Vietnamese immigration to Canada after 1978

Vietnamese refugees in 1979 © Canada. Department of National Defence / Library and Archives Canada / e999901782-u

For the Week of Monday, November 15, 2021.

On November 15, 1978, the Government of Québec announced it would resettle roughly 200 of the 2,500 Vietnamese refugees aboard the vessel Hai Hong, which had lost one of its engines and was drifting towards Malaysia. 

Canada admitted increasing numbers of refugees and displaced persons after the Second World War: roughly 187,000 adults and children fled devastated Europe for Canada between 1947 and 1952, including Holocaust survivors and former prisoners of war. However, refugees were not a clearly defined class of immigrants under the law until 1976. That year, the federal government passed a new Immigration Act, which exempted refugees from the points system—a means of determining the eligibility of potential immigrants according to such measures as education, language, and age. The Act further required that federal immigration policy, rules, and regulations must reflect certain objectives, including the need “to fulfill Canada’s international legal obligations with respect to refugees and to uphold its humanitarian tradition with respect to the displaced and the persecuted.”

The withdrawal of American forces marked the end of the Vietnam War in 1975. The Canadian government’s response was minimal, agreeing to a request from the United States to accept South East Asian refugees in American resettlement camps who had family in Canada. Between 1975 and 1978, there were local skirmishes, economic problems, and a major crop failure in Vietnam, to which Canada responded by shipping 100,000 tons of wheat. In 1978, Vietnam’s relationship with its large ethnic-Chinese community deteriorated and an exodus began by mid-year. Several large freighters left Vietnam, carrying fleeing Vietnamese passengers who made the perilous journey to seek asylum in neighbouring countries. One of those vessels, the Hai Hong, captured the world’s attention and shaped public opinion in Canada.

French-language newspapers in Canada published the harrowing story of the Hai Hong. The Government of Québec responded to the plight by offering to accept roughly 200 passengers from Malaysia by invoking the Cullen-Couture Agreement of 1978, which had granted the province some authority in their selection of immigrants. The Canadian government admitted another 400 passengers, bringing the total to approximately 600. The remainder received offers of resettlement from other countries.

Thus began a refugee settlement program that still stands as one of Canada’s largest and best remembered refugee programs. It marked the first time that private sponsorships by volunteer groups played a role in admitting refugees. Between the program’s start in 1979 and its end in 1997, Canada accepted approximately 163,000 refugees from all over Vietnam, who were admitted entirely on a humanitarian basis.

Immigration to Canada is a designated national historic event. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) advises the Government of Canada on the commemoration of national historic events, which evoke significant moments, episodes, movements, or experiences in the history of Canada.

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. Learn how to participate in this process.

May is Asian Heritage Month. Learn more about Asian Canadian histories by exploring articles in our online archives about the Early Chinese Cemeteries in Victoria, British Columbia, Vietnamese immigration to Canada after 1978, and The Abbotsford Gur Sikh Temple.

Arrivée d’immigrants vietnamiens au Canada après 1978

Réfugiés vietnamiens en 1979 © Canada. Ministère de la Défense nationale/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/e999901782-u

Pour la semaine du lundi 15 novembre 2021.

Le 15 novembre 1978, le gouvernement du Québec a annoncé qu’il était prêt à accueillir environ 200 des 2 500 réfugiés vietnamiens du navire Hai Hong, lequel avait perdu un de ses moteurs et dérivait vers la Malaisie. 

Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le Canada a ouvert ses portes à un nombre croissant de réfugiés et de personnes déplacées : de 1947 à 1952, environ 187 000 adultes et enfants ont fui l’Europe dévastée pour venir s’installer au Canada, notamment des survivants de l’Holocauste et d’anciens prisonniers de guerre. Cependant, avant 1976, les réfugiés ne constituaient pas une catégorie d’immigrants clairement définie par la loi. Cette année-là, le gouvernement fédéral a adopté une nouvelle Loi sur l’immigration, qui exemptait les réfugiés du système de points servant à déterminer l’admissibilité des candidats à l’immigration en fonction de critères tels que le niveau d’instruction, la langue et l’âge. La Loi exigeait que les politiques, règles et règlements fédéraux en matière d’immigration reflètent certains objectifs, notamment la nécessité de remplir les obligations en droit international du Canada relativement aux réfugiés et de maintenir sa tradition humanitaire à l’égard des personnes déplacées ou persécutées.

En 1975, le retrait des forces américaines a marqué la fin de la guerre du Vietnam. La réaction du gouvernement canadien a été limitée, acceptant la demande des États-Unis d’accueillir des réfugiés d’Asie du Sud-Est qui se trouvaient dans les camps de réinstallation américains et qui avaient de la famille au Canada. De 1975 à 1978, le Vietnam a connu des affrontements locaux, des problèmes économiques et une grave crise agricole, à laquelle le Canada a réagi en expédiant 100 000 tonnes de blé. En 1978, les relations du Vietnam avec son importante communauté ethnique chinoise se sont détériorées, et un exode a commencé vers le milieu de l’année. Plusieurs gros cargos ont quitté le Vietnam remplis de passagers vietnamiens en fuite qui ont fait le périlleux voyage pour demander l’asile dans des pays voisins. L’un de ces navires, le Hai Hong, a attiré l’attention du monde entier et a profondément marqué l’opinion publique au Canada.

Les journaux francophones du Canada ont publié l’histoire déchirante du Hai Hong. Le gouvernement du Québec a répondu à la détresse des passagers en proposant d’accepter environ 200 passagers arrivés de Malaisie, invoquant l’accord Cullen-Couture de 1978 qui avait accordé à la province un certain pouvoir dans sa sélection des immigrants. Le gouvernement canadien a admis 400 autres passagers, portant le total à 600. Les autres ont reçu des offres de réinstallation d’autres pays. 

C’est ainsi qu’a débuté un programme d’accueil de réfugiés qui est encore aujourd’hui l’un des plus importants et des plus mémorables programmes du genre au Canada. C’était la première fois que des parrainages privés par des groupes de bénévoles jouaient un rôle dans l’admission de réfugiés. Entre le début du programme en 1979 et sa conclusion en 1997, le Canada a accueilli environ 163 000 réfugiés de tout le Vietnam, qui ont été admis uniquement pour des raisons humanitaires.

L’immigration au Canada est désignée événement historique national. La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) conseille le gouvernement du Canada sur la commémoration des événements historiques nationaux qui évoquent des moments, des épisodes, des mouvements ou des expériences marquants de l’histoire du Canada.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. Apprenez-en plus comment participer au processus.

Mai est le Mois du patrimoine asiatique. Apprenez-en plus sur les histoires des Asiatique-Canadiens en explorant des articles dans nos archives en ligne sur Les premiers cimetières chinois à Victoria, Colombie-Britannique, Arrivée d’immigrants vietnamiens au Canada après 1978, et Le Temple Gur sikh d’Abbotsford.