Wii Niisł Puuntk: A Matriarch of the Gitga’at of Hartley Bay

Bronze Plaque Commemorating Wii Niisł Puuntk, a Gitga’at Matriarch, October 4th, 2018. © Parks Canada

For the week of September 30, 2019.

On October 4, 2018 a plaque commemorating Wii Niisł Puuntk (also known as Lucille Clifton) was unveiled in her community of Hartley Bay, British Columbia. Around this time of year, Wii Niisł Puuntk organized an annual fall feast, which is still remembered today, and was instrumental in teaching traditional knowledge of food harvesting, preparation, and sharing.

In 1876, a girl was born to the Royal House of Sinaxeet as part of the Laxsgiik (Eagle) clan, and given the high ranking name Mooxs. After the death of her parents, when she was around 10 years old, Mooxs was raised by her maternal aunt Mary (also known as Wul Puun) and her husband, Chief Neasloss of Kitasoo. She was soon baptized and given the name Lucille Buxton. In 1891, she married Heber L. Clifton, a prominent member of the Gispudwada (Blackfish) clan of the Gitga’at (Ts’msyen). Together they had 12 children, 9 of whom survived into adulthood and assumed roles as leaders within their community.

Lucille received many names during her life, each associated with different ranks and responsibilities. In 1890, she was given the name Wii Nii Puun, the highest ranking female name in the Eagle clan. She received this name for her role as matriarch of the Gitga’at community, which, like other Ts’msyen First Nations, is matrilineal. As she grew in her role as a community leader, Lucille was also known as No’os (mother), and Heber was called Hadiix (father). As No’os, she worked at many levels to help her family and her community maintain their cultural traditions and well-being.

Wii Niisł Puuntk was integral to the teaching of traditional knowledge and the Sm’algyax language to younger generations in her community, especially her own grandchildren. She did so during a time when laws actively prevented Indigenous Peoples from practicing their culture, including feast-based ceremonies, such as the potlatch. Wii Niisł Puuntk is remembered by her family and community for having worked with women and children to pass on her knowledge of traditional medicine and midwifery, including teachings on the prevention of infectious diseases and the gathering and processing of nutritious food such as salmon, clams, seaweed, and berries.

Among the most significant elements of her legacy are the community feasts that she organized from the 1920s to the 1950s, featuring a wide variety of traditional food, including crabapples (moolks) and highbush cranberries (lhaaya) with whipped oulachen grease, half-smoked coho salmon (wüüx, ts’aal) and salmon egg caviar (uuskm laan), blueberries (wo’oksil) and salalberries (dzawes), dried seaweed (lha’ask), and Labrador tea (k’wila’maxs). Community members, particularly those of the Eagle Clan, helped prepare the feasts and learned about traditional foods and protocols related to seating, gifts, and speeches. Those gatherings are still remembered and talked about by her community today and inspire current Gitga’at feasts. Wii Niisł Puuntk died on September 6, 1962, in Hartley Bay at the age of 86.

Wii Niisł Puuntk, also known as Lucille Clifton, is a designated national historic person. The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) advises the Government of Canada on the commemoration of national historic persons—individuals who have made unique and enduring contributions to the history of Canada.

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. Information on how to participate in this process is available here: https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/culture/clmhc-hsmbc/ncp-pcn

June is National Indigenous History Month. Learn more about the diverse histories and cultures of Indigenous Peoples by exploring articles in our online archives about Skmaqn-Port-la-Joye-Fort Amherst, Francis Pegahmagabow (1889–1952), Wii Niisł Puuntk: A Matriarch of the Gitga’at of Hartley Bay, and Weaving Identity: Nlaka’pamux Basket-Making.

Wii Niisł Puuntk : matriarche gitga’at de Hartley Bay

Plaque en bronze de la CLMHC commémorant Wii Niisł Puuntk, une matriarche des Gitga’at, le 4 octobre 2018. © Parcs Canada

Pour la semaine du 30 septembre 2019.

Le 4 octobre 2018, une plaque commémorant Wii Niisł Puuntk (aussi connue sous le nom de Lucille Clifton) a été dévoilée dans le village de Hartley Bay, en Colombie-Britannique. Chaque année, à l’automne, Wii Niisł Puuntk organisait un grand festin dont on se souvient encore aujourd’hui. Elle a joué un rôle déterminant dans l’enseignement des méthodes traditionnelles de récolte, de préparation et de partage des aliments.

En 1876, une fille nommée Mooxs, un nom de haut rang, voit le jour dans la famille royale de Sinaxeet, dans le clan Laxsgiik (clan de l’Aigle). Ses parents meurent lorsqu’elle a dix ans et elle est confiée à sa tante maternelle, Mary (aussi connue sous le nom de Wul Puun), et à son mari, le chef Neasloss de Kitasoo. Mooxs sera peu après baptisée sous le nom de Lucille Buxton. En 1891, elle marie Heber L. Clifton qui est un membre important du clan Gispudwada (clan de l’Orque) de la Première Nation des Gitga’at (Ts’msyen). Le couple a 12 enfants dont neuf se rendent à l’âge adulte et occupent des rôles de leader de la communauté.

Lucille porte beaucoup de noms durant sa vie, chacun d’eux associés à un rang et à des responsabilités. En 1980, elle reçoit le nom de Wii Nii Puun, soit un nom du plus haut rang possible pour une femme du clan de l’Aigle. Elle acquiert ce nom en tant que matriarche de la communauté des Gitga’at qui, comme les autres Premières Nations Ts’msyen, est une société matrilinéaire. Au fur et à mesure qu’elle apprend son rôle de chef, Lucille est aussi connue sous le nom de No’os (mère) tandis que Heber est appelé Hadiix (père). Sous le nom de No’os, elle travaille à de nombreux niveaux pour contribuer au mieux-être de sa famille et de sa collectivité ainsi qu’à la conservation des traditions culturelles.

Wii Niisł Puuntk joue un rôle essentiel dans l’enseignement du savoir traditionnel et de la langue Sm’algyax aux jeunes générations de sa communauté, surtout à ses petits-enfants, et ce, malgré des lois qui interdisent aux Premières Nations toute pratique culturelle, y compris les cérémonies de grands rassemblements comme le potlatch. La famille et la communauté de Wii Niisł Puuntk se souviennent d’elle pour son travail auprès des femmes et des enfants à qui elle transmettait ses connaissances sur la médecine traditionnelle et la profession de sage-femme, y compris son savoir sur la prévention des maladies infectieuses et la récolte ainsi que la transformation d’aliments nutritifs comme le saumon, les myes, les algues et les baies.

Parmi les plus importants éléments du legs de Wii Niisł Puuntk, il y a les festins communautaires qu’elle a organisés à partir des années 1920 et jusqu’aux années 1950. Ces repas comportaient un éventail de mets traditionnels comme des pommettes (moolks) et des pimbinas (lhaaya) avec de la graisse d’eulakane fouettée, du saumon coho demi-fumé (wüüx, ts’aal) avec du caviar de saumon (uuskm laan), des bleuets (wo’oksil) et des fruits du salal (dzawes), des algues séchées (lha’ask) et du thé du Labrador (k’wila’maxs). Les membres de la communauté, particulièrement ceux du clan de l’Aigle, participaient à la préparation de ce festin, ce qui leur permettait d’en apprendre davantage sur les aliments traditionnels et les protocoles liés aux places des convives, aux cadeaux et aux discours. Dans la communauté des Gitga’at, on parle encore de ces célébrations qui sont une source d’inspiration pour les festins d’aujourd’hui. Wii Niisł Puuntk est décédée le 6 septembre 1962 à Hartley Bay, à l’âge de 86 ans.

Wii Niisł Puuntk, aussi connue sous le nom de Lucille Clifton, est une personne d’importance historique nationale. La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) conseille le gouvernement du Canada sur la commémoration de personnes historiques nationales – des individus qui ont apporté des contributions uniques et durables à l’histoire du Canada.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. Pour de plus amples informations sur le processus de présentation d’une demande de désignation, consultez la page suivante : https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/culture/clmhc-hsmbc/ncp-pcn.

Juin est le Mois national de l’histoire autochtone. Apprenez-en davantage sur la diversité des histoires et des cultures des Peuples Autochtones en consultant les articles sur Skmaqn-Port-la-Joye-Fort Amherst, Francis Pegahmagabow (1889–1952), Wii Niisł Puuntk : matriarche gitga’at de Hartley Bay, et Tisser son identité : la vannerie nlaka’pamux.