The Right Honourable Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Printable version (PDF, 222 Kb)

The Right Honourable Sir Wilfrid Laurier - Photograph of his grave site Born on November 20, 1841, Saint-Lin, Quebec
Died on February 17, 1919, Ottawa, Ontario
Buried at Notre Dame Cemetery, Ottawa, Ontario

© Heritage Recording Services
The Right Honourable Sir Wilfred Laurier

One of Canada's great leaders and the first franco- phone prime minister, Sir Wilfrid Laurier believed passionately in Canada as an English-French partnership. "I have had before me as a pillar of fire," he said, "a policy of true Canadianism, of moderation, of reconciliation."

Always distinguished by his debonair charm and intellect, Laurier was first elected to the House of Com- mons in 1874. There, Laurier gradually built up the strength of the Liberal Party and his personal following in Quebec and elsewhere in Canada. He led the Liberals to victory in the 1896 election, and served as prime minister until 1911.

Laurier led Canada in a period of rapid growth, industrialization, and immigration. His government established the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan in 1905. Throughout his career, he faced repeated challenges to his vision of Canada, but he said he preferred "sunny ways" over stormy conflicts.

Sir Wilfrid Laurier died, still leader of the opposition, in 1919 and was buried in Ottawa.

Address of cemetery: 455 Montreal Road, Ottawa, ON

Le très honorable Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Version imprimable (PDF, 249 ko)

Photographie du lieu de sépulture de L'Honorable Sir Wilfrid Laurier Né le 20 novembre 1841 à Saint-Lin (Québec)
Décédé le 17 février 1919 à Ottawa (Ontario)
Lieu de sépulture : cimetière Notre-Dame, Ottawa (Ontario)

© Groupe de relevés
L'Honorable Sir Wilfrid Laurier

L'un des grands premiers ministres du Canada et le premier francophone à occuper le poste, Wilfrid Laurier croyait passionnément en un partenariat anglophone-francophone pour le Canada. « J'ai eu devant moi comme une colonne de feu, disait-il, une politique de véritable canadianisme, de modération, de réconciliation ».

Se démarquant par son charme débonnaire et son intelligence, Laurier fut d'abord élu à la Chambre des communes en 1874. Il consolida graduellement les assises de son parti et s'entoura de partisans au Québec et ailleurs au Canada. Il conduisit le Parti libéral à la victoire en 1896 et demeura premier ministre jusqu'en 1911.

Laurier dirigea le Canada à une époque de croissance rapide, d'industrialisation et d'immigration. Son gouvernement créa l'Alberta et la Saskatchewan en 1905. Au cours de sa carrière, sa vision du Canada fut souvent remise en question, mais il affirmait préférer les solutions harmonieuses aux conflits orageux.

Sir Wilfrid Laurier était chef de l'opposition losqu'il mourut en 1919. Il est enterré à Ottawa.

Adresse du cimetière : 455 Montreal Road, Ottawa, ON