The Right Honourable Lester Bowles Pearson

Printable version (PDF format - 216 Kb)

The Right Honourable Lester Bowles Pearson - Photograph of his grave site
Born on April 23, 1897, Newton Brook, Ontario
Died on December 27, 1972, Ottawa, Ontario
Buried at MacLaren Cemetery,
Wakefield, Quebec

© Heritage Recording Services

The Right Honourable Lester Bowles Pearson
© NAC C-117624

A career diplomat who had become a politician, "Mike" Pearson received the 1957 Nobel Peace Prize for helping to resolve the Suez Crisis. The United Nations Emergency Force he had proposed became the first of many worldwide peacekeeping assignments in which Canadian troops would serve. Soon after, Pearson became leader of the Liberal Party.

Born near Toronto, Pearson served in the First World War and taught history at the University of Toronto before launching the diplomatic career that led him into politics. Soon after he assumed the leadership of the Liberals in 1958, the party suffered one of its greatest electoral defeats. Pearson stayed on as opposition leader and led his party back to power in 1963.

Pearson never had a secure majority in Parliament, but he implemented important social programs, including the Canada and Quebec Pension Plans and universal health insurance. Pearson also introduced the maple leaf flag and new initiatives in French-English relations. Before retiring in 1968, he oversaw Canada's 1967 centennial celebrations.

Lester Pearson died in Ottawa in 1972 and was buried near Wakefield, Quebec, in the Gatineau hills.

Address of cemetery: Chemin MacLaren, Wakefield, QC


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Le très honorable Lester Bowles Pearson

Version imprimable (PDF - 241 ko)

Photographie du lieu de sépulture du très honorable Lester Bowles Pearson
Né le 23 avril 1897, Newton Brook (Ontario)
Décédé le 27 décembre 1972, Ottawa (Ontario)
Lieu de sépulture : cimetière MacLaren, Wakefield (Québec)

© Groupe de relevés

Le très honorable Lester Bowles Pearson
© ANC C-117624

Diplomate de carrière devenu homme politique, «Mike» Pearson reçut le prix Nobel de la paix en 1957 en reconnaissance du rôle qu’il joua dans la résolution de la crise de Suez. La Force d’urgence des Nations Unies, dont il a proposé la création, fut la première des nombreuses forces de maintien de l’ordre dans lesquelles les troupes canadiennes devaient servir. Peu après, Pearson devint chef du Parti libéral.

Né près de Toronto, Pearson participa à la Première Guerre mondiale et enseigna l’histoire à l’Université de Toronto avant d’amorcer la carrière diplomatique qui le mènerait à la politique. Peu après son élection à la tête du Parti libéral en 1958, son parti essuya l’une de ses plus cuisantes défaites électorales. Pearson demeura chef de l’opposition et ramena les libéraux au pouvoir en 1963.

Même si Pearson n’eut jamais de solide majorité au Parlement, il mit en œuvre d’importants programmes sociaux, y compris le Régime de pensions du Canada et le Régime des rentes du Québec, et l’assurance-maladie pour tous. Il fit adopter le drapeau unifolié et favorisa les relations entre francophones et anglophones. Pearson présida également aux célébrations du centenaire de la Confédération en 1967, avant de se retirer en 1968.

Lester Pearson décéda à Ottawa en 1972 et fut enterré à Wakefield (Québec), dans les collines de la Gatineau.

Adresse du cimetière : Chemin MacLaren, Wakefield, QC


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).