Vue générale de Signal Hill dans les nuages
General view of Signal Hill

Signal Hill was designated a national historic site in May 1951.

Heritage value: Signal Hill was designated a national historic site of Canada because it is importantly associated with Canada’s defence and communications history. The heritage value of Signal Hill lies in the historical associations of both sides of the Narrows as illustrated by the physical resources of the two cultural landscapes, including their locations, settings, natural and built resources, particularly evidence of defence and communications activities.

Commemorative plaque230, Signal Hill Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador

With commanding views of the Atlantic, for three centuries Signal Hill was important for defence and communications. Shore batteries built in the 17th century gave way to substantial fortifications on the summit as France and Great Britain battled for control of the continent. Between the departure of the British military in 1870 and the arrival of American and Canadian forces during the Second World War, the Hill remained an active flag signalling and communication post. In 1901, Guglielmo Marconi received the first transatlantic wireless transmission atop Signal Hill, a landmark achievement in global communications history. 

Signal Hill

With its summit reaching roughly 167 metres above sea level, Signal Hill offers commanding views of the Narrows, a channel through which all ships must pass when entering St. John’s Harbour from the Atlantic Ocean. This site was important for communications and defence. Its fortifications defended St. John’s harbour for centuries and it was atop the Hill in 1901 that Guglielmo Marconi received the first transatlantic wireless transmission.

Bâtisse patrimoniale sur une colline
General view of Signal Hill
© Parks Canada / F. Bergeson / NFPO Collection / 011

In the 17th century, European ships regularly travelled to the northeastern coast of North America for fishing, whaling, and in the hopes of trading with the Innu, Inuit, and Beothuk. In the 1660s, local fishermen and residents constructed some of the earliest defensive works in the Narrows. Later, as France and Great Britain each tried to assert control in North America, the British constructed more substantial defences along the Narrows, at the base of Signal Hill, and eventually on the summit. There were brief periods of French occupation in 1696, 1705, 1709, and 1762. After the Battle of Signal Hill, the British strengthened their fortifications by building Fort Amherst and Fort Townshend. 

After the departure of the British military in 1870, the Hill remained an active flag signalling and communication post that supported the rise of St. John’s as a commercial centre. Mercantile ships entering the Narrows used flags to identify themselves to signalmen on the Hill who, in turn, warned work crews at the docks. This system remained in use until 1958. During the Second World War, Canadian and American forces occupied the Hill and the Narrows as they prepared to defend St. John’s and North America in the Battle of the North Atlantic.

Plaque commémorative pour Signal Hill
Commemorative plaque - Signal Hill National Historic Site. This commemorative plaque was publicly unveiled December 21, 2017, at Signal Hill National Historic Site, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador.
Plaque commémorative sur un chevalet

 

In 1901, Marconi received the first transatlantic wireless transmission atop Signal Hill, a landmark achievement in global communications history. He installed his apparatus in a former hospital and used a kite to raise his antenna. On December 12, he was able to pick up a message in Morse code transmitted from Poldhu, Cornwall (England). Decades later, the Canadian Marconi Company used Cabot Tower as a base for experiments and as a telegraph station, which it ceded to the Canadian Department of Transport in 1949.

Today, the firing of the noon day gun, which dates back to at least 1842, evokes the historical role of Signal Hill in communications and defence.

Backgrounder last update: 2017-09-27

 

Learn more about Signal Hill National Historic Site and plan a visit.

 

More information on the commemorative plaque unveiling ceremony:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Vue générale de Signal Hill dans les nuages
Vue générale de Signal Hiil

Signal Hill a été désigné lieu historique national en mai 1951.

Valeur patrimoniale : Signal Hill a été désignée lieu historique national du Canada en raison de ses liens historiques importants avec la défense et les communications du Canada. Sa valeur patrimoniale a trait aux liens historiques des ressources des deux côtés du goulet, tels qu'illustrés par les deux paysages culturels, notamment par leur emplacement, leur orientation, leurs ressources naturelles et bâties, et surtout les vestiges de matériel de défense et de communication.

Plaque commémorative : 230, chemin Signal Hill, St. John's, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Surplombant l’Atlantique, Signal Hill a été un important poste de défense et de communication pendant trois siècles. Alors que la France et la Grande-Bretagne luttent pour le contrôle du continent, des fortifications à son sommet succèdent aux batteries côtières construites au XVIIe siècle. Du départ de l’armée britannique, en 1870, à l’arrivée des forces américaines et canadiennes durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Signal Hill sert de poste de signalisation et de communication. En 1901, Guglielmo Marconi y reçoit le premier signal transatlantique sans fil, une réalisation majeure dans l’histoire mondiale des communications.

Signal Hill

Du haut d’un sommet situé à quelque 167 m au-dessus du niveau de la mer, Signal Hill surplombe le passage Narrows, chenal que doivent emprunter tous les navires arrivant au port de St. John’s par l’océan Atlantique. Il s’agit d’un important site dans les domaines des communications et de la défense. Ses fortifications défendent le port de St. John’s depuis des siècles, et c’est du sommet de la colline qu’en 1901, Guglielmo Marconi a reçu le premier signal transatlantique sans fil.

Bâtisse patrimoniale sur une colline
Vue générale de Signal Hill
© Parcs Canada / F. Bergeson / NFPO Collection / 011

Au XVIIe siècle, des navires européens se rendent régulièrement jusqu’à la côte nord-est de l’Amérique du Nord pour pêcher, chasser la baleine et tenter de faire du commerce avec les Innus, les Inuits et les Béothuks. Dans les années 1660, des pêcheurs et des résidents locaux construisent certains des plus anciens ouvrages de défense au passage Narrows. Plus tard, alors que la France et la Grande-Bretagne tentent toutes deux d’obtenir le contrôle de l’Amérique du Nord, les Britanniques érigent des défenses plus importantes le long du passage, au pied de Signal Hill puis, plus tard, à son sommet. Les Français occupent l’endroit pour de courtes périodes en 1696, 1705, 1709 et 1762. Après la bataille de Signal Hill, les Britanniques renforcent les fortifications en construisant les forts Amherst et Townsend.

Après le départ de l’armée britannique en 1870, la colline demeure un poste actif de signalisation par pavillons et de communication, et soutient l’ascension de St. John’s comme centre commercial. Les navires de commerce qui empruntent le passage se servent de drapeaux pour s’identifier aux signaleurs qui, depuis la colline, avertissent à leur tour les travailleurs des quais. Ce système reste en place jusqu’en 1958. Durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les forces canadiennes et américaines occupent la colline et le passage, prêtes à défendre St. John’s et l’Amérique du Nord dans la bataille de l’Atlantique Nord.

Plaque commémorative pour Signal Hill
Plaque commémorative - Lieu historique national de Signal Hill. Cette plaque commémorative a été dévoilée le 21 décembre 2017 au lieu historique national de Signal Hill, St. John's, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. 
Plaque commémorative sur un chevalet

 

En 1901, Marconi reçoit le premier signal transatlantique sans fil du haut de Signal Hill, une réalisation majeure dans l’histoire mondiale des communications. Son appareil est installé dans un ancien hôpital, et il utilise un cerf-volant pour ériger l’antenne. Le 12 décembre, il arrive à capter un message en code Morse transmis depuis Poldhu, Cornwall (Angleterre). Des décennies plus tard, la Compagnie Marconi Canada fait des expériences depuis la tour Cabot et s’en sert comme poste télégraphique; celui-ci est cédé au ministère des Transports du Canada en 1949.

De nos jours, le tir du canon de midi, qui remonte à au moins 1842, évoque le rôle historique qu’a joué Signal Hill dans les domaines des communications et de la défense.

Dernière mise à jour de ce document d'information : 2017-09-27

 

Apprenez-en davantage sur le lieu historique national Signal Hill et planifiez une visite.

 

Plus d'informations sur la cérémonie de dévoilement de la plaque commémorative :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus