Francis Pegahmagabow (1889–1952)

Corporal Francis Pegahmagabow, MM. © Archives (photos and documents), CWM 20040035-006, George Metcalf Archival Collection Canadian War Museum
Francis Pegahmagabow in Ottawa, June 1945. © Canadian Museum of History, 95293

For the week of Monday August 10, 2020.

On August 13, 1914, Francis Pegahmagabow enlisted to serve in the Canadian Expeditionary Force, ten days after the First World War began. He went on to gain distinction as a skilled sniper during the war and, later, as an activist for Indigenous rights.

Pegahmagabow was born on March 9, 1889, at what is now Shawanaga First Nation on the eastern shore of Georgian Bay, Ontario. He was an Ojibwe Nishnaabe, member of the Caribou clan, and part of the Wasauksing First Nation. After his father died and his mother became gravely ill, he was raised by extended family at Shawanaga First Nation. He later moved to nearby Parry Sound Wasauksing First Nation, where he attended high school.

Enlisting just days after Canada entered the First World War in August 1914, he went to France with the 1st Canadian Battalion in early 1915 and served for the duration of the war, seeing action in France and Belgium. He carried a medicine pouch for spiritual protection as he worked alone with his sniper rifle in contested territory, reporting on enemy movements. He was also a messenger at Ypres in 1915–1916, for which he earned a Military Medal for bravery in the field. In September 1916, he was wounded in the leg and had to recover in England, but returned to the battlefield in 1917. Pegahmagabow was promoted to corporal and took part in the Battle of Passchendaele, where he earned a bar on his Military Medal for relaying information and directing reinforcements. He earned another bar in 1918 for delivering ammunition to his company while under heavy fire during the Battle of the Scarpe.

Pegahmagabow is credited with wounding 378 enemies with his rifle and capturing another 300, which would make him one of the most accomplished snipers of the First World War. He worked alone, leading some to question these figures. However, Dr. Brian McInnes, a member of Wasauksing First Nation and descendant of Pegahmagabow, explained: “The taking of life, even in war, was not something about which the Ojibwe should ever brag. It would be an even greater dishonour to lie about such action.”

After the war, Pegahmagabow returned to Wasauksing First Nation. He became chief in 1921 and brought the First Nation into the League of Indians of Ontario. He worked through this organization to oppose the policies of the Department of Indian Affairs, whose locally appointed Indian Agents had the power to override band decisions and control band funds. In 1945, Pegahmagabow helped form another Indigenous rights organization, the National Indian Government, which he led as supreme chief in 1949–1950. Facing pressure from such groups, the federal government reduced the authority of Indian Agents on the reserves in 1951. Pegahmagabow remained an activist until his death in Parry Sound in 1952.

Francis Pegahmagabow is a designated national historic person. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) advises the Government of Canada on the commemoration of National Historic Persons—individuals who have made unique and enduring contributions to the history of Canada.

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. Information on how to participate in this process is available here: https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/culture/clmhc-hsmbc/ncp-pcn

June is National Indigenous History Month. Learn more about the diverse histories and cultures of Indigenous Peoples by exploring articles in our online archives about Skmaqn-Port-la-Joye-Fort Amherst, Francis Pegahmagabow (1889–1952), Wii Niisł Puuntk: A Matriarch of the Gitga’at of Hartley Bay, and Weaving Identity: Nlaka’pamux Basket-Making.

Francis Pegahmagabow (1889–1952)

Caporal Francis Pegahmagabow, M.M. © Archives (photographies et documents), CWM 20040035-006, Collection d’archives George Metcalf, Musée canadien de la guerre
Francis Pegahmagabow à Ottawa, juin 1945. © Musée canadien de l’histoire, 95293

Pour la semaine du 10 août 2020.

Le 13 août 1914, Francis Pegahmagabow s'enrôle dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien, dix jours après le début de la Première Guerre mondiale. Pendant le conflit, il se distinguera en tant que tireur d'élite et, plus tard, comme militant pour les droits des Autochtones.

Pegahmagabow naît le 9 mars 1889 sur la rive est de la baie Georgienne, en Ontario, dans une localité habitée aujourd’hui par la Première Nation de Shawanaga. Ojibway Nishnaabe, membre du clan du Caribou, il fait partie de la Première Nation de Wasauksing. Après le décès de son père, sa mère tombe gravement malade. Il est ensuite élevé par des membres de sa famille élargie au sein de la Première Nation de Shawanaga. Plus tard, il retourne auprès de la Première Nation de Wasauksing, près de Parry Sound, où il fréquente l’école secondaire.

Enrôlé seulement quelques jours après l’entrée du Canada dans la Première Guerre mondiale en août 1914, Pegahmagabow est envoyé en France au début de 1915 avec le 1er Bataillon canadien et sert pendant toute la guerre, participant notamment aux combats en France et en Belgique. Il porte un sac de médecine comme protection spirituelle alors qu’il travaille seul avec son fusil de tireur d’élite en territoire contesté, faisant état des mouvements de l’ennemi. Il sert également comme messager à Ypres en 1915-1916, mission qui lui vaut la Médaille militaire pour sa bravoure sur le terrain. En septembre 1916, il est blessé à la jambe et doit se faire soigner en Angleterre, mais il retourne sur le champ de bataille en 1917. Pegahmagabow est promu caporal et prend part à la bataille de Passchendaele, lors de laquelle il est décoré d’une barrette sur sa Médaille militaire pour avoir relayé de l’information et dirigé des renforts. En 1918, il obtient une autre barrette pour avoir livré des munitions à sa compagnie sous un feu nourri durant la bataille de la Scarpe.

Pegahmagabow est réputé avoir abattu 378 ennemis à l’aide de son fusil et en avoir capturé 300 autres, ce qui ferait de lui l’un des tireurs d’élite les plus accomplis de la Première Guerre mondiale. Comme il travaille seul, certains remettent ces chiffres en question. Toutefois, le professeur Brian McInnes, membre de la Première Nation de Wasauksing et descendant de Pegahmagabow, explique ceci : « Prendre la vie de quelqu’un, même en temps de guerre, n’est pas une chose pour laquelle un Ojibway devrait se vanter. Ce serait un déshonneur d’autant plus grand que de mentir à ce sujet. »

Après la guerre, Pegahmagabow rentre chez lui dans la Première Nation de Wasauksing. Il en devient le chef en 1921 et fait adhérer la Première Nation à la Ligue des Indiens de l’Ontario. Par l’entremise de cette organisation, il s’oppose aux politiques du ministère des Affaires indiennes, dont les agents des Indiens nommés localement ont le pouvoir de casser les décisions d’une bande et de contrôler ses fonds. En 1945, Pegahmagabow contribue à fonder une autre organisation de défense des droits des Autochtones, le gouvernement national indien, qu’il dirige à titre de chef suprême en 1949 et en 1950. Les pressions exercées par ces groupes obligent le gouvernement fédéral à réduire l’autorité des agents des Indiens sur les réserves en 1951. Pegahmagabow demeure un militant jusqu’à sa mort à Parry Sound en 1952.

Francis Pegahmagabow est désigné personnage d’importance historique nationale. La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) conseille le gouvernement du Canada sur la commémoration d’événements historiques nationaux qui évoquent des moments, épisodes, mouvements ou expériences significatifs dans l’histoire du Canada.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. Pour de plus amples informations sur le processus de présentation d’une demande de désignation, consultez la page suivante : https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/culture/clmhc-hsmbc/ncp-pcn.

Juin est le Mois national de l’histoire autochtone. Apprenez-en davantage sur la diversité des histoires et des cultures des Peuples Autochtones en consultant les articles sur Skmaqn-Port-la-Joye-Fort Amherst, Francis Pegahmagabow (1889–1952), Wii Niisł Puuntk : matriarche gitga’at de Hartley Bay, et Tisser son identité : la vannerie nlaka’pamux.