

As part of the larger battle for control of shipping on the Atlantic during the Second World War, Nazi submarines, known as U-boats, begin stabbing deep into Canada’s inland waters. Their aim is to sink Allied merchant ships carrying essential supplies to the frontlines.

Hitler’s regime brings the horrors of war to Canada and the colony of Newfoundland when, in May 1942, a prowling U-boat sinks two merchant ships in the Gulf of the St. Lawrence, with the loss of 18 sailors. Sadly, these attacks are just the beginning.

In October that same year, a U-boat sinks the Newfoundland Railway ferry SS Caribou. The pre-dawn assault claims the lives of 135 crew and passengers, including families with children and members of the Canadian and American armed forces. Before being permanently repelled from Canadian waters in 1944, U-boats sink 23 merchant and naval vessels, killing more than 300 men, women and children most in sight of Canadian shores.

Today at Forillon National Park in Quebec’s Gaspé region, the coastal battery of Fort Peninsula, once a sentry over our assaulted eastern borders, now serves as a lasting reminder that freedom, and the values we hold dear, came at a terrible cost.

We will remember them…

Second World War: 75th anniversary of H.M.C.S. Haida

HMCS Haida, war ship at sea.
HMCS Haida, 1999

Immediately after being commissioned into the Royal Canadian Navy in August 1943, Haida joined the Arctic convoys of the Second World War, escorting merchant ships on the Murmansk Run to Russia. The following year, she saw heavy action patrolling the English Channel as part of preparations for D-Day. After helping to clear the channel of enemy vessels, Haida played an active role in the Allied invasion of Normandy.

After the war, she served two tours of duty in Korea (1950-53) where – on January 29, 1953 – she joined the “Trainbusters Club.” Following her operations in the Korean War, Haida participated in several Cold War anti-submarine operations, as well as a number of training and goodwill missions.

Through the determination of private citizens, Canada’s “Fightingest Ship” was saved from being scrapped and is today the last Tribal-class Destroyer remaining in the world. Moored in Hamilton, Ontario, Haida is now a national historic site, welcoming visitors to learn about this country’s remarkable naval history.

En 2018, le gouvernement du Canada souligne une série d’événements importants reliés à la Première guerre mondiale (1914-1918) et à la Seconde guerre mondiale (1939-945) qui ont touché la vie de bien des Canadiens et qui ont grandement contribué à définir l’histoire de notre pays.

Première Guerre mondiale : Centenaire - Les cent jours du Canada

Du 8 août au 11 novembre 1918
Un petit groupe de soldats canadiens marchent sur des débris de pierre entre des édifices à moitié effondrés. Au loin, un clocher d’église se tient toujours debout.

Soldats canadiens passant dans les ruines de Cambrai
Source : Ministère de la défense nationale / BAC PA-003286

Durant la Grande Guerre (Première Guerre mondiale), qui a fait rage pendant quatre ans, le Corps canadien s’est forgé une réputation de troupe d’assaut en raison de l’entraînement, de la discipline et du professionnalisme de ses soldats. Leur contribution décisive, et probablement la plus importante, à l’effort de guerre des alliés a eu lieu lors de l’offensive des Cent Jours, une série de frappes cruciales et intenses contre les forces allemandes, qui finissent par mettre fin à la guerre.

Le 8 août 1918, en France, les Canadiens remportent une victoire éclatante à Amiens, qu’un chef militaire allemand décrira comme « la journée noire de l’armée allemande ». Dès lors, les soldats canadiens lancent des offensives victorieuses qui permettent de franchir la ligne Hindenburg – la dernière ligne de défense allemande sur le front Ouest – franchissent le Canal du Nord et réalisent leur dernière avancée en s’emparant de la ville de Mons en Belgique le 11 novembre, le jour même de l’armistice.

Dans son ensemble, la campagne, qui a vu le Corps canadien avancer et gagner du terrain, est une performance remarquable; 30 soldats canadiens reçoivent la Croix de Victoria, la plus haute distinction de l’Empire britannique pour les soldats faisant preuve d’un courage exceptionnel. Après 100 jours d’intenses combats, le Corps canadien est gravement battu, et plus de 45 000 soldats sont tués, blessés ou disparus au combat.

Nous nous souviendrons d’eux…

Première Guerre mondiale : Centenaire - Armistice : la fin de la Grande Guerre

Le 11 novembre 1918
Le 11 novembre 1918, des soldats canadiens fêtent dans les rues de Mons, en Belgique. Ils défilent accompagnés de la fanfare militaire, entourés de la population locale.

Des soldats canadiens défilant dans les rues de Mons Source : Ministère de la défense nationale / BAC PA-003547

À la onzième heure du onzième jour du onzième mois de l’année 1918, la Grande Guerre, la « dernière guerre » a pris fin. Combattant dans les forces de l’Empire britannique, les Canadiens et les Terre-Neuviens se sont distingués dans les airs, en mer et sur les champs de bataille comme Beaumont-Hamel et la crête de Vimy en France ou Passchendaele et Ypres en Belgique.

Durant les dernières heures de la guerre, alors que les forces ennemies sont vaincues sur le front Ouest grâce à l’offensive des Cent Jours, le soldat George Lawrence Price âgé de 25 ans et originaire de Nouvelle-Écosse est tué par un tireur d’élite allemand près de la ville de Mons en Belgique, quelques minutes seulement avant la signature de l’armistice à 11 h. Il serait le dernier soldat allié tué pendant la guerre.

George Lawrence Price, comme plus de 66 000 Canadiens et 1 300 autres soldats de Terre-Neuve, n’est jamais rentré au pays, et nombre de soldats sont morts de leurs blessures après la fin des combats. De nombreux hommes et femmes sont revenus avec des cicatrices physiques et mentales de cette guerre à la brutalité inimaginable.

Les Canadiens prennent le temps de souligner cet anniversaire chaque année à l’occasion des cérémonies du jour du Souvenir, en hommage à ceux qui ont servi notre pays.

Nous nous souviendrons d’eux…

Seconde Guerre mondiale : 75e anniversaire - La bataille de l’Atlantique

1939-1945
Au bas de l’image, il y a  
des silhouettes de marin sur le pont d’un bateau sur une mer agitée et tourmentée. Au loin, sur la ligne d’horizon, il y a un convoi de navires.

Les marins du NCSM Saguenay. Source : Ministère de la défense nationale / BAC PA-116840

Dans les heures qui ont suivi la déclaration de guerre de la Grande-Bretagne contre l’Allemagne, le 3 septembre 1939, un sous-marin nazi torpille le SS Athenia, un transporteur de passagers à destination de Montréal en provenance de Londres. Au nombre des 112 victimes figurent les premières victimes canadiennes de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Ce torpillage est le premier épisode de la bataille de l’Atlantique, une lutte éprouvante de six ans pour la survie de la Grande-Bretagne, la libération de l’Europe et le ravitaillement de l’Union soviétique.

Le Canada et la colonie de Terre-Neuve jouent un rôle crucial et fournissent la protection, les équipages et le ravitaillement des convois alliés. L’expansion rapide de la marine de guerre, de la marine marchande et de la force aérienne du Canada renforce ce lien vital. Tout ce qui est indispensable à la conduite de la guerre en Europe doit être transporté par navire. En reconnaissance de l’importante contribution du Canada, le contre-amiral Leonard Murray devient commandant en chef de la zone canadienne du nord-ouest de l’Atlantique en 1943, seul Canadien à détenir un tel commandement pendant la guerre.

En butte à l’action ennemie sur mer et dans les airs, ainsi qu’à des conditions météorologiques extrêmes, les Canadiens et les Terre-Neuviens ne ménagent pas leurs efforts pour assurer la victoire des Alliés dans l’Atlantique. Cet exploit a coûté la vie à près de 1 990 membres de la Marine royale canadienne, 752 aviateurs canadiens et 1 629 marins marchands canadiens et terre-neuviens. Sans leur sacrifice, leur détermination et leur courage, la guerre aurait été perdue.

Nous nous souviendrons d’eux.

Seconde Guerre mondiale : 75e anniversaire de la bataille du Saint-Laurent

1942-1944
Grand trou béant sur le côté avant gauche du navire SS Thomson causé par une torpille.

Dommages causés par une torpille – SS Fort Thomson Source : Musée Naval de Québec

Dans le cadre de la plus grande bataille pour le contrôle de la navigation dans l’Atlantique durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les sous-marins nazis, appelés U-boot, commencent à s’infiltrer de plus en plus profondément dans les eaux intérieures du Canada. Leur objectif est de couler les navires marchands alliés transportant des fournitures essentielles aux forces de première ligne.

Le régime d’Hitler apporte les horreurs de la guerre au Canada et à la colonie de Terre-Neuve lorsque, en mai 1942, un U-boot à l’affût coule deux navires marchands dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent, entraînant la mort de 18 marins. Malheureusement, ces attaques ne font que commencer.

En octobre de la même année, un U-boot coule le traversier ferroviaire SS Caribou de Terre-Neuve. Cette attaque survenue avant l’aube a coûté la vie à 135 membres d’équipage et passagers, dont des familles avec des enfants et des membres des forces armées canadiennes et américaines. Avant d’être chassés en permanence des eaux canadiennes en 1944, les sous-marins allemands coulent 23 navires marchands et militaires, tuant plus de 300 hommes, femmes et enfants ici au pays.

Aujourd’hui, au parc national Forillon, en Gaspésie, au Québec, la batterie côtière de Fort Péninsule, qui veillait autrefois sur notre frontière de l’est, nous rappelle de façon durable que nous avons payé chèrement la liberté et les valeurs qui nous sont si précieuses.

Nous nous souviendrons d’eux.

Seconde Guerre mondiale : 75ieme anniversaire de N.C.S.M. Haida

NCSM Haida, grand bateau de guerre en mer.
NCSM Haida, 1999

Immédiatement après sa mise en service par la Marine Royale canadienne en août 1943, le Haida s’est joint aux convois arctiques de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, escortant des navires marchands dans le redoutable passage de Mourmansk vers la Russie. L’année suivante, dans le cadre des préparatifs du jour J, le navire a participé à des combats importants en patrouillant la Manche. Après avoir aidé à libérer la Manche des navires ennemis, le Haida a joué un rôle majeur dans le débarquement des Alliés en Normandie.

Après la guerre, le navire a pris part à deux missions en Corée (1950-1953) et, le 29 janvier 1953, il s’est joint au « Trainbusters Club ». À la suite de ses opérations pendant la guerre de Corée, le Haida a participé à plusieurs missions anti-sous-marines de la Guerre froide, ainsi qu’à un certain nombre de missions de formation et de bienveillance.

Grâce à la détermination de simples citoyens, « le navire le plus belliqueux » du Canada a été sauvé de la démolition et il est aujourd’hui le dernier destroyer de classe Tribal restant au monde. Ancré à Hamilton, en Ontario, le Haida est désormais un lieu historique national, un site qui permet d’accueillir les visiteurs pour leur en apprendre davantage sur la remarquable histoire navale du pays.