Picture of a historic commemorative plaque
Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada commemorative plaque for University College National Historic Site, Toronto Ontario, 2004. 

University College was designated a national historic site in 1968.

Commemorative plaque: 15 King's College Circle, Toronto, Ontario Footnote 1

The building of University College in 1856-59 largely assured the future of the University of Toronto and drew it, in time, into a federal pattern, which was widely followed in Canada and the Commonwealth. Here was realized a major nineteenth century aspiration: The establishment of a non-denominational institution of higher learning supported by government. The building was designed by F. W. Cumberland and demonstrates his skill in freely adapting the Romanesque style to the purposes of a college in the New World.

Description of historic place

University College National Historic Site of Canada is a large, mid-19th-century college building situated on the St. George campus of the University of Toronto. Its prominent location at the top of the central campus green illustrates its important role in the history and life of the institution. An impressive Romanesque-revival styled pile, it is a large structure with a towered south-facing façade, two wings extending north and a medieval-inspired round building originally intended as a chemistry theatre. Together the components enclose a traditional campus quadrangle. Official recognition refers to the building on its legal lot.

 

Picture of a large historic building
University College campus in Toronto Ontario, 2004. 
Photo of a large historic building
University College campus in Toronto Ontario, 2004. 

Heritage value

Photo of an archway detail taken from a historic building
Detail of an archway at University College National Historic Site. 

University College was designated a national historic site of Canada in 1968 because:

  • it is one of the oldest collegiate buildings in Canada;
  • and, it assured the future of the University of Toronto and drew it, in time, into a federal pattern, which was widely followed in Canada and the Commonwealth.

The University College National Historic Site of Canada, built between 1856 and 1859, is associated with both the development of the University of Toronto, and with a national system of non-denominational institutions of higher learning supported by government. The building originally was designed by architect F.W. Cumberland, demonstrating his skill in freely adapting the Romanesque-revival style to the purposes of a North American educational institution. In 1890 a fire occurred, largely destroying the eastern end of the building. The exterior walls remained standing and reconstruction under architect David Dick was completed in the style of the original building.

Sources: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, June 1968 and 1970.

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Image d'une plaque commémorative historique
Plaque commémorative de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada pour le lieu historique national du University College, Toronto Ontario, 2004.

University College a été désigné lieu historique national en 1968.

Plaque commémorative : 15 cercle Kings College, Toronto, Ontario Footnote 1

L'édification de University College entre 1856 et 1859 a pour une large part assuré l'avenir de l'Université de Toronto permettant de l'organiser en une fédération de collèges, système imité par la suite en plus d'un point du Canada et de tout le Commonwealth. Ici siest réalisée l'une des aspirations essentielles du dix-neuvième siècle: la création d'un établissement laïque d'enseignement supérieur subventionné par l'Etat. Les bâtiments conçus par F.W. Cumberland, témoignent de l'art avec lequel l'architecte, a su librement adapter le style roman aux exigences de l'université dans le Nouveau Monde.

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada University College est un vaste bâtiment du milieu du 19e siècle, situé sur le campus St. George de l’Université de Toronto. Son emplacement bien en vue sur le point le plus élevé de la pelouse centrale du campus témoigne du rôle important que l’édifice a joué dans l’histoire et la vie de l’institution. De style néo-roman, cette vaste structure comprend une façade orientée sud avec les tours, deux ailes au nord et un bâtiment rond d’inspiration médiévale qui était à l’origine un amphithéâtre de chimie. Les éléments réunis encadrent un campus quadrangulaire traditionnel. La reconnaissance officielle désigne le bâtiment sur son lotissement légal.

 

Image d'un grand bâtiment historique
Campus University College à Toronto, Ontario, 2004. 
Image d'un grand bâtiment historique
Campus University College à Toronto, Ontario, 2004. 

Haleur patrimoniale

Photo d'un détail d'arche prise dans un bâtiment historique
Détail d'une arche au lieu historique national de University College.

University College a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada en 1968, car :

  • c’est l’un des plus anciens édifices universitaires au Canada;
  • et, il a assuré l’avenir de l’Université de Toronto et l’a entraînée, le moment venu, dans un modèle fédéral, largement suivi au Canada et dans les pays du Commonwealth.

Construit entre 1856 et 1859, lieu historique national du Canada University College est lié à la fois à l’évolution de l’Université de Toronto et à un système national d’établissements d’enseignement supérieur laïques subventionnés par le gouvernement. Les plans du bâtiment d’origine, réalisés par F.W. Cumberland, témoignent du talent de cet architecte pour adapter librement le style néo-roman aux besoins d’un établissement d’enseignement nord-américain. En 1890, un incendie a détruit en grande partie l’extrémité est du bâtiment. Les murs extérieurs sont demeurés debout et la reconstruction a été effectuée dans le même style que le bâtiment d’origine, sous la direction de l’architecte David Dick.

Source : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, juin 1968, 1970.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus