Larry Gains and the fight against systemic racism

Boxing match between Larry Gains and eventual world champion Primo Carnera © Hawaii Times Photo Archives Foundation/ Credit: Nippu Jiji Photo Archives/ Digitization: Densho /bilingual metadata: Hoover Institution Library & Archives and National Museum of Japanese History

For the week of Monday, December 6, 2021

On December 12, 1900, Lawrence Samuel “Larry” Gains was born in Toronto, Ontario. He went on to become one of the most talented and successful Canadian boxers in the first half of the 20th century, both at home and abroad, and a prominent African Canadian figure.

Gains grew up in the Toronto neighborhood of Cabbagetown, where he developed an interest in boxing at a young age. A big fan of American boxer Jack Johnson, the first Black heavyweight champion, Gains joined a local gym in 1920. Gains entered the ring soon after. He lost his first amateur fight but attracted the attention of a trainer, who helped him develop the skills he needed to start boxing professionally in 1923, although this meant giving up a spot on the 1924 Olympic team, then only composed of amateur athletes. With encouragement from Canadian heavyweight champion Horace “Soldier” Jones, and given the lack of options for Black boxers in North America, Gains chose to pursue his career in England and Europe. 

In the decades before Gains became a professional boxer, there had been significant changes to the sport, which evolved from illegal bareknuckle fights to organized gloved fights with administrative oversight and generally-agreed-upon rules. Boxing quickly gained popularity as a masculine activity among the middle class. For a few talented working-class athletes and athletes of colour, boxing represented a lucrative alternative to low-wage employment.

Gains fought his way to national and international heavyweight titles, becoming an African Canadian sports icon, thus encouraging the opening of several boxing clubs for Black boxers in Toronto. As he reached the top levels of the sport, despite an impressive record, he was prohibited from competing due to racist practices. In part, such barriers reflected fears that boxing champions of African descent might threaten the status quo of race relations by challenging illusions of white superiority. Unable to compete for the World title, Gains nevertheless broke a major colour barrier in 1932 when he defeated white South African Dan McCorkindale to take the British Empire Heavyweight title. Through such victories, Gains won popular support and helped create opportunities for future boxers of African descent. 

Larry Gains is a designated national historic person. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) advises the Government of Canada on the commemoration of national historic persons—individuals who have made unique and enduring contributions to the history of Canada.

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. Learn how to participate in this process. 

Learn more about Parks Canada’s approach to public history by checking out the Framework for History and Commemoration (2019) on our website.

Larry Gains et la lutte contre le racisme systémique

Match de boxe entre Larry Gains et le futur champion du monde, Primo Carnera, en 1932. © Hawaii Times Photo Archives Foundation/ Source : Nippu Jiji Photo Archives/ Numérisation : Densho /Métadonnées bilingues : Hoover Institution Library & Archives et National Museum of Japanese History

Pour la semaine du lundi 6 décembre 2021

Le 12 décembre 1900, Lawrence Samuel « Larry » Gains naît à Toronto, en Ontario. Il devient l’un des boxeurs canadiens les plus talentueux et les plus brillants de la première moitié du XXe siècle, tant au pays qu’à l’étranger, et une personnalité afro-canadienne importante.

Gains grandit dans le quartier Cabbagetown à Toronto où il commence à s’intéresser à la boxe dès un jeune âge. Grand admirateur du boxeur américain Jack Johnson, le premier champion noir des poids lourds, Gains s’inscrit dans un gymnase local en 1920 et monte dans l’arène de boxe peu de temps après. Il perd son premier combat amateur, mais attire toutefois l’attention d’un entraîneur qui l’aide à développer les compétences dont il a besoin pour commencer à faire de la boxe professionnelle en 1923. Cela signifie par contre qu’il doit renoncer à une place dans l’équipe olympique de 1924, alors composée uniquement d’athlètes amateurs. Encouragé par le champion canadien des poids lourds Horace « Soldier » Jones, et compte tenu du manque d’options pour les boxeurs noirs en Amérique du Nord, Gains choisit de poursuivre sa carrière en Angleterre et en Europe.

Au cours des décennies qui précèdent le début de la carrière de Gains en tant que boxeur professionnel, le sport connaît d’importants changements, passant de combats illégaux à poings nus à des combats organisés avec des gants, une surveillance administrative et des règles généralement acceptées. La boxe gagne rapidement en popularité en tant qu’activité masculine au sein de la classe moyenne. Pour quelques athlètes talentueux de la classe ouvrière et quelques athlètes de couleur, la boxe représente une alternative lucrative aux emplois mal payés.

Gains finit par remporter des titres poids lourds au Canada et à l’international, devenant ainsi une figure afro-canadienne emblématique dans le sport, ce qui a favorisé l’ouverture de plusieurs clubs de boxe pour les boxeurs noirs à Toronto. Alors qu’il atteint les plus hauts niveaux du sport et malgré des résultats impressionnants, il lui est interdit de participer à des combats en raison de pratiques racistes. Ces obstacles proviennent en partie de la crainte que les champions de boxe d’ascendance africaine ne menacent le statu quo des relations raciales et remettent ainsi en cause les illusions de supériorité des Blancs. Incapable de concourir pour le titre mondial, Gains brise néanmoins une importante barrière raciale en 1932 lorsqu’il vainc le Sud-Africain blanc Dan McCorkindale et remporte le titre des poids lourds de l’Empire britannique. Grâce à de telles victoires, Gains gagne le soutien du public et ouvre la porte aux futurs boxeurs d’ascendance africaine.

Larry Gains est désigné personnage historique national. La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) conseille le gouvernement du Canada sur la commémoration de personnages historiques nationaux – des individus qui ont apporté des contributions uniques et durables à l’histoire du Canada.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. Apprenez-en plus comment participer au processus. 

Mai est le Mois du patrimoine asiatique. Apprenez-en plus sur les histoires des Asiatique-Canadiens en explorant des articles dans nos archives en ligne sur Les premiers cimetières chinois à Victoria, Colombie-Britannique, Arrivée d’immigrants vietnamiens au Canada après 1978, et Le Temple Gur sikh d’Abbotsford.