Photo of the Terry Fox plaque unveiling
Plaque unveiling ceremony for Terry Fox National Historic Person (1958-1981), Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, 2012.

Terry Fox was designated a national historic person in 2008.

Historical importance: An enduring icon, the qualities of both the man and his "Marathon of Hope" captivated the country and resonated deeply with Canadians

Commemorative plaque: Multiple plaque locations Footnote 1

Plaque location 1: Terry Fox Monument at Mile 0, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

While in remission from cancer, Terry Fox set out to run across Canada to raise money for cancer research. Despite having lost his right leg to the disease, this determined athlete ran 5,373 kilometres —nearly a marathon a day for 143 straight days—before being forced to stop when his cancer returned. His “Marathon of Hope,” which began in St. John’s on April 12, 1980, captivated Canadians with its bold humanitarianism, transformed our vocabulary about personal courage, and revolutionized fund-raising. To date, hundreds of millions of dollars have been raised by Fox and in his name to the benefit of cancer sufferers around the world. The heroic nature and tragic interruption of his run have made Terry Fox an enduring Canadian icon.

Plaque location 2: Terry Fox Scenic Lookout, Highway 11/17, 7.5 km east of its intersection with Highway 102, Thunder Bay, Ontario

While in remission from cancer, Terry Fox set out to run across Canada in 1980 to raise money for cancer research. Despite having lost his right leg to the disease, this determined athlete ran 5,373 kilometres—nearly a marathon a day for 143 straight days—before being forced to stop east of this spot in the community of Shuniah when his cancer returned. His “Marathon of Hope” captivated Canadians with its bold humanitarianism, transformed our vocabulary about personal courage, and revolutionized fund-raising. To date, hundreds of millions of dollars have been raised by Fox and in his name to the benefit of cancer sufferers around the world. The heroic nature and tragic interruption of his run have made Terry Fox an enduring Canadian icon.

Up close picture of a plaque
Details of a commemorative plaque for Terry Fox in Thunder Bay Ontario.
Photo of a plaque on a pathway
Commemorative plaque for Terry Fox in Thunder Bay Ontario.

Plaque location 3: 2580 Shaughnessy Street, near City Hall, Port Coquitlam, British Columbia

While in remission from cancer, Terry Fox set out to run across Canada in 1980 to raise money for cancer research. Despite having lost his right leg to the disease, this determined Port Coquitlam athlete ran 5,373 kilometres—nearly a marathon a day for 143 straight days—before being forced to stop when his cancer returned. His “Marathon of Hope” captivated Canadians with its bold humanitarianism, transformed our vocabulary about personal courage, and revolutionized fund-raising. To date, hundreds of millions of dollars have been raised by Fox and in his name to the benefit of cancer sufferers around the world. The heroic nature and tragic interruption of his run have made Terry Fox an enduring Canadian icon.

 

Statue of Terry Fox running
Terry Fox Memorial, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, date unknown.
Marathon of Hope stamp
Terry Fox, Marathon of Hope stamp. In honour of his accomplishments regarding cancer research.
© Canada Post, 1982. Library and Archives / Accession number: 1989-565 CPA

 

Related information about this designation:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Photo du dévoilement de la plaque Terry Fox
Cérémonie de dévoilement de la plaque de Terry Fox, Port Coquitlam, Colombie-Britannique, 2012

Terry Fox a été désigné personnage historique national en 2008.

Importance historique : Une légende impérissable; les qualités de l'homme et ses "Marathon of Hope" ont en effet séduit les Canadiennes et les Canadiens et éveillé chez eux des résonances profondes

Plaque commémorative : Multiples emplacements de plaques Footnote 1

Emplacement de plaque 1 : Monument Terry Fox au Mile 0, St. John's, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

En rémission d’un cancer, Terry Fox entreprend la traversée du Canada à pied afin d’amasser des fonds pour la recherche. Cet athlète déterminé, amputé de sa jambe droite en raison de la maladie, court 5 373 kilomètres – un marathon au quotidien pendant 143 jours – avant que le cancer ne le force à abandonner. Avec son « Marathon de l’espoir », débuté à St. John’s le 12 avril 1980, il captive les Canadiens par la force de ses idéaux humanitaires, redéfinit le courage personnel et révolutionne la collecte de fonds. À ce jour, des millions de dollars ont été recueillis par Fox ou en son nom au profit des gens atteints de cancer dans le monde entier. Cette course héroïque et sa fin tragique ont hissé Terry Fox au rang des grandes figures emblématiques du Canada. 

Emplacement de plaque 2 : Terry Fox Scenic Lookout, route 11/17, 7.5 km à l'est de l'intersection avec la route 102, Thunder Bay, Ontario

En rémission d’un cancer, Terry Fox entreprend en 1980 la traversée du Canada à pied afin d’amasser des fonds pour la recherche. Cet athlète déterminé, amputé de sa jambe droite à cause de la maladie, court 5 373 kilomètres – un marathon au quotidien pendant 143 jours – avant que le cancer ne le force à abandonner à l’est d’ici, dans la communauté de Shuniah. Avec son « Marathon de l’espoir », il captive les Canadiens par la force de ses idéaux humanitaires, redéfinit le courage personnel et révolutionne la collecte de fonds. À ce jour, des millions ont été recueillis par Fox ou en son nom au profit des gens atteints de cancer dans le monde entier. Cette course héroïque et sa fin tragique ont hissé Terry Fox au rang des grandes figures emblématiques du Canada.

 

Photo rapprochée d'une plaque
Détails d'une plaque commémorative pour Terry Fox à Thunder Bay, Ontario.
Photo d'une plaque sur un chemin
Plaque commémorative pour Terry Fox à Thunder Bay Ontario.

 

Emplacement de plaque 2 : 2580, rue Shaughnessy, près de l'Hôtel-de-Ville, Port Coquitlam, Colombie-Britannique

En rémission d’un cancer, Terry Fox entreprend en 1980 la traversée du Canada à pied pour amasser des fonds pour la recherche. Amputé de sa jambe droite en raison de la maladie, cet athlète déterminé de Port Coquitlam court 5 373 kilomètres – un marathon au quotidien pendant 143 jours – avant que le cancer ne le force à abandonner. Avec son « Marathon de l’espoir », il captive les Canadiens par la force de ses idéaux humanitaires, redéfinit le courage personnel et révolutionne les collectes de fonds. À ce jour, des millions de dollars ont été recueillis, par Fox ou en son nom, au profit des gens atteints de cancer dans le monde entier. Cette course héroïque et sa fin tragique ont hissé Terry Fox au rang des grandes figures emblématiques du Canada.

Statue de Terry Fox courant
Monument Terry Fox, St. John's, Terre-Neuve, date inconnue
Timbre Marathon de l’espoir
Timbre Terry Fox, Marathon de l’espoir. En reconnaissance de sa contribution à la recherche sur le cancer.
© Postes Canada, 1982. Bibliothèque et Archives / Numéro d'accès : 1989-565 CPA

Informations liées à cette désignation :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus