The Wasyl Negrych Pioneer Homestead was designated a national historic site in 1997.

Commemorative plaque: Negrych Road, Gilbert Plains, Manitoba Footnote 1

This homestead is one of the earliest and best preserved examples of a Ukrainian farm in Canada. Wasyl and Anna Negrych immigrated with their children, and along with many of their compatriots, settled in the Dauphin area. Between 1897 and 1910, the Negrych family constructed these rustic log buildings using local materials. Notable features such as long roof shingles, a traditional bake oven, and homemade hardware illustrate Ukrainian craftsmanship. The farm illustrates the resourcefulness of these immigrants as they adapted to life on the Canadian prairies.

 

Picture of a historic wooden building
Corner view, date unknown 
Picture of a historic wooden building
Bunkhouse, Wasyl Negych homestead, date unknown

 Description of historic place

Wasyl Negrych Homestead National Historic Site of Canada is believed to be one of the most complete and best-preserved example of an early Ukrainian farmstead in Canada . It is located near the town of Dauphin, Manitoba. Situated in a sheltered valley, the site consists of ten log buildings with fields and orchards situated on either side of an early colonization road. Its ten buildings illustrate rare features such as a long-shingled Carpathian roof and a fully preserved peech, the massive log and clay cookstove that was once the heart of every Ukrainian home.

Historic image of a plaque unveiling
Canada’s National Ukrainian Festival Choir performing at the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada ceremony to commemorate the Wasyl Negrych Pioneer Homestead as a National Historic Site.
Historic image of a plaque unveiling
Ed Ledohowski, William Neville, Jerry Petryshyn and Father Nicholas at the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada ceremony to commemorate the Wasyl Negrych Pioneer Homestead as a National Historic Site.

 Heritage value

Wasyl Negrych Homestead was designated a National Historic Site in 1996 because:

  • dating to the beginnings of the Dauphin Block Ukrainian Settlement, it is believed to be the earliest, best preserved example of a Ukranian pioneer farm in Canada
  • and the house, its centre piece, is the oldest known Ukrainian dwelling in the country still on its original site.
Picture of a historic wooden building
The Negrych House, date unknown
Aerial photograph of a historic wooden village
Aerial view, date unknown

 

The heritage value Wasyl Negrych Homestead lies in the integrity of its cultural landscape as an expression of the settlement experience of Ukranian immigrants. Its value is illustrated by the landscape and functional disposition of the site, its setting, and the nature and composition of the early structures it contains. Wasyl Negrych Homestead was built by the family of Wasyl and Anna Negrych between 1897 and 1910, just after they immigrated to Canada and were assigned their land in the Dauphin Block Settlement. The homestead contains 10 rustic log buildings, eight of which date from this initial period of construction including the house, a bunkhouse and bake-ovens. Built of local materials, these structures reflect skills and ideas brought from Negrych family’s native Ukraine. This farm, with its well-preserved landscape, now functions as a heritage site interpreting the settlement experience of Ukrainian immigrants.

Source: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, Nov. 1996, Dec. 2002.

 

Related information about this designation:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Le Homestead-de-Wasyl Negrych a été désigné Lieu historique national en 1997.

Plaque commémorative : chemin Negrych, Gilbert Plains, Manitoba Footnote 1

Ce homestead est l'un des plus anciens et des mieux préservés parmi les fermes de pionniers ukrainiens au Canada. Wasyl et Anna Negrych ont immigré avec leurs enfants et se sont établis dans les environs de Dauphin avec d'autres compatriotes. Entre 1897 et 1910, la famille Negrych a construit ces bâtiments rustiques à l'aide de matériaux locaux. Les toits de longs bardeaux, le four à pain et la quincaillerie artisanale témoignent des traditions ukrainiennes. Cette ferme illustre l'admirable adaptation de ces gens aux conditions de leur nouvelle patrie.

 

Photo d'un bâtiment historique en bois
Vue en angle, date inconnue
Photo d'un bâtiment historique en bois
Dortoir, Homestead de Wasyl Negrych, date inconnue

 Description du lieu patrimonial

On pense que le Lieu historique national du Canada du Homestead de Wasyl Negrych est un des exemples les plus complets et les mieux préservés d'ancienne propriété familiale ukrainienne au Canada. Il est situé près de la ville de Dauphin, au Manitoba. Ce site, niché dans une vallée abritée, se compose de dix bâtiments en billots de bois, entourés de champs et de vergers disposés des deux côtés d'une ancienne route de colonisation. Ses dix édifices présentent des caractéristiques rares, comme un toit à longs bardeaux du style des Carpates et un «peech» complètement préservé, qui est le massif four en bois et en argile qui formait autrefois le cœur de toutes les maisons ukrainiennes.

 

Image historique du dévoilement d'une plaque
La chorale du Festival national ukrainien du Canada se produit à la cérémonie de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada pour commémorer la propriété des pionniers Wasyl Negrych en tant que lieu historique national.
Image historique du dévoilement d'une plaque
Ed Ledohowski, William Neville, Jerry Petryshyn et le père Nicholas à la cérémonie de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada pour commémorer la propriété des pionniers Wasyl Negrych en tant que lieu historique national.

 Valeur patrimoniale

Le Homestead de Wasyl Negrych a été désigné lieu historique national en 1966 car :

  • il remonte aux débuts de l'établissement par îlots des Ukrainiens de Dauphin, si bien qu'on pense qu'il s'agit de l'exemple le plus ancien et le mieux préservé de ferme pionnière ukrainienne au Canada;
  • et la maison, son élément central, est le plus ancien logement ukrainien connu du pays à être encore sur son emplacement d'origine.

 

Photo d'un bâtiment historique en bois
La maison Negrych, date inconnue
Photographie aérienne d'un village historique en bois
Vue aérienne, date inconnue

 

La valeur patrimoniale du Homestead de Wasyl Negrych a trait à l'intégrité de son paysage culturel exprimant l'expérience qu'ont vécue les colons ukrainiens immigrants. Cette valeur s'exprime dans le paysage et la disposition fonctionnelle du site, son emplacement, ainsi que la nature et la composition des anciennes structures qu'il contient. La famille de Wasyl et Anna Negrych a construit cette propriété de 1897 à 1910, peu après son arrivée au Canada, lorsqu'on lui a attribué sa terre dans l'établissement par îlots de Dauphin. La propriété contient dix bâtiments rustiques en billots, dont huit datent de la période initiale de construction, y compris la maison, une baraque et des fours à cuire les aliments. Ces ouvrages, en matériaux locaux, sont représentatifs des traditions ukrainiennes de la famille Negrych. Cette ferme, et son paysage bien préservé, constituent maintenant un site patrimonial où on interprète l'expérience de colonisation des immigrants ukrainiens.

Source: Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbaux, novembre 1996 et décembre 2002.

 

Informations liées à cette désignation :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus