Skmaqn-Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst

Monument commemorating the arrival of the Acadian couple Michel Haché-Gallant and his wife Anne Cormier at the Skmaqn–Port-la-Joye–Fort Amherst National Historic Site. © Parks Canada Agency

For the week of Monday, August 17, 2020.

On August 17, 1758, French commander Gabriel Rousseau de Villejouin of Port-la-Joye surrendered Ile Saint-Jean (Epekwitk/Prince Edward Island) to British Lieutenant-Colonel Andrew Rollo. This ended French rule at Port-la-Joye, which the British renamed Fort Amherst.

The Mi’kmaq lived on the island of Epekwitk for thousands of years before the arrival of Europeans. At the beginning of the 17th century, they began to establish a relationship with the French colonists whom they met in Skmaqn. Known as a “waiting place,” this region is very important to the Mi’kmaq. They used Skmaqn to await the arrival of travelers arriving by inland waterway, both by the bay and by Elsitkuk (Hillsborough River), a historically important travel route to the north shore of the island. Skmaqn became the site of all relations between the Mi’kmaq and the French, who then established the neighboring colony of Port-la-Joye in 1720. It served as the seat of government for Île Saint-Jean, which was part of the French colony of Île Royale (Unam’ki/Cape Breton Island). The two nations met to exchange gifts, a practice the Mi’kmaq used to express their desire to strengthen relationships with their friends and allies. During these meetings, the French offered precious tools to the Mi’kmaq, such as muskets, in exchange for military support and information on the British forces.

In July 1758, the French surrendered the Fortress of Louisbourg to the British. The following month, British Major General Jeffrey Amherst sent Lieutenant-Colonel Andrew Rollo to Île Saint-Jean with orders to expel any French resident refusing to swear allegiance to the King of Great Britain and Ireland. The British subsequently expelled more than 3,000 people, most of them Acadians. Approximately 1,100 Acadians fled to present day New Brunswick and the Gaspé Peninsula, while others took refuge in the woods on Île Saint-Jean. Those who faced deportation endured horrifying conditions aboard ships, where hunger and disease took their toll. Two vessels sank. In total, approximately half of the people forced from their homes during the deportation of 1758 perished, making it the deadliest of the mass deportations carried out by the British between 1755 and 1762.

Skmaqn-Port-la-Joye-Fort Amherst is a designated national historic site. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) advises the Government of Canada on the commemoration of National Historic Sites, which can include a wide range of historic places such as gardens, cemeteries, complexes of buildings and cultural landscapes.

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. Information on how to participate in this process is available here: https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/culture/clmhc-hsmbc/ncp-pcn

June is National Indigenous History Month. Learn more about the diverse histories and cultures of Indigenous Peoples by exploring articles in our online archives about Skmaqn-Port-la-Joye-Fort Amherst, Francis Pegahmagabow (1889–1952), Wii Niisł Puuntk: A Matriarch of the Gitga’at of Hartley Bay, and Weaving Identity: Nlaka’pamux Basket-Making.

Skmaqn–Port-la-Joye–Fort-Amherst

Monument commémorant l’arrivée du couple acadien formé de Michel Haché-Gallant et de son épouse Anne Cormier au lieu historique national de Skmaqn–Port-la-Joye–Fort-Amherst. © Agence Parcs Canada

Pour la semaine du lundi 17 août 2020.

Le 17 août 1758, le commandant français Gabriel Rousseau de Villejouin, alors à Port-la-Joye, cède l'île Saint-Jean (Epekwitk/Île-du-Prince-Édouard) au lieutenant-colonel britannique Andrew Rollo. Cet événement annonce la fin du régime français à Port-la-Joye, que les Britanniques rebaptisent fort Amherst.

Les Mi’kmaq habitent sur l’île Epekwitk, pendant des milliers d’années avant l’arrivée des Européens. Au début du XVIIe siècle, ils commencent à établir une relation avec les colons français qu’ils rencontrent à Skmaqn. Connue comme un « lieu d’attente », cette région est très importante pour les Mi’kmaq. Ils utilisaient Skmaqn pour attendre l’arrivée des voyageurs venus par voie navigable, tant par la baie que par Elsitkuk (rivière Hillsborough), une route de voyage historiquement importante vers la rive nord de l’île. Skmaqn est devenu le site de toutes les relations entre les Mi’kmaq et les Français, qui ont ensuite établi la colonie voisine de Port-la-Joye en 1720. Celle-ci sert comme siège du gouvernement de l’île Saint-Jean, qui faisait partie de la colonie française de l’île Royale (Unam’ki / île du Cap-Breton). Les deux nations se rencontraient pour échanger des cadeaux, une pratique que les Mi’kmaq utilisaient pour exprimer leur désir de renforcer les relations avec leurs amis et leurs alliés. Lors de ces réunions, les Français offraient des outils précieux aux Mi’kmaq, tels que des mousquets, en échange d’un soutien militaire et d’informations sur les forces britanniques.

En juillet 1758, les Français cèdent la forteresse de Louisbourg aux Britanniques. Le mois suivant, le major-général britannique Jeffrey Amherst envoie le lieutenant-colonel Andrew Rollo à l’île Saint-Jean avec l’ordre d’expulser tout habitant français refusant de porter allégeance au Roi de Grande-Bretagne et d’Irlande. Les Britanniques déportent subséquemment plus de 3 000 personnes, dont la plupart étaient Acadiens. Environ 1 100 Acadiens fuient vers le Nouveau-Brunswick actuel et la péninsule gaspésienne, tandis que d’autres se sont réfugiés dans les bois de l’île Saint-Jean. Les personnes déportées à bord des navires endurent des conditions horribles, où la faim et la maladie font des ravages. Deux des navires coulent. Au total, près de la moitié des personnes contraintes de quitter leur domicile lors de la déportation de 1758 meurent, ce qui en fait la plus meurtrière des déportations massives effectuées par les Britanniques entre 1755 et 1762.

Skmaqn–Port-la-Joye–Fort-Amherst est désigné lieu historique national. La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) conseille le gouvernement du Canada sur la commémoration des lieux historiques nationaux, qui sont des sites urbains, ruraux et sauvages à travers le Canada qui font partie intégrante de notre passé et de notre présent.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. Pour de plus amples informations sur le processus de présentation d’une demande de désignation, consultez la page suivante : https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/culture/clmhc-hsmbc/ncp-pcn.

Juin est le Mois national de l’histoire autochtone. Apprenez-en davantage sur la diversité des histoires et des cultures des Peuples Autochtones en consultant les articles sur Skmaqn-Port-la-Joye-Fort Amherst, Francis Pegahmagabow (1889–1952), Wii Niisł Puuntk : matriarche gitga’at de Hartley Bay, et Tisser son identité : la vannerie nlaka’pamux.