We are pleased to share the Framework for History and Commemoration: National Historic Sites System Plan 2019. This framework provides strategic direction for Parks Canada and the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) in their work to recognize and share our country’s rich and complex history and engage Canadians in their past.

The Framework for History and Commemoration outlines a new, comprehensive, and engaging approach to sharing the stories of Canada’s history through diverse and wide-ranging perspectives, including the challenging and difficult periods of our past. In particular, it will ensure that the history and voices of Indigenous peoples are incorporated at Parks Canada’s heritage places.

Commemoration is not celebration

Commemoration is not celebration — it is recognition and acknowledgement of some of the controversial, tragic, and difficult chapters of the history that has shaped Canada. The Government of Canada is committed to providing a comprehensive and balanced overview of Canada’s history to ensure that Canadians have opportunities to engage with the full scope of our history, including controversial aspects of our past.

Parks Canada’s Framework for History and Commemoration aims at just that, by providing guidance through principles for addressing controversial designations. These principles highlight public involvement and the importance of reflecting a range of perspectives when we present history to Canadians now and into the future. In addition, Parks Canada recognizes the need to ensure that the National Program of Historical Commemoration better reflects the diversity that has made Canada what it is today. There should be opportunities for everyone to see themselves and their communities reflected through the designation of persons, places and events of national significance.

For the work of the HSMBC, this plan identifies strategic priorities that will encourage new and diverse types of public nominations for persons, places, and events of national historic significance. It also outlines a process for the careful review of existing designations and acknowledges the need to adapt the policies and practices of the Board.

Nous sommes heureux de présenter Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration : le plan du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux 2019. Ce cadre fournit à Parcs Canada et à la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) des lignes directrices qui orientent leur travail de reconnaissance et de mise en valeur de la riche histoire de notre pays et encourage les Canadiens à s’intéresser davantage à leur histoire.

Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration présente une nouvelle démarche permettant une compréhension plus complète et inclusive de l’histoire du Canada selon divers points de vue variés, et parfois complexes, dont les moments difficiles de notre passé. Plus spécifiquement, il permet de s’assurer que les récits et les voix des peuples autochtones sont intégrés aux lieux patrimoniaux de Parcs Canada.

La commémoration n’est pas une célébration

La commémoration n’est pas une célébration ; c’est une considération honorifique et la reconnaissance de certains des chapitres controversés, tragiques et difficiles de l’histoire qui a façonné le Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à fournir un aperçu complet et équilibré de l’histoire du Canada afin de s’assurer que les Canadiens ont l’occasion de s’intéresser à toute l’étendue de notre histoire, y compris les aspects controversés de notre passé.

C’est exactement ce que vise le Cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration de Parcs Canada, en fournissant des conseils à travers des principes pour aborder les désignations controversées. Ces principes soulignent la participation du public et l’importance de refléter un éventail de points de vue lorsque nous présentons l’histoire aux Canadiens, aujourd’hui et dans l’avenir. De plus, Parcs Canada reconnaît la nécessité de veiller à ce que le Programme national de commémoration historique reflète mieux la diversité qui a fait du Canada ce qu’il est aujourd’hui. Il devrait y avoir des occasions pour chacun de se voir et de voir sa communauté reflétée par les désignations de personnes, de lieux et d’événements d’importance nationale.

Pour le travail de la CLMHC, ce plan identifie des priorités stratégiques qui encourageront des types nouveaux et diversifiés de nominations publiques pour des personnes, des lieux et des événements d’importance historique nationale. Il décrit également un processus d’examen minutieux des désignations existantes et reconnaît la nécessité d’adapter les politiques et les pratiques de la Commission.