Bronze commemorative plaque
Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada trilingual commemorative plaque for the Winnipeg Falcons Hockey Club National Historic Event: English, French and Icelandic

The Winnipeg Falcons Hockey Club was designated as a national historic event in 2019.

Historical importance: Hockey team made almost entirely of Icelandic-Canadian players who won the Allan Cup and the first Olympic gold medal for hockey in 1920.

Commemorative plaque: in front of the First Lutheran Church, 580 Victor Street, WinnipegFootnote 1

English plaque inscription

The Winnipeg Falcons Hockey Club, founded through the merger of two Icelandic Canadian teams in 1909, rose from a community organization in the West End to become Canadian and Olympic champions. In 1920, the Falcons won the Allan Cup after beating a strong University of Toronto team in Canada’s senior amateur championship. That same year, they represented Canada in Antwerp, Belgium, where they won the first Olympic gold medal for hockey. The skill and sportsmanship of the Icelandic Canadians who dominated this club, named for Iceland’s national bird, have been a source of pride for people of Icelandic descent across the country.

Icelandic plaque inscription

Ísknattleiksfélagið Winnipeg Falcons, sameining tveggja íþróttaliða Vestur-Íslendinga,var stofnað árið 1909. Nafn liðsins skírskotar til þjóðfugls Íslands og þrátt fyrir einfalda byrjun í West End Winnipegborgar urðu leikmennirnir Kanada- og Ólympíumeistarar. Árið 1920 hlutu Fálkarnir Allan-bikarinn og áhugamannameistaratitil Kanada með því að sigra sterkt lið Toronto-háskóla. Sama ár fóru þeir til Antwerpen í Belgíu fyrir hönd Kanada, þar sem þeir unnu fyrstu Ólympíugullverðlaunin í ísknattleik. Snilld og íþróttamennska vestur-íslensku leikmannanna, sem voru í meirihluta í liðinu, hafa verið stolt fólks af íslenskum ættum um allt land.

 

Group of hockey players posing for the photo on ice
The Falcons of Winnipeg, Amateurs champions of Canada, Winners of the World's Hockey Championship, VII Olympiade Antwerp, 26th of April 1920. From left to right: Gordon Sigurjonsson, trainer; Frank Fredrickson, captain, center; Billy Hewitt, Canadian Olympic Representative; Konnie Johannesson, right defence; Mike Goodman, left wing; Huck Woodman, substitute; Bobby Benson, left defence; Chris Fridfinnson, rover; Bill Fridfinnson, secretary.
© Glen and Brian Johannesson, taken from https://www.winnipegfalcons.com/ 

The Winnipeg Falcons Hockey Club

The Winnipeg Falcons Hockey Club was formed in 1909 through the merger of two Icelandic-Canadian teams—the Icelandic Athletic Club and the Vikings—and named after Iceland’s national bird. The Falcons’ skill, speed, and sportsmanship provided a focus for Icelandic-Canadian pride and identity in the years before and after the First World War. They won Canada’s senior amateur championship, the Allan Cup, in 1920, beating a strong University of Toronto squad. That same year, they represented Canada at the Olympics in Antwerp, Belgium, winning the first Olympic gold medal in hockey.

 

Members of the Falcons en route to Antwerp, pictured with one of the ship’s officers. The lady may be Mrs. Hewitt, who accompanied the team as a chaperon.
© Konnie Johannesson/Library and Archives Canada/PA-111330

 

The Falcons played their inaugural season in the intermediate Manitoba Independent League, alongside the Monarchs, the Winnipegs, Kenora, and Brandon. The Falcons and Monarchs finished tied for first that season, but when they both applied to enter the city senior league, only the Monarchs were accepted. The Falcons persevered in various formations of the Independent League, and were finally admitted to the senior league’s second tier after a particularly strong showing in the 1914/15 Allan Cup playoffs. By this time, however, the First World War was raging in Europe, and in 1916 the entire Falcons lineup enlisted. Most of them joined the 223rd Battalion, CEF. Six of the players saw active duty and two were killed.

After demobilization, the Falcons reformed. They were again denied entry to Winnipeg’s senior league and ended up forming a new league with Selkirk and Brandon. The champions of the two leagues met in the Allan Cup playoffs in 1920, and the Falcons proved their quality by defeating the Winnipegs 5-0 and 10-1. They beat the Fort William Maple Leafs 7-2 and 9-1 to win the Western Hockey Championship. Finally, the Falcons met the University of Toronto (‘Varsity’) in the Allan Cup final, and won the Canadian amateur championship over two hard-fought games, winning 8-3 and 3-2.

 

Person doing a presentation in front of a screen
Terrie Dionne (Parks Canada) during the HSMBC plaque unveiling ceremony at the Sports Manitoba Centre in Winnipeg, Manitoba, on April 26th, 2022.
Sitted crowd attending an event
HSMBC plaque unveiling ceremony at the Sports Manitoba Centre in Winnipeg, Manitoba, on April 26th, 2022.
Four persons presenting a commemorative plaque
Left to right: Jim Busby, Colonel Dave Grebstad, Cathie Eliasson, Mayor Brian Bowman.

 

The Canadian Olympic Committee had already decided that the winner of the Allan Cup would represent Canada at the 1920 Olympics in Antwerp, Belgium. These were the summer games (the first Winter Olympics were not held until 1924), so the hockey competition had to be held early to take advantage of the natural ice. They swept to the gold medal, defeating Czechoslovakia 15-0, the United States 2-0, and Sweden 12-1 in the final. The Falcons returned home to wild applause in Parliament, in the media, and in the streets of their home town of Winnipeg. They had also attracted the attention of talent scouts, and three key players soon left to play professional hockey elsewhere.

The future still looked bright, as the Falcons’ junior team won the Memorial Cup, Canada’s junior hockey championship, in 1921. The senior team won the Manitoba Senior Championship again in 1923, but for the 1923/24 season, they amalgamated with the Winnipeg Tigers to form the Falcon-Tigers. The Falcon Athletic Association resumed activities in 1928 and the Falcons Hockey Club was revived in 1932, but finally merged with the Rangers in 1938.

Backgrounder last update: 2022-04-12

 

Related information about this designation:

More information on the commemorative plaque unveiling ceremony:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Plaque commémorative en bronze
Plaque commémorative trilingue de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) pour l'Événement historique national du Club de hockey des Falcons de Winnipeg : anglais, français et islandais

Le club de hockey des Falcons de Winnipeg a été désigné événement historique national en 2019.

Importance historique : Club de hockey composé principalement de joueurs canado-islandais qui a gagné en 1920 la coupe Allan et la première médaille d'or olympique en hockey.

Plaque commémorative : devant la Première église luthérienne, 580 rue Victor, WinnipegFootnote 1

Inscription de plaque en français

Les Falcons de Winnipeg, club de hockey communautaire des quartiers ouest créé en 1909 par la fusion de deux équipes canado-islandaises, allaient devenir champions canadiens puis olympiques. En 1920, ils défont la puissante équipe de l’Université de Toronto au championnat amateur senior du Canada et remportent la coupe Allan. Représentant le Canada à Anvers en Belgique la même année, ils décrochent la première médaille d’or olympique au hockey. Le talent et l’esprit sportif des Canado-Islandais, majoritaires dans le club nommé d’après l’oiseau national de l’Islande, suscitent la fierté des gens d’ascendance islandaise partout au pays.

Inscription de plaque en islandais

Ísknattleiksfélagið Winnipeg Falcons, sameining tveggja íþróttaliða Vestur-Íslendinga,var stofnað árið 1909. Nafn liðsins skírskotar til þjóðfugls Íslands og þrátt fyrir einfalda byrjun í West End Winnipegborgar urðu leikmennirnir Kanada- og Ólympíumeistarar. Árið 1920 hlutu Fálkarnir Allan-bikarinn og áhugamannameistaratitil Kanada með því að sigra sterkt lið Toronto-háskóla. Sama ár fóru þeir til Antwerpen í Belgíu fyrir hönd Kanada, þar sem þeir unnu fyrstu Ólympíugullverðlaunin í ísknattleik. Snilld og íþróttamennska vestur-íslensku leikmannanna, sem voru í meirihluta í liðinu, hafa verið stolt fólks af íslenskum ættum um allt land.

 

Groupe de joueurs de hockey sur la glace posant pour la photo
Les Falcons de Winnipeg, champions amateurs du Canada, vainqueurs du Championnat du monde de hockey, VIIe Olympiade Anvers, 26 avril 1920. De Gauche a droite: Gordon Sigurjonsson, entraîneur ; Frank Fredrickson, capitaine, centre ; Billy Hewitt, représentant olympique canadien; Konnie Johannesson, défense droite; Mike Goodman, ailier gauche; Huck Woodman, remplaçant; Bobby Benson, défenseur gauche; Chris Fridfinnson, vagabond; Bill Fridfinnson, secrétaire.
© Glen et Brian Johannesson, image de https://www.winnipegfalcons.com/ 

Le club de hockey des Falcons de Winnipeg

Le club de hockey des Falcons est formé en 1909 avec la fusion de deux équipes islandaises canadiennes – l’Icelandic Athletic Club et les Vikings – son nom s’inspirant de l’oiseau national de l’Islande. L’habileté, la rapidité et l’esprit sportif des joueurs des Falcons suscitent la fierté des Canadiens d’origine islandaise et renforcent leur sentiment d’identité au cours des années qui précèdent et suivent la Première Guerre mondiale. En remportant le championnat amateur senior canadien, la coupe Allan, en 1920 contre une équipe puissante de l’Université de Toronto, les Falcons se qualifient pour représenter le Canada aux Jeux olympiques d’Anvers, en Belgique, la même année et remportent la première médaille d’or olympique en hockey.

 

Membres de l’équipe des Falcons en route vers Antwerp, avec un des officiers du bateau. La dame qui les accompagne est probablement madame Hewitt qui accompagnait l’équipe.
© Konnie Johannesson/Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/PA-111330

 

L’équipe joue sa première saison au niveau intermédiaire de la Manitoba Independent League en compagnie des Monarchs, des Winnipegs, de Kenora et de Brandon. Les Falcons et les Monarchs terminent la saison ex aequo au premier rang, mais lorsqu’ils demandent tous les deux à passer au niveau senior, seuls les Monarchs sont acceptés. Les Falcons continuent d’évoluer dans différentes formations de l’Independent League avant d’être enfin acceptés au sein du deuxième niveau de la ligue senior après une performance exceptionnelle lors des séries éliminatoires de la coupe Allan en 1914-1915. La Première Guerre mondiale fait alors ravage en Europe et, en 1916, tous les membres de l’équipe s’engagent dans les forces militaires. La plupart d’entre eux s’enrôlent dans le 223e Bataillon, CEC. Six des joueurs servent activement et deux d’entre eux perdent la vie.

Après la démobilisation, l’équipe des Falcons est reconstituée. Pourtant, leur admission à la ligue senior de Winnipeg est à nouveau refusée et ils doivent se joindre à une nouvelle ligue en compagnie de Selkirk et de Brandon. Les champions de ces deux ligues s’affrontent lors des séries éliminatoires de la coupe Allan en 1920 et les Falcons prouvent leur qualité en s’imposant devant les Winnipegs par des scores de 5-0 et de 10-1. Ils jouent ensuite contre les Maple Leafs de Fort William et s’imposent par des pointages de 7-2 et de 9-1 et sont sacrés champions de la ligue de hockey de l’Ouest. Enfin, les Falcons disputent la finale de la coupe Allan contre l’équipe de l’Université de Toronto (« Varsity ») et remportent le championnat amateur canadien après deux matchs chaudement disputés de 8-3 et de 3-2.

 

Un personne faisant une présentation devant un écran
Terrie Dionne (Parcs Canada) à la cérémonie de dévoilement de la plaque commémorative de la CLMHC au Sports Manitoba Centre à Winnipeg, Manitoba, le 26 avril 2022.
Un groupe de personnes assises assiste à un événement
Cérémonie de dévoilement de la plaque commémorative de la CLMHC au Sports Manitoba Centre à Winnipeg, Manitoba, le 26 avril 2022.
Quatre personnes présentent une plaque commémorative
Gauche à droite: Jim Busby, Colonel Dave Grebstad, Cathie Eliasson, Maire Brian Bowman.

 

Le Comité olympique canadien avait déjà décidé que le gagnant de la coupe Allan allait représenter le Canada aux Jeux olympiques de 1920 à Anvers, en Belgique. Comme il s’agissait des jeux d’été (les premiers Jeux olympiques d’hiver n’ont eu lieu qu’en 1924), les matchs de hockey devaient être disputés tôt pour profiter de la glace naturelle. Après des victoires de 15-0 contre la Tchécoslovaquie, de 2-0 contre les États-Unis, et de 12-1 contre la Suède lors de la finale, ils remportent la médaille d’or. Les joueurs des Falcons sont accueillis au pays par des éloges et des applaudissements au Parlement, dans les médias et dans les rues de leur ville natale, Winnipeg. Ils attirent aussi l’attention de dépisteurs de talents et trois des principaux joueurs quittent l’équipe peu après pour jouer ailleurs dans une équipe professionnelle.

L’avenir demeure prometteur, puisque l’équipe junior des Falcons remporte la coupe Memorial du championnat de hockey junior du Canada en 1921. L’équipe senior remporte le championnat senior du Manitoba en 1923, puis s’est fusionnée aux Winnipeg Tigers pour former une nouvelle équipe pour la saison 1923-1924, les Falcon-Tigers. La Falcon Athletic Association a repris ses activités en 1928 et le Falcons Hockey Club a été reconstitué en 1932 pour ensuite être fusionné aux Rangers en 1938.

Dernière mise à jour de ce document d'information : 2022-04-12

 

Informations liées à cette désignation :

Plus d'informations sur la cérémonie de dévoilement de la plaque commémorative :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus