Now that both HMS Erebus and HMS Terror have been found, the ongoing work for Parks Canada underwater archaeologists’ revolves around researching, documenting and preserving the ship wrecks. Because of the Arctic environment, this will be one of the most challenging underwater archaeological excavations ever conducted in Canada.

A new Parks Canada excavation support barge named Qiniqtiryuaq arrived in Gjoa Haven in 2017. This barge is now used side-by-side with Parks Canada’s newly-acquired ship RV David Thompson.

Finding the ships in 2014 and 2016 concluded the over 150 year search for them, but it opened up an ocean’s worth of questions that Parks Canada researchers and their partners hope to start answering over the next 5 years.

Explorations and discoveries

Acknowledgements

The discovery of HMS Erebus and Terror would not have been possible without the support, advice and knowledge shared so generously by Inuit of Nunavut. Parks Canada also acknowledges the contribution of various project partners over the years.

Conservation of the wrecks of HMS Erebus and HMS Terror is the focus for Parks Canada, the Government of Nunavut and designated Inuit organizations. The Government of Canada is committed to engaging Nunavut communities in the Franklin project and related initiatives over the long-term.

Learn more

Maintenant que le HMS Erebus et le HMS Terror ont été retrouvés, les travaux des archéologues subaquatiques de Parcs Canada portent sur la recherche, la documentation et la préservation des épaves des navires. En raison de l’environnement arctique, il s’agira de l’une des fouilles archéologiques subaquatiques les plus difficiles jamais effectuées au Canada.

Une nouvelle barge de soutien à l’excavation de Parcs Canada appelée Qiniqtiryuaq est arrivée à Gjoa Haven en 2017. Cette barge est maintenant utilisée avec le navire nouvellement acquis de Parcs Canada, le NO David Thompson.

La découverte des navires en 2014 et en 2016 a conclu des recherches qui ont duré plus de 150 ans, mais elle a ouvert la porte à des questions auxquelles les chercheurs de Parcs Canada et leurs partenaires espèrent commencer à répondre au cours des cinq prochaines années.

Explorations et découvertes

Remerciements

La découverte du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror n’aurait pas été possible sans le soutien, les conseils et les connaissances si généreusement partagés par les Inuits du Nunavut. Parcs Canada reconnaît également la contribution de divers partenaires au fil des ans.

Parcs Canada, le gouvernement du Nunavut et les organisations inuites désignées se sont donné pour objectif de préserver les épaves du HMS Erebus et du HMS Terror. Le gouvernement du Canada s’est engagé à faire participer les collectivités du Nunavut au projet Franklin et aux initiatives connexes à long terme.

En savoir plus