Group of men around a table
Newfoundland and Canadian Government delegation signing the agreement admitting Newfoundland to Confederation. Prime Minister Louis S. St. Laurent and Honorable A.J. Walsh shake hands following signing of agreement, December 1948, Ottawa, Ontario.
© Library and Archives Canada / Reference PA-133280 / MIKAN ID 3191504

Newfoundland's entry into Confederation was designated a national historic event in 1958.

Historical importance: Led by Joseph R. Smallwood, Newfoundland became 10th province in 1949.

Commemorative plaque: Confederation Building, Prince Philip Drive and Higgins Line, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador Footnote 1

Newfoundland entered Confederation on 31 March 1949. Though Europeans were active here from the early 16th century, recognition as a colony did not come until 1824. Self-government and Dominion status followed but these were placed in abeyance in 1933 when Government by Commission was instituted. In 1948 a national convention proposed a return to Responsible Government but a spirited campaign led by J.R. Smallwood convinced a small majority to accept union with Canada which 19th century voters had decisively rejected. Sir Albert Walsh was the first Lieutenant-Governor and Smallwood the First Premier.

 

Bronze commemorative plaque on a wall
Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada commemorative plaque for Newfoundland's Entry into Confederation National Historic Event, 1989
Bronze commemorative plaque on its stand
Location of the commemorative plaque, at the Confederation Building, Prince Philip Drive and Higgins Line, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, 2007

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Group of men around a table
Délégation de Terre-Neuve et du gouvernement canadien signant l'accord admettant Terre-Neuve dans la Confédération. Le premier ministre Louis S. St. Laurent et l'honorable UN J. Walsh se serrent la main après la signature de l'accord, décembre 1948, Ottawa, Ontario.
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Référence PA-133280 / MIKAN ID 3191504

L'Entrée de Terre-Neuve dans la Confédération a été désignée événement historique national en 1958.

Importance historique : Terre-Neuve devint la 10e province du Canada en 1949, sous l'impulsion de Joseph R. Smallwood.

Plaque commémorative : Édifice de la Confédération, Prince Philip Drive et Higgins Line, St. John's, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador Footnote 1

Terre-Neuve entra dans la Confédération le 31 mars 1949. Malgré la présence d'Européens depuis le début du XVIe siècle, le statut colonial n'y avait été reconnu qu'en 1824. Suivirent l'autonomie et un statut de Dominion mais ils furent suspendus en 1933 lors du Gouvernement par Commission. En 1948, une convention nationale proposa un retour au Gouvernement Responsable mais une vive campagne menée par J.R. Smallwood persuada une petite majorité d'accepter l'union avec le Canada que l'électorat avait rejetée au XIXe siècle. Sir Albert Walsh fut alors le Lieutenant-gouverneur et Smallwood, premier ministre.

 

Bronze commemorative plaque on a wall
Plaque commémorative de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada pour l'Événement historique national de l'Entrée de Terre-Neuve dans la Confédération, 1989
Bronze commemorative plaque on its stand
Emplacement de la plaque commémorative, à l'Édifice de la Confédération, Prince Philip Drive et Higgins Line, St. John's, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, 2007

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus