Sepia photo of a headshot of a man
John Peters Humphrey. Photographed by Blank & Stoller, 1930. 
© McGill University Archives, 2002-0086.04.10

John P. Humphrey was designated as a national historic person in 2022.

Historical importance: International civil servant, human rights advocate, and law professor.

Commemorative plaque: No plaque installed Footnote 1

John P. Humphrey

Lawyer, internationalist, and McGill University professor John P. Humphrey emerged from the vibrant social, cultural, and intellectual scene of 1930s Montréal to become an influential international civil servant at the United Nations (UN) Secretariat in New York City. There, as the first director of the Human Rights Division from 1946 to 1966, he helped shape new forms of global governance after the Second World War and advance human rights law. The 48-article “Secretariat Outline” and supporting documents he prepared for the UN Human Rights Commission, with help from his staff, laid the foundations for the Universal Declaration of Human Rights of 1948 and subsequent instruments. This work revolutionized international law and informed subsequent Canadian efforts to recognize and protect human rights, at home and abroad. After returning to Montréal in 1966, he continued to advance international law and human rights through his teaching at McGill University, his scholarship, his membership on the International Commission of Jurists and the Royal Commission on the Status of Women in Canada, and his role in helping to establish such prominent organizations as Amnesty International Canada and Equitas – International Centre for Human Rights Education (formerly the Canadian Human Rights Foundation).

Humphrey was born in Hampton, New Brunswick, on April 30, 1905. He studied at McGill University in Montréal before he began teaching there in 1937, developing innovative courses in administrative, public, and international law, and becoming an outspoken advocate for peace and legal internationalism. He led a rich social life in Montréal, but perhaps his most important friendship was with Henri Laugier, who became UN Assistant Secretary-General for Social Affairs in 1946, and asked Humphrey to join him as the first director of its Human Rights Division. Humphrey accepted and began work in August at the temporary headquarters of the UN Secretariat at Hunter College in New York City. 

Humphrey led the Human Rights Division for the next two decades. The most significant work he undertook during that period was preparing a first draft of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. The executive of the Human Rights Commission had asked Humphrey and his staff to collect examples of models from around the world and propose an outline. Humphrey went further, writing a preamble and 48 articles that served as the basis for the final version adopted by the General Assembly on December 10, 1948. The Universal Declaration of Human Rights gradually became part of customary law, inspired many international human rights conventions and declarations, and informed subsequent Canadian efforts to recognize and protect human rights. Humphrey continued to defend and advance the UN human rights program in the years that followed, organizing seminars, giving public lectures, and supporting the development of two legally binding, multilateral treaties, or covenants that, together with the declaration, made up the International Bill of Human Rights. 

 

First meeting of the Commission on Human Rights, Lake Success, Great Neck, New York. From left to right, front row: Eleanor Roosevelt, John Peters Humphrey, Malik Dukes, Valentin F. Topliakov, Carlos P. Romulo, date unknown
© United Nations / McGill University Archives, 2002-0086.04.16
John Peters Humphrey and Jeanne in their Montreal apartment, circa 1934  
© McGill University Archives, 2002-0086.04.11
John Peters Humphrey and Mr. Lawson at a meeting of the United Nations Sub-commission on the Prevention of Discrimination and Protection of Minorities, Geneva. Photographed by J. Cadoux in 1947. 
© McGill University Archives, 1995-0032.04.5

 

In 1966, Humphrey returned to Montréal, teaching international law and organization at McGill University. He also served on numerous international and national bodies, championed human rights as a founder of such prominent organizations as Equitas – International Centre for Human Rights Education (formerly the Canadian Human Rights Foundation), and received many honours, including the Order of Canada, the Ordre national du Québec, and the United Nations Human Rights Prize. John Humphrey retired from McGill University in 1995, shortly before his death at the age of 89.

This press backgrounder was prepared at the time of the Ministerial announcement in 2022.

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Portrait historique d'un homme
John Peters Humphrey. Photographié par Blank & Stoller, 1930. 
© Archives de l'Université McGill, 2002-0086.04.10

John P. Humphrey a été désigné personnage historique national en 2022.

Importance historique :  Fonctionnaire international, défenseurs des droits de la personne, professeur de droit.

Plaque commémorative : Aucune plaque installée Footnote 1

John P. Humphrey

John P. Humphrey est avocat, internationaliste et professeur à l’Université McGill. Il émerge de la scène sociale, culturelle et intellectuelle dynamique du Montréal des 1930 pour devenir un important fonctionnaire international au Secrétariat des Nations Unies, à New York. John y est le premier directeur de la Division des droits de l’homme, de 1946 à 1966, et il aide à mettre sur pied une nouvelle forme de gouvernance mondiale après la Seconde Guerre mondiale ainsi qu’à faire avancer la législation en matière de droits de la personne. Avec l’aide de ses employés, John prépare pour la Commission des droits de l’homme des Nations Unies un document composé de 48 articles et de pièces justificatives qui seront les fondements de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme de 1948 et, subséquemment, de ses instruments. Ce travail a révolutionné le droit international et orienté les efforts du Canada pour la reconnaissance et la protection des droits de la personne, au pays et à l’étranger. En 1966, John revient à Montréal et continue de faire progresser le droit international et les droits de la personne en donnant des cours à l’Université McGill, en offrant une bourse d’études, en participant à la Commission internationale de juristes et à la Commission royale d’enquête sur la situation de la femme au Canada, et en aidant à la création de grands organismes comme Amnistie internationale Canada et la Fondation canadienne des droits de la personne (aujourd’hui Equitas – Centre international d’éducation aux droits humains).

John Humphrey naît à Hampton, au Nouveau-Brunswick, le 30 avril 1905. Il étudie à l’Université McGill, à Montréal, puis, à partir de 1937, il y enseigne et crée des cours novateurs sur le droit administratif, public et international. John devient un ardent défenseur de la paix et de l’internationalisme juridique. Il a une vie sociale bien remplie à Montréal, mais sa plus importante amitié est possiblement celle qu’il entretient avec Henri Laugier. En 1946, ce dernier deviendra secrétaire général adjoint des Affaires sociales aux Nations Unies et il demandera à John de se joindre à lui comme tout premier directeur de la Division des droits de l’homme. John acceptera le poste et, en août, il ira travailler au siège temporaire du Secrétariat des Nations Unies au collège Hunter, à New York.

John dirige la Division des droits de l’homme pendant 20 ans. Le projet le plus important qu’il réalise pendant cette période est la préparation d’un premier jet de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme; la direction de la Commission des droits de l’homme avait demandé à John et à son équipe de recueillir des exemples de modèles du monde entier et de proposer une ébauche pour ce texte. John est allé au-delà des attentes et a écrit un préambule ainsi que 48 articles qui ont servi de base à la version définitive de la Déclaration adoptée par l’Assemblée générale le 10 décembre 1948. La Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme s’est peu à peu intégrée au droit coutumier. Elle a inspiré de nombreuses conventions et déclarations internationales sur les droits de la personne ainsi qu’orienté les efforts déployés par le Canada en vue de la reconnaissance et de la protection de ces droits. Au cours des années suivantes, John continue de défendre et de promouvoir le programme des droits de la personne des Nations Unies en organisant des séminaires, en donnant des conférences publiques et en appuyant l’élaboration de deux traités multilatéraux juridiquement contraignants (pactes) qui, jumelés à la Déclaration, forment la Charte internationale des droits de l’homme.

 

Photographie historique d'un groupe de personnes assises.
Première réunion de la Commission des droits de l'homme, Lake Success, Great Neck, New York. De gauche à droite, premier rang : Fernand Dehousse, Eleanor Roosevelt, John Humphrey, Charles Malik, Charles Dukes, Valentin Topliakov et Carlos Romulo, 1947.
© Nations Unies / Archives de l'Université McGill, 2002-0086.04.16
Un homme est assis, les jambes croisées, et regarde une femme assise sur le bras de sa chaise.
John Peters Humphrey et Jeanne dans leur appartement de Montréal, vers 1934
© Archives de l'Université McGill, 2002-0086.04.11
Deux hommes signant des documents à un bureau.
John Peters Humphrey et le général Carlos Romulo signant l'acte final à la Conférence sur la liberté de l'information, Genève, 1948.  
© Archives de l'Université McGill, 1995-0032.04.5

 

En 1966, John retourne à Montréal et enseigne le droit international et les organisations internationales à l’Université McGill. Il est membre de divers organes nationaux et internationaux ainsi que champion des droits de la personne en tant que fondateur de grandes organisations comme la Fondation canadienne des droits de la personne (aujourd’hui Equitas – Centre international d’éducation aux droits humains). John reçoit de nombreuses distinctions, notamment celles de l’Ordre du Canada et de l’Ordre national du Québec, et le Prix des Nations Unies pour les droits de l’homme. Il cesse d’enseigner et prend sa retraite en 1995, et meurt peu après à l’âge de 89 ans.

La présente fiche d’information a été rédigée au moment de l’annonce ministérielle en 2022.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus


Liens connexes