Historical image of a man in a fur coat
C.H. “Punch” Dickins, 1494
© Archives of Manitoba / Canadian Airways Limited fonds / PR1978-188, [ca. 1933], C162 photo, ON732

C.H. “Punch” Dickins was designated a national historic person in November 1995.

Historical importance: Career as a bush pilot was synonymous with the development of commercial aviation in the Canadian North; a distinguished pilot during the First World War.

Commemorative plaque: Snye Point Park, Fort McMurray, Alberta

For nearly half a century, the legendary “Punch” Dickins played a leading role in Canadian aviation. A distinguished airman during the First World War, he gained renown in the 1920s and 1930s as a pioneering bush pilot. He flew vast distances in Canada’s North, demonstrating the feasibility of flight in remote areas, the coldest weather, and the most difficult landing conditions. In the 1940s, Dickins contributed to the design of the de Havilland Beaver, an airplane famous for its short take-off and landing capabilities. His endeavours helped make Canada a world leader in frontier aviation.

C.H. “Punch” Dickins (1899-1995)

Historical image of three man standing and laughing
Left to right: C.H. Dickins, G.H. Finland, Mr. Buchanan (General Manager of Cominco, Trail, B.C.) on occasion of pouring the first gold brick at the Box Mine, Goldfields, Sask. 1938.
© Library and Archives Canada

Clennell Haggerston (“Punch”) Dickins played a leading role in Canadian aviation for nearly half a century as a distinguished pilot during the First World War, as a pioneering bush pilot through the 1920s and 1930s, and through his contributions to the design of the de Havilland Beaver in the 1940s.

Dickins was born in Portage la Prairie, Manitoba, in 1899, and raised in Edmonton, Alberta. He was studying at the University of Alberta when he joined the Canadian Forces in 1917. He eventually made his way into the Royal Flying Corps, piloting many reconnaissance and bomber missions during the First World War. Second Lieutenant Dickins received the Distinguished Flying Cross in 1919. He went on to serve as an officer in the Royal Canadian Air Force from the time of its establishment in 1924 until 1927.

That year, he started flying for Western Canadian Airways Ltd. Dickins was pioneering airmail service on the prairies when given the difficult task of flying mining prospectors along a largely uncharted route from Winnipeg, Manitoba, to Baker Lake (today, in Nunavut) and then onwards to Stony Rapids, Saskatchewan. The roughly 6,000 kilometre flight took 12 days to complete and produced invaluable maps of the region. He helped make Canada a world leader in frontier aviation through feats that included flying vast distances in Canada’s North, demonstrating the feasibility of flight in remote areas, the coldest weather and the most difficult landing conditions. In recognition of his contributions, Dickins received the McKee Trophy in 1928 and was named an Officer of the Order of the British Empire in 1936.

 

Plane flying while people are looking
Commemorative plaque unveiling ceremony in Fort McMurray, Alberta.
Two man unveils a new commemorative plaque
Commemorative plaque being unveiled.
Commemorative plaque for Punch Dickins
Commemorative plaque - C.H. “Punch” Dickins National Historic Person. This commemorative plaque was publicly unveiled on October 18, 2019, at the Snye Point Park in Fort McMurray, Alberta.
Canada Post stamp featuring a plane
de Havilland Canada Beaver (philatelic record)
© Library and Archives Canada / Copyright: Canada Post Corporation

 

During the Second World War, Dickins helped to organize Ferry Command and took responsibility for several schools associated with the British Commonwealth Air Training Plan. He later joined de Havilland Aircraft of Canada, where he contributed to the design of the Beaver, a small airplane designed to carry passengers and freight into Canada’s North, which became famous world-wide for its short take-off and landing capability.

C.H. “Punch” Dickins was made an Officer of the Order of Canada in 1968 and was inducted into the Canada’s Aviation Hall of Fame six years later. He died in 1995.

Backgrounder last update: 2021-10-03

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Historical image of a man in a fur coat
C.H. “Punch” Dickins, 1494
© Archives of Manitoba / Canadian Airways Limited fonds / PR1978-188, [ca. 1933], C162 photo, ON732

C.H. “Punch” Dickins a été désigné personnage historique national en novembre 1995.

Importance historique : Sa carrière de pilote de brousse coïncida avec le développement de l'aviation commerciale dans le Nord canadien; d'abord comme as de l'aviation pendant la Première Guerre mondiale.

Commemorative plaque: Parc Snye Point, Fort McMurray, Alberta

Le légendaire « Punch » Dickins joua un rôle clé dans l’aviation canadienne pendant près de 50 ans. Remarquable aviateur de la Première Guerre mondiale, il devint célèbre comme pilote de brousse dans les années 1920 et 1930. Parcourant de grandes distances dans le Nord canadien, il prouva qu’on pouvait voler dans les régions éloignées, par temps très froid, et atterrir presque partout. Dans les années 1940, il participa à la conception du Beaver de la compagnie de Havilland, un avion réputé pour pouvoir décoller et atterrir sur des pistes courtes. Ses exploits contribuèrent à faire du Canada un leader mondial de l’aviation de brousse.

C.H. “Punch” Dickins (1899-1995)

Historical image of three man standing and laughing
De gauche à droite : C.H. Dickins, G.H. Finland, M. Buchanan (Directeur général de Cominco, Trail, C.-B.) lors du coulage de la première brique d'or à la mine Box, à Goldfields, en Saskatchewan. 1938.
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada

Clennell Haggerston alias « Punch » Dickins a joué un rôle important dans l’aviation canadienne pendant près d’un demi siècle. As de l’aviation pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, il fut aussi un des premiers pilotes de brousse dans les années 1920 et 1930, en plus de contribuer largement à la conception du Beaver de l’avionneur de Havilland dans les années 1940.

Né en 1899 à Portage la Prairie, au Manitoba, C. H. Dickins grandit à Edmonton, en Alberta. Il est étudiant à l’Université de l’Alberta lorsqu’il s’engage dans les Forces canadiennes en 1917. Devenu pilote au Royal Flying Corps, il mène de nombreuses missions de reconnaissance et de bombardement pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Le sous lieutenant Dickins reçoit la Croix du service distingué dans l’Aviation en 1919. Il poursuit sa carrière comme officier dans l’Aviation royale canadienne depuis sa fondation, en 1924, jusqu’en 1927. 

Cette année là, il devient pilote à la Western Canadian Airways Ltd. Il est l’un des pionniers du service aéropostal dans les Prairies. C’est alors qu’on lui confie la difficile tâche de transporter des prospecteurs sur un trajet très peu cartographié, entre Winnipeg, au Manitoba et Baker Lake (aujourd’hui au Nunavut), puis jusqu’à Stony Rapids, en Saskatchewan. Le vol, qui parcourt une distance d’environ 6 000 kilomètres, dure 12 jours et permet de dresser des cartes de la région qui s’avéreront très utiles. Dickins contribue à faire du Canada un chef de file mondial de l’aviation dans les territoires inexplorés, en réalisant divers exploits comme des vols sur de longues distances dans le Nord du Canada ou encore en prouvant la faisabilité des vols en zones éloignées, dans le froid extrême et dans les conditions d’atterrissage les plus difficiles. Pour ses exploits, il reçoit le trophée McKee en 1928 et est nommé officier de l’Ordre de l’Empire britannique en 1936.

 

Plane flying while people are looking
Cérémonie de dévoilement de la plaque commémorative, Fort McMurray, Alberta.
Two man unveils a new commemorative plaque
Dévoilement de la plaque commémorative.
Commemorative plaque for Punch Dickins
Plaque commémorative - Personnage historique national de C.H. “Punch” Dickins. Cette plaque commémorative a été dévoilée publiquement le 18 octobre 2019, au parc Snye Point, à Fort McMurray, Alberta.
Canada Post stamp featuring a plane
de Havilland Canada Beaver (philatelic record)
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / Droits d'auteurs : Société canadienne des postes

 

Pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, C. H. Dickins contribue à l’organisation du Ferry Command et prend en charge plusieurs écoles visées par le Plan d’entraînement aérien du Commonwealth britannique. Il entre ensuite chez de Havilland Aircraft of Canada, où il travaille à la conception du Beaver, un petit avion destiné à transporter des passagers et des marchandises dans le Nord du Canada, qui deviendra célèbre dans le monde entier pour sa capacité à décoller et à atterrir sur de courtes distances.

C. H. « Punch » Dickins est fait officier de l’Ordre du Canada en 1968 et est intronisé au Panthéon de l’Aviation du Canada six ans plus tard. Il meurt en 1995.

Dernière mise à jour de ce document d'information : 2021-10-03

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus