Gates of the entrance of a chinatown
The Gate of Harmonious Interests, Victoria's Chinatown
© Photographed by Barry Swackhamer, September 15, 2011, taken from www.hmdb.org/

Victoria's Chinatown was designated a national historic site in 1995.

Commemorative plaque: Fisgard Street near Fan Tan Alley Pandora, Fisgard, Victoria, British Columbia

The oldest and most intact Chinatown in Canada, this district represents an important chapter in the complex history and heritage of Chinese Canadians. As the major immigrant port of entry on the west coast before World War I, Victoria boasted the largest concentration of Chinese Canadians in the country. They established a self-contained and identifiable neighbourhood which offered a complete range of commercial, residential and social amenities. Focused on Fisgard Street, it was made accessible by a distinctive layout of alleys and passageways. Its cohesive groupings of buildings adapted standard forms and designs found elsewhere in the city. Their flared temple-styled roofs, inset and projecting wrought-iron balconies, additional "cheater" storeys, interior courtyards, and brightly hued tiled overhangs give the area its distinctive character. Victoria's Chinatown is a richly textured reminder of the early years of Chinese settlement in Canada.

 

A building with distinctive Asian structures and decorations
The Chinese Public School
© Parks Canada/Andrew Waldron, 2011
Street with cars parked and trees
General view of Victoria's Chinatown
© Parks Canada/Andrew Waldron, 2011

Description of historic place

Victoria’s Chinatown is an identifiable neighbourhood of tightly built primarily two and three-storey mixed-use brick buildings in a three-block area of downtown Victoria, British Columbia. Focussed on Fisgard Street, its interior is accessed by a distinctive layout of alleys and passageways. The cohesive grouping of buildings adapts standard forms found elsewhere in the city, decorated with flared temple-style roofs, inset and projecting wrought-iron balconies, interior courtyards and brightly hued tiled overhangs. A ceremonial entry arch was erected as part of a 1980s revitalization program. The official recognition refers to two nodes comprising some 33 buildings and the open spaces between them.

Alley with brick walls and posters of shops
Fan Tan Alley, Victoria's Chinatown
© Photographed by Barry Swackhamer, September 15, 2011, taken from www.hmdb.org/
Commemorative bronze plaque
Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada trilingual commemorative plaque: English, French and Chinese
© Photographed by Barry Swackhamer, September 15, 2011, taken from www.hmdb.org/

Heritage value

Trilingual and illustrated commemorative bronze plaque
HSMBC illustrated trilingual commemorative plaque: English, French and Chinese
© Photographed by Barry Swackhamer, September 15, 2011, taken from www.hmdb.org/

Victoria’s Chinatown was designated a national historic site of Canada because: it is the oldest surviving Chinatown in Canada; it was the largest urban centre of Chinese population in Canada through the first decade of the twentieth century; it is one of a very few Chinatowns in North America to retain cohesive groupings of high heritage value and is dominated by its historical buildings.

The heritage value of this site is embodied in the diverse collection of structures within the district, their spatial connections, and ongoing role in commercial, social and institutional activities of the Chinese Canadian community. It speaks to the fact that, for nearly three decades before the Canadian Pacific Railway was completed, Victoria was the first port of entry of most Chinese immigrants and remained an important enclave until after World War II.

Source: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, November 1995.

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Les portes de l'entrée d'un quartier chinois
Les portes «Gate of Harmonious Interests », rue Fisgard, quartier chinois de Victoria
© Photo par Barry Swackhamer, 15 septembre 2011, source : www.hmdb.org/

Le quartier chinois de Victoria a été désigné lieu historique national en 1995.

Plaque commémorative : rue Fisgard, près de Fan Tan Alley Pandora, Fisgard, Victoria, Colombie-Britanique

De tous les quartiers chinois au Canada, celui de Victoria est le plus ancien et le mieux conservé. Il témoigne d'un volet important de l'histoire et du patrimoine des Sino-Canadiens. Principal port d'entrée des immigrants sur la côte ouest avant la Première Guerre mondiale, Victoria se targuait d'avoir la plus forte concentration de Sino-Canadiens au pays. Ceux-ci y aménagèrent un quartier distinct regroupant commerces, habitations et centres récréatifs. Concentré dans la rue Fisgard, le quartier était accessible par un remarquable dédale d'allées et de passages. Les bâtiments en rangs serrés rappellent les modèles et les formes typiques de Victoria. Toits évasés inspirés de ceux des temples, balcons de fer forgé en retrait et en saillie, faux étages de rehaussement, cours intérieures et surplombs en tuiles aux couleurs vives procurent à l'endroit son caractère distinctif. Ce quartier rappelle par son riche cachet les origines de la communauté chinoise du Canada.

 

Un immeuble de style asiatique distinct
École publique chinoise 
© Parcs Canada/Andrew Waldron, 2011
Rue avec des voitures stationnées et des arbres
Vue générale du quartier chinois de Victoria
© Parcs Canada/Andrew Waldron, 2011

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le quartier chinois de Victoria est un quartier reconnaissable d’édifices en brique d’un et deux étages à usage mixte qui couvre trois pâtés de maisons dans le centre-ville de Victoria (Colombie-Britannique). La rue Fisgard en est le cœur, et on y accède par un agencement d’allées et de passages distincts. L’ensemble uni d’édifices qui adapte les formes courantes trouvées ailleurs dans la ville, est décoré de toits évasés comme ceux de temples, de balcons insérés et en saillie en fer forgé, de cours intérieures et d’avancées en tuiles aux couleurs brillantes. Une arche d’entrée cérémoniale a été montée dans le cadre d’un programme de réhabilitation, dans les années 1980. La reconnaissance officielle concerne deux nœuds comprenant 33 édifices et les espaces ouverts entre eux.

Ruelle avec des murs en briques et des affiches de commerces
Fan Tan Alley, quartier chinois de Victoria
© Photo de Barry Swackhamer, 15 septembre 2011, source : www.hmdb.org/
Plaque commémorative en bronze
Plaque commémorative trilingue de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada : Anglais, Français et Chinois
© Photo de Barry Swackhamer, 15 septembre 2011, source : www.hmdb.org/

Valeur patrimoniale

Plaque commémorative en bronze illustrée et trilingue
Plaque commémorative illustrée trilingue de la CLMHC : Anglais, Français et Chinois
© Photo de Barry Swackhamer, 15 septembre 2011, source : www.hmdb.org/

Le quartier chinois de Victoria a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada parce que: il est le plus vieux quartier chinois subsistant au Canada; il était le plus grand centre urbain à population chinoise au Canada dans la première décennie du XXe siècle; il est un des rares quartiers chinois d’Amérique du Nord à avoir gardé un ensemble uni d’une grande valeur patrimoniale dans lequel dominent les édifices historiques.

La valeur patrimoniale de ce lieu tient à la collection de structures différentes à l’intérieur du quartier, à leurs relations spatiales, et au rôle continu qu’il joue dans les activités commerciales, sociales et institutionnelles de la communauté canadienne d’origine chinoise. Il souligne le fait que, pendant presque trois décennies avant que le Canadien Pacifique Limitée soit terminé, Victoria était le premier port d’entrée de la plupart des immigrants chinois et qu’il est resté une enclave importante jusqu’après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale.

Source: Procès-verbal de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada de novembre 1995.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus