Of the national historic sites administered by Parks Canada, approximately 50 are related to the two world wars. Working with local communities, Parks Canada offers events commemorating the world wars and, in doing so, showcases the country's rich national heritage. Through the Hometown Heroes program, Canadians and visitors from all over the world can pay tribute to remarkable individuals, their outstanding achievements and the invaluable contributions they have made to their communities.

Hometown Heroes

Get to know the remarkable stories of these hometown heroes, honour their memory and express your gratitude for their service by visiting Parks Canada's National Historic Sites, National Parks, and National Marine Conservation Areas.


Two new Hometown Heroes!

Paris K. Sahlen and William H. Wilson joined a growing list of Canadians who have been recognized for their contributions to the Canadian Military and for their dedication to help preserve and promote Canada’s naval heritage, as part of Parks Canada’s Hometown Heroes initiative. By sharing these exemplary stories with Canadians, we express gratitude for their service and sacrifices.

Paris K. Sahlen (1944-2018)

Paris K. Sahlen

Paris K. Sahlen
Source: Sahlen Family

Paris “Smiley” Sahlen was born in Barons, Alberta. He helped around the farm well into his teenage years, but realized he wanted to do something different and enlisted in the Royal Canadian Navy in 1962.

While Sahlen left the navy following his three-year commitment, his heart remained there, and his determination to help preserve and promote Canada’s rich naval heritage drew most of his attention. For decades, Paris Sahlen was a mentor and a leader who devoted much of his life fostering connections between veterans, youth, and their navy.

In recognition of his public service over many years, Paris Sahlen received numerous awards, including the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers and Queen Elizabeth II’s Diamond Jubilee Medal in 2012. He was also made Honorary Coxswain of HMCS Calgary in April 2018. Paris Sahlen passed away on 29 December 2018.

Captain(N) (ret’d) William H. Wilson, OMM, CStJ, AOE, MSM, CD (1924-)

William H. Wilson

William H. Wilson during the Hometown Heroes event, held in Calgary in 2022

Born and raised in Winnipeg, Bill Wilson was 14 when the Second World War began and he joined the Sea Cadets. Three years later, he enlisted in the Royal Canadian Naval Volunteer Reserve. He was a seaman gunner on HMCS Ottawa (2nd) when it took part in the Battle of the Atlantic and the Normandy Landings.

Officer of the Order of Military Merit and known to his community as “Mr. Navy”, Wilson has dedicated his life to preserving Canada’s naval history and artifacts for future generations to study and appreciate. His dedication to educating youth was a driving force behind the creation of the Naval Museum of Alberta, opened in 1988, and later as part of the “Military Museums”.

In recognition of 62 years of honourable service and tireless efforts to promote greater awareness of Canada’s rich naval history, the Royal Canadian Navy appointed Bill Wilson an Honorary Captain in 1992, a position in which he served until 2014. He also received the Admirals’ Medal in 2008 and the Alberta Order of Excellence in 2013.

Our two new Hometown Heroes Paris K. Sahlen and William H. Wilson share a common passion for the Navy. Both also recognize the importance of interacting with new generations in order to keep our history alive.

Watch the video honouring Paris K. Sahlen and William H. Wilson

Hometown Heroes — Text transcript

00:12
Able Seaman Paris Kemp Sahlen, CD

00:54
HMCS Antigonish

01:00
HMCS Margaree

01:35
HMCS Calgary

01:50
appointed Honorary Coxswain of HMCS Calgary

02:02
“Every ship deserves a Paris Sahlen. I wish the stores system stocked them and I could order a couple more. You won’t meet a sailor who has served in Calgary that doesn’t know Paris and hold him in the highest regard,”

Paul Francoeur, Chief of Staff
Naval Personnel and Training Group Head Quarters Royal Canadian Navy National Defense
Government of Canada

02:37
D-day 1944

03:30
I think it was the best day of the war for the world.

03:34
We did free all of Europe.

03:37
Canada was there, for a little nation like ours.

03:37 Captain (N) (ret’d)
William H. Wilson
OMM, CStJ, AEO, MSM, CD

03:41
And it still amazes me,

03:43
there were five beaches and Canada had one of them...

03:45
and the Brits and Americans trusted us to look after that beach...

03:50
and we did... in spades.

03:53
Our soldiers went in and did their job.

03:56
And that was day one of freeing Europe.

04:00
Our pilots were second to none, our air crew were second to none,

04:04
our sailors I know, were as good as the best

04:08
and our soldiers unparalleled - great Canadians.

04:13
And I happened to be there, I was one of them.

04:18
So some of them didn’t come back,

04:21
and most of them are now gone, so there’s a few left like me,

04:26
for whatever reason.

04:28
Would I do it again?

04:29
In spades.

04:31
Great day.

04:32
Great day for the world!

05:15
Paris K. Sahlen and William H. Wilson both preserved and promoted Canada’s rich naval heritage by guiding new generations.

05:34
Thank you for your service


Home Port Heroes

Commemorating Canada’s Merchant Navy

Throughout the war, Canadian, Allied, and neutral merchant fleets lost 4,200 vessels, mainly to enemy action. In excess of 62,900 sailors perished, including more than 1,600 Canadians and Newfoundlanders who are now commemorated in the Merchant Navy Book of Remembrance housed in the Memorial Chamber of the Peace Tower on Parliament Hill in Ottawa.

Since 2003, September 3 is recognized as Merchant Navy Veterans Day honouring the contributions of those who served in this service. Their sacrifice is equally recognized as part of the Battle of the Atlantic, commemorated yearly on the first Sunday in May.

An impressive challenge

To support the Allied war effort, Canadian shipyards undertook an ambitious building program. Between 1941 and 1945, they completed more than 400 cargo ships. Of these, the Park Steamship Company Limited, a Crown corporation, operated some 180 vessels named after Canadian parks while many other Canadian-built merchant ships, named after forts from Canadian history, were supplied to Britain.

Today, a number of these places with namesake park or fort merchant vessels are preserved and presented by Parks Canada as part of Canada’s extensive network of national parks, national historic sites and national marine conservation areas.

Learn more about the "Park" and "Fort" ships

Several national historic designations commemorate Canada’s Second World War merchant service and shipbuilding industry:

Parmi les lieux emblématiques administrés par Parcs Canada, une cinquantaine ont un lien avec les deux guerres mondiales. En collaboration avec les collectivités avoisinantes, Parcs Canada présente des activités commémorant les guerres mondiales et, ce faisant, donne à voir toute la richesse du patrimoine national du pays. Grâce au programme Héros de chez nous, les Canadiens et les visiteurs de partout peuvent rendre hommage à des personnes remarquables, à leurs réalisations exceptionnelles et aux contributions inestimables qu'ils ont apportées à leur communauté.

Les héros de chez nous

Rendez hommage et exprimez votre reconnaissance à ces héros de chez nous pour le service qu'ils ont rendu en visitant les lieux historiques nationaux, les parcs nationaux et les aires marines nationales de conservation de Parcs Canada.


Deux nouveaux héros de chez nous

Paris K. Sahlen et William H. Wilson s’ajoutent à une liste croissante d'hommes et de femmes d'ici qui ont été reconnus pour leur contribution aux Forces armées canadiennes et pour leur implication dans la préservation et la mise en valeur du patrimoine naval canadien. En faisant connaître ces histoires empreintes d’exemplarité, nous exprimons notre gratitude pour le dévouement et les sacrifices de ces héros.

Paris K. Sahlen (1944-2018)

Paris K. Sahlen

Paris K. Sahlen
Source : La famille Sahlen

Paris « Smiley » Sahlen naît à Barons, en Alberta. Il s’enrôle dans la Marine royale canadienne en 1962.

Même s’il aura quitté la marine après son engagement de trois ans, Paris Sahlen conservera une grande affection pour celle-ci. Il se vouera d’ailleurs pendant de nombreuses années à préserver et promouvoir le glorieux passé naval du Canada. Il cherchera ainsi à faire rayonner la marine en devenant un mentor et chef de file auprès de la jeunesse qu’il veut rapprocher des anciens combattants.

En reconnaissance de ses nombreuses années de service public, Paris Sahlen se verra décerner plusieurs prix, notamment la Médaille du souverain pour les bénévoles et la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II en 2012. On le nomme également capitaine d’armes honoraire du NCSM Calgary en avril 2018. Paris Sahlen rend l’âme le 29 décembre 2018.

Capitaine de vaisseau (à la retraite) William H. Wilson, O.M.M., CStJ, AOE, M.S.M., CD (1924-)

William H. Wilson

William H. Wilson, lors de l’événement Héros de chez nous tenus à Calgary en juin 2022

Originaire de Winnipeg, Bill Wilson a 14 ans lorsque la Seconde Guerre mondiale est déclenchée et il décide alors de rejoindre les rangs des cadets de la marine. Trois ans plus tard, il s’enrôle dans la Réserve des volontaires de la Marine royale canadienne. Il était matelot canonnier à bord du NCSM Ottawa (deuxième du nom) lorsque celui-ci a pris part à la bataille de l’Atlantique et au débarquement en Normandie.

Officier de l’Ordre du mérite militaire et connu de sa communauté comme « M. Navy », Wilson a consacré sa vie à la préservation de l’histoire et des artefacts navals du Canada pour que les générations futures puissent les étudier et les admirer. Son souci d’éduquer les jeunes a inspiré la création du Naval Museum of Alberta inauguré en 1988 et intégré plus tard aux « Military Museums ».

En reconnaissance de son service et de ses efforts inlassables pendant 62 années pour faire rayonner la riche histoire navale du pays, la Marine royale canadienne a nommé Bill Wilson capitaine honoraire en 1992, poste qu’il a occupé jusqu’en 2014. Il a également reçu la Médaille des amiraux en 2008 et l'Ordre d'excellence de l'Alberta en 2013.

Nos deux nouveaux héros de chez nous Paris K. Sahlen et William H. Wilson partagent une passion commune pour la Marine. Tous deux reconnaissent également l’importance d’échanger avec les nouvelles générations pour garder l’histoire vivante.

Voyez la vidéo en hommage à Paris K. Sahlen et William H. Wilson.

Héros de chez nous — Transcription textuelle

00:12
matelot de 2E classe Paris Kemp Sahlen, CD

00:54
NCSM Antigonish

01:00
NCSM Margaree

01:35
NCSM Calgary

01:50
nommé capitaine d’armes honoraire du NCSM Calgary

02:02
« Tous les navires méritent un Paris Sahlen. J’aimerais que les magasins en gardent en inventaire et que je puisse en commander quelques-uns de plus. Vous ne rencontrerez pas de marin ayant servi à Calgary qui ne connaît pas Paris et ne le tient pas en très haute estime. »

Paul Francoeur
Chef d’état-major
Groupe du Personnel et de l’instruction de la Marine Marine Royale Canadienne Défense nationale
Gouvernement du Canada

02:37
Le Jour J 1944

03:30
Je pense que c’était le meilleur jour de la guerre pour le monde.

03:33
Nous avons libéré toute l’Europe.

03:37
Le Canada était présent, pour une petite nation comme la nôtre.

03:38
Capitaine de vaisseau (à la retraite) William H. Wilson, O.M.M, CStJ, AOE, M.S.M, CD

03:41
Et je suis encore stupéfait,

03:42
il y avait cinq plages et le Canada avait l’une d’elles...

03:45
et les Britanniques et les Américains nous faisaient confiance pour nous occuper de cette plage...

03:50
et nous l’avons fait… à plein.

03:53
Nos soldats sont allés et ont fait leur travail.

03:56
Et c’était le jour un de la libération de l’Europe.

04:00
Nos pilotes étaient sans pareil, tout comme les membres d’équipage,

04:04
nos marins, je le sais, étaient aussi bons que les meilleurs

04:08
et nos soldats étaient incomparables – des Canadiens exceptionnels.

04:12
et j’y étais, j’étais l’un d'eux.

04:18
Certains d’entre eux ne sont pas revenus,

04:22
et la plupart sont maintenant décédés, donc il en reste quelques-uns comme moi,

04:26
pour une raison quelconque.

04:28
Est-ce que je le referais ?

04:29
Absolument.

04:31
Un grand jour.

04:33
Un grand jour pour le monde.

04:44
L'Allemagne se retire

04:55
L'Allemagne se retire

04:58
NCSM Ottawa

05:15
Paris Kemp Sahlen et William H. Wilson ont préservé et mis en valeur le riche patrimoine naval du Canada en guidant les nouvelles générations.

05:34
Merci pour votre service


Héros de la haute mer

Commémorons la marine marchande du Canada pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale

Au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, quelque 4200 navires de la marine marchande canadienne ou battant pavillon d’autres nations alliées ou neutres sombrèrent dans les flots après avoir subi des attaques ennemies. Plus de 62 900 marins périrent, y compris plus de 1600 Canadiens et Terre-Neuviens. Le Livre du Souvenir de la Marine marchande conservé dans la Chapelle du Souvenir de la Tour de la Paix, sur la Colline du Parlement, commémore leur sacrifice.

Depuis 2003, la journée du 3 septembre est reconnue comme la Journée des anciens combattants de la marine marchande, rendant ainsi hommage aux contributions de ceux qui ont servi. Leur sacrifice restera aussi en mémoire, comme la bataille de l'Atlantique, dont la commémoration annuelle se déroule chaque premier dimanche de mai.

Un défi ambitieux

Lors de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les chantiers navals canadiens entreprirent un ambitieux programme de construction. Pas moins de 400 cargos furent bâtis entre 1941 à 1945. La société d’État Park Steamship Company Limited exploitait environ 180 de ces bâtiments dont la désignation rappelait des parcs canadiens. On construisit également des navires de commerce nommés d’après des forts ayant marqué l’histoire du pays. On construisit également des navires marchands nommés d’après des forts canadiens historiques pour aider la Grande-Bretagne.

L’héritage précieux des bâtisseurs de navires et l’héroïsme de ceux qui ont servi à leur bord demeurent bien vivants dans les collectivités qui les ont construits. Aujourd’hui, Parcs Canada est fière de mettre en valeur l’histoire de ces navires à travers son vaste réseau de lieux historiques, de parcs et d’aires marines nationales de conservation.

Plusieurs désignations historiques nationales commémorent la construction navale et la marine marchande canadiennes durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale