Pier 21 National Historic Site of Canada
Pier 21
© Parks Canada, Ian Doull, 1996

Pier 21 was designated a national historic site in 1997.

Commemorative plaque: 1055 Marginal Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia

This site witnessed the arrival of approximately one million immigrants, who have enriched the cultural mosaic of Canada. Opened in 1928, Pier 21 served as one of Canada's principal reception centres for immigrants until it closed in 1971. It typifies the large, self-contained immigration facilities that the Canadian government had begun to establish at major ports near the turn of the 20th century. The staff at Pier 21 handled large volumes of immigrants rapidly, checking their citizenship and medical condition, and providing quarantine, detention, customs, and social services.

Description of historic place

Pier 21 National Historic Site of Canada is part of the immense Ocean Terminals passenger landing quay situated at Piers 20-22 in Halifax Harbour off the city-side street of Terminal Road. It includes the transit shed on Pier 21, which together with the brick Central Bay Office separating Piers 21 and 22, constitutes the centre section of the integrated Ocean Terminals transit building, and serves as the facility’s entrance pavilion. Pier 21 is located on the north edge of the wharves and piers that constitute the public Port of Halifax, just behind the Nova Scotian Hotel and the VIA Rail station to which it is historically linked. Pier 21 is now operated as an immigration museum.

 

Pier 21 National Historic Site of Canada
General view
© Pier 21, Jennyrotten, 2010
Pier 21 National Historic Site of Canada
Side view
© Pier 21, Michael Sprague, 2009.

Heritage value

Pier 21 was designated a national historic site of Canada in 1996 to commemorate: its role as a major ocean port-of-entry immigration facility in the post First World War period, and in particular during the years following the Second World War, the last intact example of a highly specialized building type associated with the theme of immigration (because of its high degree of structural and site integrity), its embodiment of the policies, procedures and attitudes of early 20th-century Canadian immigration processes.

The heritage value of Pier 21 National Historic Site of Canada lies in its association with the mid 20th-century immigration experience and its illustration of the type of building designed to accommodate the processing of immigrants during that time period. Pier 21 was constructed in 1928 to provide new integrated passenger landing quays for the Port of Halifax. Much of it was destroyed by fire and rebuilt in 1944. Its new facilities reflected a new mid-20th century streamlining of the immigration process. From 1945-1960 it witnessed the massive stream of post World War II European immigration to Canada, including the arrival of the war brides, an event of national historical significance commemorated by a plaque at this location. Pier 21 closed its doors in 1971 and since has been rehabilitated by the Pier 21 Society as a museum to immigration.

Sources: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, November 1996, December 1998, June 2000; Commemorative Integrity Statement, 2004.

 

Other national historic designation associated with this one:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Lieu historique national du Canada du Quai 21
Quai 21
© Parcs Canada, Ian Doull, 1996

Le Quai 21 a été désigné comme lieu historique national en 1997.

Plaque commémorative : 1055, chemin Marginal, Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse

Ce lieu a été témoin de l'arrivée d'environ un million d'immigrants, qui ont contribué à faire du Canada une riche mosaïque culturelle. Jusqu'à sa fermeture en 1971, le Quai 21 fut l'un des principaux postes d'accueil des immigrants du Canada. Ouvert en 1928, le complexe est représentatif des vastes installations créées par le gouvernement canadien dans les principaux ports au tournant du XXe siècle pour assurer l'admission rapide d'une multitude d'immigrants. Le Quai 21 servait à diverses fins : examens médicaux, vérification des papiers, quarantaine, détention, hébergement temporaire, douane et services sociaux.

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Quai 21 fait partie du quai de débarquement des immenses terminaux océaniques situés aux quais 20 à 22 du port de Halifax, près du côté ville de la route Terminal. Il comprend l’entrepôt de transit sur le quai 21, qui constitue la partie centrale de l’édifice de transit des terminaux océaniques intégrés qui, avec le Bureau Central en brique, sépare les quais 21 et 22 et sert de pavillon d’entrée aux installations. Le quai 21 est situé à l’extrémité nord de la jetée et des quais qui constituent le port public de Halifax, juste derrière l’hôtel Nova Scotian et la gare ferroviaire VIA Rail, à laquelle il a été lié à travers l'histoire. Le quai 21 sert à présent de musée de l’immigration.

 

Lieu historique national du Canada du Quai 21
Vue générale
© Pier 21, Jennyrotten, 2010
Lieu historique national du Canada du Quai 21
Vue de côté
© Pier 21, Michael Sprague, 2009

 

Valeur patrimoniale

Le Quai 21 a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada en 1996 en raison : de son rôle de principale installation portuaire d’immigration maritime après la Première Guerre mondiale et, en particulier, dans les années qui ont suivi la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, du fait qu’il est le dernier exemple intact d’un type d’édifice très spécialisé associé à l’immigration (grâce à la grande intégrité du site et des structures), du fait qu’il est le symbole des politiques, des procédures et des attitudes par rapport aux processus d’immigration du début du XXe siècle au Canada.

La valeur patrimoniale du lieu historique national du Canada du Quai 21 tient à son association avec l’immigration au milieu du XXe siècle et au fait qu’il est un exemple du type d’édifice conçu pour les formalités d’immigration des arrivants à cette époque. Le quai 21 a été construit en 1928 pour donner au port de Halifax de nouveaux quais intégrés pour le débarquement des voyageurs. Il a été en grande partie détruit par un incendie et reconstruit en 1944. Les nouveaux locaux correspondent à une nouvelle rationalisation des formalités d’immigration au milieu du XXe siècle. De 1945 à 1960, il a été témoin de la vague massive d’immigration européenne au Canada après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, y compris l’arrivée des épouses de guerre, événement d'importance historique nationale commémoré par une plaque à cet endroit. Le quai 21 a été fermé en 1971 et, depuis, il a été réhabilité par la Pier 21 Society, qui en a fait un musée de l’immigration.

Sources : Procès-verbaux de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada de novembre 1996, de décembre 1998, de juin 2000; Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative, 2004.

 

Autre désignation historique nationale liée à celle-ci :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus