Over the course of the past 100 years, the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) has recommended more than 2,200 designations of national historic significance. The Board recognizes the enormous shifts in historical understanding that have occurred over the past century and acknowledges that it needs to be attentive to these shifts. The HSMBC and Parks Canada are working to address questions raised about existing designations and plaque texts.

The Framework for History and Commemoration outlines the HSMBC’s approach for the careful review of existing national historic designations. A review is generally triggered for one of the following reasons - outdated language or terminology, absence of a significant layer of history, factual errors, controversial beliefs and behaviours, or significant new knowledge or scholarship. A review could result in revisions to the reasons for designation of national historic significance, as well as revisions to the plaque text.

Here are some examples of designations and plaques that have been reviewed.

  • The Rideau Canal National Historic Site of Canada was originally designated as an engineering achievement. Following a public request, new knowledge provided the foundation for including the contributions of different groups of labourers who built the canal.
  • Parks Canada worked with the local First Nation to modify the name and the reasons for national significance of the fur trade post Obadjiwan-Fort-Témiscamingue National Historic Site of Canada. The revised reasons include the role of Indigenous Peoples in the fur trade and their long history at this place before Europeans arrived.
  • The designation of Georges Island National Historic Site of Canada was originally focused on its role as a naval base in the British Empire. The reasons for national historic significance of this island in Halifax Harbour have been expanded to recognise it as a centre for the detention and deportation of Acadians in 1755.
  • The local Métis community requested an addition to the plaque text for Catherine Beaulieu Bouvier Lamoureux National Historic Person, to include her role in the establishment of the Métis Community of Fort Providence amongst her other accomplishments.

These examples show how a designation can evolve to reflect new knowledge and current public understanding of the historical person, place or event.

Request a review

To request a review of a designation, members of the public can contact Parks Canada’s Secretariat for the HSMBC at pc.clmhc-hsmbc.pc@canada.ca. Please identify the HSMBC designation or plaque in which you are interested and provide a brief description of your concerns. While Parks Canada’s goal is to complete this work as quickly possible, these reviews are undertaken as time and resources permit.

Designations which are currently being processed for review are identified on the Directory of Federal Heritage Designations.

Au cours des 100 dernières années, la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) a recommandé plus de 2 200 désignations d’importance historique nationale. La Commission est consciente des énormes changements qui sont survenus dans la compréhension de l’histoire au cours du dernier siècle et sait qu’elle doit être attentive à ces changements. La CLMHC et Parcs Canada travaillent à répondre aux questions soulevées sur les désignations et les textes de plaque actuels.

Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration énonce la démarche prise par la CLMHC pour mener des revues approfondies de désignations historiques nationales existantes. Les revues ont généralement lieu pour l’une des raisons suivantes : formulation ou termes désuets, absence d’une couche importante de l’histoire, erreurs factuelles, croyances et comportements controversés ou acquisition de nouvelles connaissances. À la suite d’une revue, des modifications peuvent être apportées à l’énoncé d’importance d’une désignation et au texte d’une plaque.

Voici quelques exemples de désignations et de plaques qui ont été examinées.

  • Le lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau a été désigné à l’origine comme une réalisation technique. À la suite d'une demande du public, de nouvelles connaissances ont permis d’inclure les contributions des différents groupes de travailleurs qui ont construit le canal.
  • Parcs Canada a travaillé avec la Première nation locale pour modifier le nom et les raisons de l’importance nationale du poste de traite des fourrures, le lieu historique national du Canada d’Obadjiwan-Fort-Témiscamingue. Les raisons révisées comprennent le rôle des peuples autochtones dans le commerce de la fourrure et leur longue histoire à cet endroit avant l’arrivée des Européens.
  • La désignation du lieu historique national du Canada de l’Île-Georges était à l'origine centrée sur son rôle de base navale dans l’Empire britannique. Les raisons de l’importance historique nationale de cette île du port d’Halifax ont été élargies pour reconnaître qu’elle a servi de centre de détention et de déportation des Acadiens en 1755.
  • La communauté métisse locale a demandé un ajout au texte de la plaque de Catherine Beaulieu Bouvier Lamoureux, personnage historique national, afin d’inclure son rôle dans la création de la communauté métisse de Fort Providence parmi ses autres réalisations.

Demander une revue

Pour demander la revue d’une désignation, les membres du public peuvent communiquer avec le Secrétariat pour la CLMHC de Parcs Canada à pc.clmhc-hsmbc.pc@canada.ca. Veuillez dire de quelle désignation ou plaque de la CLMHC il est question et décrire brièvement vos inquiétudes. Bien que l’objectif de Parcs Canada soit de réaliser ce travail le plus rapidement possible, les revues sont lancées selon le temps et les ressources dont nous disposons.

Les désignations qui font actuellement l’objet d’une revue sont indiquées dans l’Annuaire des désignations patrimoniales fédérales.