Canada's participation in the First World War (1914-1918) and the Second World War (1939-1945) touched every community in this country. We invite Canadians to join us in commemorating the remarkable people, places and events of the home front and overseas which have come to define Canada on the world stage over the past century.

World War heroes

Parks Canada invites Canadians to join us in commemorating individuals from all walks of life, who made unique contributions to Canada’s First and Second World War efforts.

Historic anniversaries

This year, many significant anniversaries give us pause to not only reflect on our history, but to also look ahead to the future of our country, who we want to be and what we want to accomplish.

Here are some of those events which have left their mark on the Canada we know today.


V-E Day celebrations, Ottawa, 8 May, 1945.
V-E Day celebrations, Ottawa, 8 May, 1945.
© Dept. of National Defense / LAC/ PA-114440

75th anniversary of the end of the Second World War

The year 2020 marks the 75th anniversary of the end of the Second World War. Parks Canada will commemorate this significant anniversary with Canadians by recognizing the crucial role Canada played in the Battle of the Atlantic, as well as the significance of Victory in Europe (VE Day) and Victory over Japan (VJ Day) which brought the war to an end.

The First and Second World Wars have touched the lives of many Canadians and were defining moments in the history of our country. Parks Canada honours our First and Second World War heritage through its Hometown Heroes and Home Port Heroes

Pic Island by Lawren Harris.
Pic Island by Lawren Harris, ca. 1924.
© McMichael Canadian Art Collection, 1968.7.4

Centennial of the creation of the artist collective “Group of Seven”

This year, Canada celebrates the centennial of the founding of the Group of Seven, pioneers in defining a truly Canadian form of painting. In 1920, artists Franklin Carmichael, Lawren Harris, Frank Johnston, A.Y. Jackson, Arthur Lismer, J.E.H. MacDonald, and Frederick Varley presented their first exhibition as a group.

Inspired by the Canadian landscape, the group’s bold, modern style brought international attention to Canadian art. Step into some of the breathtaking landscapes of the Group of Seven at Parks Canada’s amazing places, such as Georgian Bay Islands National Park and Pukaskwa National Park.

Hockey at the 1920 Olympic Games.
1920 Olympics for hockey.
© Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame & Museum

Centennial of Canada’s First Olympic Gold Medal in Hockey

Canada, represented by the Winnipeg Falcons Hockey Club, won the first ever gold medal awarded for ice hockey at the 1920 (summer) Olympic Games in Antwerp, Belgium.

Made up mainly of Icelandic-Canadian players who were also veterans of the Great War (1914-1918), the team crushed their opponents and returned to Canada receiving a hero’s welcome.

Canada also took home gold at the first Olympic Winter Games in 1924. Since the 1920 Olympic victory, Canada has won a combined total of 13 gold medals in men’s and women’s Olympic ice hockey competitions.

Canadian delegates, United Nations Conference on International Organization, June 1945.
Canadian delegates, United Nations Conference on International Organization, June 1945.
© LAC / C-022720

75th anniversary of the creation of the United Nations

Canada is one of the founding members of the United Nations. On June 26, 1945, delegates from 50 countries, including our own Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King and future prime minister Louis S. St. Laurent, met in San Francisco, and signed the UN Charter. It was later ratified on October 24 marking the official existence of the United Nations.

Canada continues to play an important role within the United Nations, including to promote and protect the common heritage of humankind. Parks Canada has either full or shared responsibilities for the management of 12 of Canada's 20 UNESCO World Heritage sites.

La participation du Canada à la Première Guerre mondiale (1914 - 1918) et à la Seconde Guerre mondiale (1939 – 1945) a touché toutes les communautés de ce pays. Nous invitons les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se joindre à nous pour commémorer les personnes, les lieux et les événements remarquables du front intérieur et de l’étranger, qui ont défini le Canada sur la scène mondiale au cours du siècle dernier.

Héros des guerres mondiales

Parcs Canada invite les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à se joindre à nous pour rendre hommage aux personnes qui ont contribué à l'effort de guerre du Canada pendant la Première et la Seconde guerre mondiale.

Anniversaires historiques

Cette année, plusieurs anniversaires importants nous offre, non seulement un temps d’arrêt pour réfléchir sur notre histoire, mais également nous incitent à nous tourner vers l’avenir de notre pays : ce que nous voulons être et ce que nous voulons réaliser.

Voici quelques-uns de ces événements qui ont laissé leur marque sur le Canada que nous connaissons aujourd’hui.


Célébrations du Jour de la Victoire à Ottawa, 8 mai 1945.
Jour VE, célébrations à Ottawa, 8 mai 1945.
© Ministère de la défense / BAC / PA-114440

75e anniversaire de la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale

L’année 2020 marque le 75e anniversaire de la fin de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Parcs Canada commémorera cet anniversaire important avec les Canadiens en reconnaissant le rôle crucial que le Canada a joué dans la bataille de l’Atlantique, ainsi que l’importance de la victoire en Europe (jour VE) et de la victoire sur le Japon (jour VJ) qui a amené la guerre à une fin.

La Première et la Seconde Guerre mondiale ont eu une incidence cruciale sur la vie de nombreux Canadiens et Canadiennes et elles constituent des périodes charnières de l’histoire de notre pays. Parcs Canada honore le patrimoine qu’elles nous ont légué par le biais des programmes Héros de chez-nous et Héros de la haute mer.

Pic Island par Lawren Harris.
Pic Island par Lawren Harris, ca. 1924.
© Collection McMichael d’art canadien, 1968.7.4

Centième anniversaire de la création du collectif d’artistes « Groupe des Sept »

Cette année, le Canada célèbre le centenaire de la création du Groupe des Sept, des pionniers qui ont défini une forme de peinture vraiment canadienne. En 1920, les artistes Franklin Carmichael, Lawren Harris, Frank Johnston, A.Y. Jackson, Arthur Lismer, J.E.H. MacDonald et Frederick Varley présentent leur première exposition en tant que groupe.

Inspiré par les paysages canadiens, ce groupe d’artistes au style audacieux et moderne attire l’attention internationale sur l’art canadien. Découvrez les paysages époustouflants du Groupe des Sept dans les endroits magnifiques de Parcs Canada, tels le parc national des Iles-de-la-Baie Georgienne et le parc national Pukaskwa.

Hockey au Jeux olympiques de 1920.
Jeux olympiques de hockey, 1920.
© Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame & Museum

Centième anniversaire de la première médaille d’or olympique du Canada au hockey

Le Canada, représenté par l’équipe des Falcons de Winnipeg, remporte la première médaille d'or décernée pour le hockey lors des Jeux olympiques d’été de 1920 à Anvers, en Belgique.

Formée principalement de Canadiens d'origine islandaise qui sont également d’anciens combattants de la Grande Guerre (1914-1918), l’équipe domine les équipes adverses et les joueurs sont reçus en héros lors de leur retour en sol canadien.

Le Canada remporte aussi une médaille d’or aux premiers Jeux olympiques d’hiver en 1924. Depuis la victoire olympique de 1920, le Canada a récolté un total de 13 médailles d’or lors des compétitions de hockey pour hommes et pour femmes.

Délégués canadiens à la Conférence des Nations Unies sur l’organisation internationale, juin 1945.
Délégués canadiens, Conférence des Nations Unies sur l’organisation internationale, juin 1945.
© BAC / C-022720

75e anniversaire de la création des Nations Unies

Le Canada est l’un des membres fondateurs des Nations Unies. Le 26 juin 1945, des délégués de 50 pays incluant le premier ministre William Lyon Mackenzie King et le futur premier ministre Louis S. St. Laurent, se rencontrent à San Francisco pour signer la Charte de l’ONU. Elle est ratifiée le 24 octobre, marquant l’existence officielle des Nations Unies.

Le Canada continue de jouer un rôle important au sein des Nations Unies, notamment pour promouvoir et protéger le patrimoine commun de l’humanité. Parcs Canada a la responsabilité entière ou partagée de 12 des 20 sites du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO du Canada.