Aerial view of coastal village
Kite Aerial Photography on Tilting, Fogo Island, May 2016
© Pierre Lesage, taken from https://flic.kr/p/HEVHdp, some rights reserved

Tilting landscape was designated a national historic site in 2003.

Commemorative plaque: Tilting, Newfoundland and Labrador Footnote 1

Irish settlers began to shape this landscape from about the 1730s, building houses and fishing rooms around the harbour to support the inshore fishery. Influenced by the inheritance customs of their homeland, Tilting's residents subdivided the original land lots, developing clusters of extended family neighbourhoods. They also adapted the Irish tradition of keeping gardens, with those near the home more intensively cultivated and those farther away used mainly for hay or crops for winter storage. Like other Newfoundlanders, they enclosed their fields with wooden fences and pastured livestock on the open commons. Many of Tilting's landscape components, including the harbour, the extensive gardens near Sandy Cove and Oliver's Cove, and the summer and winter paths, are used in much the same way today as in the past. While continuing to evolve, this community retains an unusually complete range of vernacular building types, and the arrangements and interrelationships of traditional buildings and spaces have largely been maintained. Still inhabited by descendants of its early families, Tilting survives as a rare example of a once common Irish- Newfoundland cultural landscape.

 

Aerial view of coastal village
Kite aerial photography of Joe Batt's Arm community, Fogo Island, May 2016
© Pierre Lesage, taken from https://flic.kr/p/HvG3E2, some rights reserved

 

Description of historic place

Tilting National Historic Site of Canada is an outport landscape created by a coastal fishing community on the east coast of Fogo Island in Notre Dame Bay on Newfoundland’s northeast coast. The site includes small wooden vernacular dwellings and outbuildings as well as more modern structures scattered on the rocky island landscape, surrounded by gardens, pathways, the shoreline and the harbour. It is a continuing cultural landscape that encompasses natural, built and living places that together depict traditional outport life. The designation refers to the cultural landscape with its buildings and structures, including Pigeon Island and Tilting Harbour.

Heritage value

Tilting was designated a national historic site of Canada in 2002 because:

  • it possesses a landscape illustrating adaptations of Irish settlement patterns, both in its family neighbourhood clusters around the harbour and its remarkable fenced gardens;
  • it is a rare surviving example of a Newfoundland outport where the use of its landscape components has been very largely maintained from at least the mid-18th century, when its Irish settlers first began to shape them;
  • it is a rare example of an outport that retains both a virtually complete range of traditional buildings and spaces associated with Newfoundland’s inshore fishery, and their traditional interrelationships.

 

Coastal village during winter
Tilting from Tilting Harbour, March 2017
© Paul Asman and Jill Lenoble, taken from https://flic.kr/p/TGQiMV, some rights reserved
General view of coastal village
General view of Tilting
© Parks Canada / Rhona Goodspeed, 2001

 

An outport community that began to take shape in the 1730s, Tilting is a small community whose residents have long been dependent upon animal husbandry, farming and fishing. The designated site comprises landscape, shoreline, harbour, ponds, small island, one summer trail and portions of two others, portions of slide paths, three cemeteries, gardens, fences, buildings including a church, parish hall, former school, post office, two stores, houses, and a range of outbuildings including fishing buildings, stables, barns, one milk shed, haysheds and root cellars.

The heritage value of Tilting resides in the ability of the cultural landscape to illustrate the outport way of life. Value lies in the nature, diversity and range of the individual resources within its cultural landscape, their complex interrelationships, and the clarity with which their composition, forms and settings reflect the community’s Irish roots and on-going evolution.

Source: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, December 2002.

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Vue aérienne d'un village maritime
Photographie aérienne en cerf-volant sur Tilting, île de Fogo, mai 2016
© Pierre Lesage, extrait de https://flic.kr/p/HEVHdp, certains droits réservés

Le paysage de Tilting a été désigné lieu historique national en 2003.

Plaque commémorative : Tilting, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador Footnote 1

Des colons irlandais commencèrent à façonner le paysage de Tilting à partir des années 1730, construisant maisons et bâtiments utilitaires autour du port de pêche côtière. Influencés par les coutumes successorales de leur pays d'origine, les habitants subdivisèrent leurs lots de terre, formant des unités de voisinage basées sur le clan familial. Ils adaptèrent aussi la tradition irlandaise des jardins, gardant près de la maison ceux destinés à la culture intensive et, plus éloignés, ceux pour le foin et les récoltes qui seront engrangés pour l'hiver. Comme d'autres Terre-Neuviens, ils entourèrent leurs champs de clôtures de bois et firent paître le bétail sur des terres communes. A peu de chose près, l'usage des nombreux éléments du paysage, tels le port, les grands jardins près de Sandy Cove et d'Oliver's Cove et les sentiers d'été et d'hiver, perdure encore aujourd'hui. Tout en continuant à évoluer, Tilting conserve une gamme exceptionnellement complète de bâtiments vernaculaires. L'emplacement et les interrelations de ces édifices et des espaces traditionnels ont été en grande partie maintenus. Toujours habité par des descendants des premières familles, Tilting demeure un rare exemple de ce type, jadis courant, de paysage culturel irlando-terre-neuvien.

 

Vue aérienne d'un village maritime
Photographie aérienne en cerf-volant de la communauté Joe Batt's Arm, île de Fogo, mai 2016
© Pierre Lesage, extrait de https://flic.kr/p/HvG3E2, certains droits réservés

 

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada de Tilting est un paysage de village isolé, créé par une communauté côtière vivant de la pêche, sur la côte est de l’île de Fogo, dans la baie Notre Dame située sur la côte nord-est de Terre-Neuve. Le lieu comprend de petites habitations et bâtisses vernaculaires construites en bois, tout comme des structures plus modernes dispersées dans le paysage rocailleux de l’île et entourées par des jardins, des sentiers, le rivage et le port. Le lieu constitue un paysage culturel continu qui englobe les lieux naturels, les bâtiments et les cadres de vie qui illustrent la vie traditionnelle d’un village isolé. La désignation a trait aux bâtiments et ouvrages du paysage culturel, ainsi qu’à l’île Pigeon et au port de Tilting.

Valeur patrimoniale

Tilting a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada en 2002 pour les raisons suivantes :

  • son paysage emprunte aux modes de peuplement irlandais certains éléments adaptés, tels les unités de voisinage basées sur les liens familiaux qui sont distribuées tout autour du port et les remarquables champs clôturés;
  • Tilting est un vestige rare de village isolé terre-neuvien où l'usage des composantes du paysage subsiste en très grande partie intact depuis au moins le milieu du XVIIIe siècle, alors que les premiers colons irlandais ont commencé à les façonner;
  • Tilting est un exemple rare de petit village isolé où subsistent la gamme à peu près complète des bâtiments et espaces traditionnels associés à la pêche côtière pratiquée à Terre-Neuve et les rapports traditionnels qui existaient entre eux.

 

Village maritime en hiver
Tilting depuis le port de Tilting, mars 2017
© Paul Asman et Jill Lenoble, extrait de https://flic.kr/p/TGQiMV, certains droits réservés
Vue générale d'un village maritime
Vue générale de Tilting
© Parcs Canada / Rhona Goodspeed, 2001

 

Village isolé dont l’origine remonte vers 1730, Tilting est une petite communauté dont les habitants ont pendant longtemps vécu de l’élevage, de l’agriculture et de la pêche. Le lieu désigné comprend le paysage, le rivage, le port, les étangs, la petite île, un sentier d’été et des portions de deux autres sentiers, des portions des chemins de mise à l’eau, trois cimetières, les jardins, les clôtures, les bâtiments, notamment une église, une salle paroissiale, l’ancienne école, le bureau de poste, deux magasins, les habitations et diverses bâtisses, notamment les hangars de pêche, les étables, les granges, une laiterie, les fenils et les caves à légumes.

La valeur patrimoniale de Tilting réside dans le fait que le paysage culturel illustre le mode de vie d’une communauté isolée. La valeur tient à la nature, la diversité et l’importance des ressources individuelles dans leur paysage culturel, à leurs interrelations complexes, et à l’évidence avec laquelle leur composition, leurs formes et leurs cadres reflètent les racines irlandaises et l’évolution continue de la communauté.

Source : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, décembre 2002.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus