The Honourable Alexander Mackenzie

Printable version (PDF format - 424 Kb)

The Honourable Alexander Mackenzie - Photograph of his grave site
Born on January 28, 1822, near Dunkeld, Scotland
Died on April 17, 1892, Toronto, Ontario
Buried at Lakeview Cemetery, Sarnia, Ontario

© Heritage Recording Services

The Honourable Alexander Mackenzie
© NAC, PA-26308

An immigrant from Scotland who left school at thirteen, Alexander Mackenzie prospered as a stonemason and contractor in Sarnia, Ontario. A lifelong reformer, he believed thrift, hard work, and plain speaking were the keys to success, in politics and in life.

When the Pacific Scandal brought down John A. Macdonald's Con- servative government in 1873, Mackenzie formed Canada's first Liberal cabinet. His party won the general election that followed and he held the office of prime minister until 1878.

A tireless worker, Mackenzie strove to reform and simplify the machinery of government. He introduced the secret ballot, created the Supreme Court of Canada, and struggled with the challenges of the national railway. In the 1878 election, his party lost to Macdonald's resurgent Conservatives and their National Policy of tariff protection. Mackenzie soon resigned as leader of the opposition. True to his humble, hard-working ways, he declined all offers of a knighthood.

Alexander Mackenzie held his seat in the House of Commons until his death. He died in Toronto in 1892 and was buried in Sarnia.

Address of cemetery: 1016 Colborne Road, Sarnia, ON


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

L'Honorable Alexander Mackenzie

Version imprimable (PDF - 275 ko)

Photographie du lieu de sépulture de L'Honorable Alexander Mackenzie
Né le 28 janvier 1822, près de Dunkeld, Écosse
Décédé le 17 avril 1892, Toronto (Ontario) Lieu de sépulture : cimetière Lakeview, Sarnia (Ontario)

© Groupe de relevés

L'Honorable Alexander Mackenzie
© ANC, PA-26308

Immigrant venu d’Écosse qui a abandonné l’école à 13 ans, Alexander Mackenzie fut un maçon et un entrepreneur prospère à Sarnia (Ontario). Réformateur inlassable, il croyait à l’économie, au travail acharné et à la franchise qui étaient, selon lui, les clés du succès, en politique comme dans la vie.

Lorsque le Scandale du Pacifique défit le gouvernement conservateur de John A. Macdonald en 1873, Mackenzie forma le premier cabinet libéral du Canada. Il remporta les élections générales qui suivirent et fut premier ministre jusqu’en 1878.

Travailleur infatigable, Mackenzie s’efforça de réformer et de simplifier l’appareil gouvernemental. Il introd- uisit le scrutin secret, créa la Cour suprême du Canada et favorisa la construction du chemin de fer national. Son parti perdit l’élection de 1878 au profit des conservateurs de Macdonald, qui connaissaient un regain, et de leur politique nationale de protection douanière. Mackenzie ne tarda pas à démissionner de son poste de chef de l’opposition. Fidèle à ses principes d’humilité et de travail acharné, il refusa tous les titres de chevalier qu’on lui proposa.

Alexander Mackenzie conserva son siège de député à la Chambre des communes jusqu’à sa mort. Il s’éteignit à Toronto en 1892 et fut inhumé à Sarnia.

Adresse du cimetière : 1016 Colborne Road, Sarnia, ON


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).