“Paper Sons”: Chinese Immigration to Canada

Looking west from Columbia to Carrall on E. Pender St, 1904, Vancouver, BC © Vancouver Public Library/Philip Timms VPL Accession #: 7234

For the week of May 27, 2019.

On May 29, 1960, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation reporter Bill Cunningham reported that police were investigating suspected illegal “smuggling” of Chinese immigrants in Vancouver, British Columbia. Prominent Chinese Canadians spoke out against the raids, including Jean Lumb, who later became the first Chinese-Canadian woman to receive the Order of Canada. “It brought a cloud of suspicion over the Chinese people,” she said. “What a terrible mess. How could people go through the rest of their lives with the wrong surname, living in fear of being deported?”

Canada had long restricted Chinese immigration to the country. Under the Chinese Immigration Act of 1885, the federal government imposed a punitive “head tax” that effectively denied many people of Chinese origin admission to Canada. This severe limitation on Chinese immigration reflected continuing and deep-seated anti-Asian prejudice within Canadian society, which found further expression in the exclusionary Chinese Immigration Act of 1923. This legislation was repealed in 1947, but Chinese immigration was still restricted. Given earlier restrictions on immigration, few Chinese Canadians met the citizenship requirements to sponsor the entry of spouses or children into the country.

Many were fleeing conflict with Japan in the 1930s, civil war in China in the late 1940s, or Chinese communism in the 1950s. During this time of exclusionary immigration policies, many Chinese people adopted the names of families already in Canada in order to gain entry to the country and therefore became known as “paper sons.”

In 1960, Douglas Jung, a veteran of the Second World War and the first Chinese-Canadian Member of Parliament, introduced a private member’s bill to grant amnesty to “paper sons.” Under the Chinese Adjustment Statement Program, nearly 12,000 of these immigrants were granted amnesty between 1960 and 1973. During this same period, new regulations in 1962 and 1967 also removed explicitly racist provisions limiting immigration to Canada. The implementation of a “points system,” for example, made skill more important than “race” or national origin in the selection of newcomers.

Vancouver’s Chinatown and Victoria’s Chinatown are designated national historic sites. 
The Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) advises the Government of Canada on the commemoration of national historic sites, which can include a wide range of historic places such as gardens, cemeteries, complexes of buildings and cultural landscapes.

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. Information on how to participate in this process is available here: https://www.pc.gc.ca/en/culture/clmhc-hsmbc/ncp-pcn


May is Asian Heritage Month. Learn more about the histories, achievements, and contributions of Canadians of Asian descent by exploring articles in our online archives about “Paper Sons”: Chinese Immigration to Canada, SS Komagata Maru, the forcible relocation of Japanese Canadians during and after the Second World War, the Abbotsford Gur Sikh Temple, and The New Canadian: A Voice for Japanese Canadians.

« Fils sur papier » : L’immigration chinoise au Canada

Vue en direction ouest depuis Columbia jusqu’à Carrall sur la rue E. Pender, 1904, Vancouver (C.-B.) © Vancouver Public Library/Philip Timms VPL Accession #: 7234

Pour la semaine du lundi le 27 mai 2019.

Le 29 mai 1960, Bill Cunningham, journaliste à la CBC, rapporte que la police enquête sur des cas présumés d’introduction clandestine d’immigrants chinois à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. D’éminents Canadiens d’origine chinoise s’élèvent contre les descentes policières, notamment Jean Lumb, qui deviendra plus tard la première sino-canadienne à recevoir l’Ordre du Canada. « Cela jette la suspicion sur le people chinois », dit-elle. « Quel terrible gâchis ! Comment des gens pourraient-ils passer le reste de leur vie avec le mauvais nom de famille, en vivant dans la crainte d’être déportés? »

Le Canada a longtemps restreint l’immigration chinoise au pays. En vertu de l’Acte de l’immigration chinoise de 1885, le gouvernement fédéral imposait un droit d’entrée dissuasif qui empêchait en fait de nombreuses personnes d’origine chinoise d’être admises au Canada. Cette limitation stricte de l’immigration chinoise reflétait les préjugés anti-asiatiques persistants et profondément enracinés dans la société canadienne. Les préjugés en question trouvent leur expression ultérieurement dans une loi d’exclusion, la Loi de l’immigration chinoise de 1923. Cette loi est abrogée en 1947, mais l’immigration chinoise est encore restreinte. Étant donné les restrictions antérieures en matière d’immigration, peu de Canadiens d’origine chinoise répondent aux exigences relatives à la citoyenneté pour parrainer l’entrée de conjoints ou d’enfants au pays.

Beaucoup fuient le conflit avec le Japon dans les années 1930, la guerre civile en Chine à la fin des années 1940 ou le communisme chinois dans les années 1950. Pendant ce temps, de nombreux immigrants d’origine chinoise arrivent au Canada illégalement en adoptant de fausses identités qui les lient à des familles déjà présentes au pays, et c’est pourquoi on les appelle « fils sur papier ».

En 1960, Douglas Jung, ancien combattant de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et premier député sino-canadien, présente un projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire visant à accorder l’amnistie aux « fils sur papier. » Dans le cadre du programme de rectification de statut à l’intention des immigrants chinois, près de 12 000 de ces immigrants sont amnistiés entre 1960 et 1973.
Au cours de cette même période, de nouveaux règlements adoptés en 1962 et en 1967 éliminent également les dispositions explicitement racistes limitant l’immigration au Canada. La mise en place d’un « système de points », par exemple, rend les compétences plus importantes que la « race » ou l’origine nationale dans le processus de sélection des nouveaux arrivants.

Le quartier chinois de Vancouver et le quartier chinois de Victoria ont été désignés lieux historiques nationaux du Canada.La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) conseille le gouvernement du Canada sur la commémoration de lieux historiques nationaux qui peuvent inclure une variété de sites historiques tels que des jardins, des cimetières, des ensembles de bâtiments et des paysages culturels.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. Pour de plus amples informations sur le processus de présentation d’une demande de désignation, consultez la page suivante : https://www.pc.gc.ca/fr/culture/clmhc-hsmbc/ncp-pcn


Mai est le Mois du patrimoine asiatique. Apprenez-en davantage sur les histoires, les réalisations et les contributions des Canadiens d’origine asiatique en explorant des articles dans nos archives en ligne sur les « Fils sur papier » : l’immigration chinoise au Canada, SS Komagata Maru, la relocalisation forcée des Canadiens d’origine japonaise pendant et après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le temple Gur sikh d’Abbotsford, et The New Canadian: une voix pour les Canadiens d’origine japonaise.