Image of a bronze commemorative plaque
Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) trilingual commemorative plaque for Thanadelthur National Historic Person (died 1717): Dene, English, and French

Thanadelthur was designated a national historic person in 2000.

Historical importance: Indigenous woman created a bridge between two cultures; played an important role in the English fur trade in the Canadian north in early 18th-century.

Commemorative plaque: Churchill, ManitobaFootnote 1

This young Dene woman, a skilled interpreter and negotiator, played a crucial role in the expansion of the English fur trade in the Northwest. In 1715-1716, she guided Hudson’s Bay Company trader William Stuart and a contingent of Cree from York Factory into Dene territory. Thanadelthur’s diplomacy led to peace between her people and their traditional enemies, the Cree. The expedition’s success opened direct trade between the Dene and the Company, resulting in the building of a post at Churchill River in 1717. Thanadelthur’s story of courage is recorded in the Company’s journals and honoured in Dene oral tradition.

 

Photo of a person giving a speech
Speaker at the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) commemorative plaque unveiling ceremony for Thanadelthur National Historic Person (died 1717), 2017
© Parks Canada
Photo of a group of people at a plaque unveiling
Group of people at the plaque unveiling ceremony for Thanadelthur National Historic Person (died 1717), 2017
© Parks Canada
Photo of a group of people at a plaque unveiling
Group of people, 2017
© Parks Canada

Thanadelthur (died 1717)

Thanadelthur, a young Dene woman, played a crucial role in the expansion of the English fur trade during the early 1700s. She led an important expedition northwest of York Factory on Hudson Bay in 1715-16, which resulted in a peace accord between the Dene and the Cree. Fluent in Cree, English, and her own Athapaskan language, she was a skilled interpreter and negotiator who helped establish trade relations between the Dene and the Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC). Thanadelthur’s story sheds light upon the early years of the northern fur trade and speaks to the important contributions of women.

Thanadelthur lived in what is now northern Manitoba. Part of a transitional zone of boreal forest and tundra regions, here the Dene subsisted by hunting migratory herds of barren-ground caribou. European fur traders learned of the Dene through contact with the Cree at York Factory, a HBC post established on Cree lands along the Hayes River, circa 1684. Captain James Knight, who took command of the post in 1714, wanted to establish trade relations with the Dene, after hearing that they found “yellow mettle” and copper deposits northwest of York Factory. However, the Dene were reluctant to travel through lands held by their traditional enemies, the Cree. Trade required peace.

 

Photo of a group of people around a fire
People around a fire after the plaque unveiling ceremony for Thanadelthur National Historic Person (died 1717), 2017
© Parks Canada
Photo of a group of people around a fire
People around a fire. 2017
© Parks Canada

 

In 1714, Thanandelthur sought refuge at York Factory, having escaped the Cree who took her captive in a raid. Realizing her potential, Knight recruited her as a guide and interpreter for HBC trader William Stuart and a contingent of Cree, who left York Factory for Dene Territory in 1715-16. Sickness, starvation, and extreme cold plagued the group, which sought to establish lasting peace between the Dene and the Cree. When they could not go on, Thanadelthur completed the last leg of their journey on her own. Later returning with Dene emissaries, her diplomacy led to a peace agreement. The expedition’s success opened direct trade between the Dene and the HBC, resulting in the establishment of Churchill River Post in the summer of 1717. This marked the beginning of an association between the Dene and the HBC that would last for over two centuries.

Thanadelthur died in 1717, during a severe winter at York Factory. Her story survives in Dene oral tradition and the journals of the Hudson’s Bay Company.

Backgrounder last update: 2017-07-21

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Image of a bronze commemorative plaque
Plaque commémorative trilingue de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) pour le Personnage historique national de Thanadelthur (décédée en 1717) : déné, anglais et français

Thanadelthur a été désignée personnage historique national en 2000.

Importance historique : Femme autochtone qui créa une liaison entre deux cultures; joua un rôle important dans la traite anglaise des fourrures dans le nord canadien au début du XVIIIe siècle.

Plaque commémorative : Churchill, ManitobaFootnote 1

Habile négociatrice et interprète, cette jeune Dénée joua un rôle crucial dans l’expansion de la traite des fourrures anglaise dans le Nord Ouest. En 1715 et 1716, Thanadelthur guida le négociant William Stuart de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et un contingent de Cris de York Factory jusqu’en territoire déné. Grâce à ses talents de diplomate, le peuple déné fit la paix avec ses ennemis de toujours, les Cris. Le succès de l’expédition permit la construction d’un poste à la rivière Churchill en 1717. La tradition orale dénée et les journaux de la Compagnie rendent hommage à l’histoire et au courage de Thanadelthur.

 

Photo d'une personne prononçant un discours
Personne prenant la parole lors de la cérémonie de dévoilement de la plaque commémorative de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada pour le Personnage historique national de Thanadelthur (décédée en 1717), 2017
© Parcs Canada
Photo d'un groupe de personnes lors d'un dévoilement de plaque
Groupe de personnes lors de la cérémonie du dévoilement de la plaque commémorative pour le Personnage historique national de Thanadelthur (décédée en 1717), 2017
© Parcs Canada
Photo d'un groupe de personnes lors d'un dévoilement de plaque
Groupe de personnes, 2017
© Parcs Canada

Thanadelthur (décédée en 1717)

Thanadelthur, une jeune femme dénée, a joué un rôle crucial dans l’expansion du commerce des fourrures avec les Anglais au début du XVIIIe siècle. En 1715-1716, elle dirige une importante expédition au nord-ouest de York Factory, dans la baie d’Hudson, qui mène à la signature d’un accord de paix entre les Dénés et les Cris. Parlant couramment le cri, l’anglais et sa langue maternelle athapascane, elle est une interprète et une négociatrice habile. C’est ainsi qu’elle contribue à l’établissement de relations commerciales entre les Dénés et la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson. L’histoire de Thanadelthur met en lumière les premières années du commerce des fourrures dans le Nord et témoigne du rôle important des femmes.

Thanadelthur vit dans l’actuel nord du Manitoba. Les Dénés subsistent dans cette région, qui fait partie d’une zone de transition entre la forêt boréale et la toundra, en chassant des troupeaux migratoires de caribous de la toundra. Les commerçants de fourrures européens entendent parler des Dénés par l’entremise des Cris à York Factory, un poste de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson établi sur des terres cries le long de la rivière Hayes, vers 1684. Le capitaine James Knight, qui prend le commandement du poste en 1714, souhaite nouer des relations commerciales avec les Dénés après avoir appris que ces derniers auraient trouvé du « métal jaune » et des gisements de cuivre au nord-ouest de York Factory. Cependant, les Dénés hésitent à se déplacer sur les terres qui appartiennent aux Cris, leurs ennemis traditionnels. La paix est essentielle au commerce. 

 

Photo d'un groupe de personnes autour d'un feu
Des personnes autour d'un feu après la cérémonie du dévoilement de la plaque commémorative pour le Personnage historique national de Thanadelthur (décédée en 1717), 2017
© Parcs Canada
Photo d'un groupe de personnes autour d'un feu
Des personnes autour d'un feu, 2017
© Parcs Canada

 

En 1714, Thanadelthur se réfugie à York Factory après s’être enfuie des Cris qui l’avaient capturée lors d’un raid. Knight, qui prend conscience de son potentiel, décide de la recruter à titre de guide et d’interprète pour le négociant William Stuart, de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, et un groupe de Cris. En 1715-1716, ils partent de York Factory pour se rendre en territoire déné. La maladie, la famine et le froid extrême s’abattent sur le groupe qui souhaite instaurer une paix durable entre les Dénés et les Cris. Lorsque le groupe ne peut plus avancer, Thanadelthur termine seule la dernière partie du voyage. Elle revient plus tard avec des émissaires dénés. Sa diplomatie mène à un accord de paix. Le succès de l’expédition favorise le commerce direct entre les Dénés et la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, ce qui entraîne la construction du poste de traite Churchill River à l’été 1717. Ce moment marque le début d’une association entre les Dénés et la Compagnie qui durera pendant plus de deux cents ans. 

Thanadelthur meurt en 1717, à York Factory, durant un hiver rigoureux. Son histoire survit grâce à la tradition orale dénée et aux journaux de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson.

Dernière mise à jour de ce document d'information : 2017-07-21

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus