The Residential School System is a topic that may cause trauma invoked by memories of past abuse. The Government of Canada recognizes the need for safety measures to minimize the risk associated with triggering. A National Residential School Crisis Line has been set up to provide support for former residential school students. You can access information on the website or access emotional and crisis referral services by calling the 24-Hour National Crisis Line: 1-866-925-4419.

Former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School
© Sisters of Charity, Halifax, Congregational Archives

The former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School was designated a national historic site in July 2020.

Commemorative plaque: 47 Indian School Road, Shubenacadie, Nova Scotia

The former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School

The former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School was the only Indian Residential School in the Maritime Provinces. Built in 1928-29 in the Sipekni’katik district of Mi’kma’ki, near the village of Shubenacadie, Nova Scotia, the school building once stood on a large property that featured barns and other farm buildings, staff residences, cultivated fields, and pastures. The school was established in 1929 and was open to students from 1930 to 1967. The abandoned school building was demolished in 1986 and a factory now stands in its place.

The Shubenacadie Indian Residential School was administered and funded by the federal government and managed first by the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Halifax and later the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate. It was staffed by the Sisters of Charity of St. Vincent de Paul of Halifax.

The Shubenacadie Indian Residential School was part of the residential school system whereby the Canadian government and certain churches and religious organizations worked together to assimilate Indigenous children as part of a broader effort to destroy Indigenous cultures and identities, and to suppress Indigenous histories. In 2015, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission described this policy as cultural genocide. Many Shubenacadie survivors and descendants call it genocide. 

Many people gathered under a tent for a ceremony
Commemorative plaque unveiling for the former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School National Historic Site.
 © Parks Canada
Three commemorative plaque installed on their support
Commemorative plaques for The former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School National Historic Site installed at the site of the former residential school. These commemorative plaques were publicly unveiled September 30th in Shubenacadie, Nova Scotia.

Mi’kmaq and Wolastoqiyik children from Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, and Quebec attended Shubenacadie IRS. Students also came from other Indigenous communities. Many of them were forced to attend. It is difficult to identify all the children who attended the school and determine what communities they came from because records, for this and other residential schools, are incomplete and inconsistent.

Students were subjected to a regimented daily routine that involved hard labour to maintain the school while facing harsh punishments, malnutrition, poor healthcare, nutritional experimentation, neglect, the deliberate suppression of their cultures and languages, and physical, emotional, and sexual abuse. Some children died while at school.

From the earliest days of the school, students, their families, and community leaders voiced objections, and protested everything from forced attendance to poor conditions, mistreatment, and the inadequate quality of schooling. Many children fought against the system by refusing to let go of their languages and identities. Some children ran away from the school in an effort to return home.

Although the school building is no longer standing, the site of the former school is a place of remembrance and healing for some survivors and their descendants, who wish to preserve Indian Residential School history in the Maritimes. Others, for whom the building and site hold neither healing nor memorial status, believe that the building and site remain a testament and record for the experiences of the children who were there, as well as for the legacies of those experiences throughout Mi’kma’ki. Many are concerned that the long-term intergenerational impact of these experiences on survivors, their families, and communities, will be forgotten. The history of the Shubenacadie Residential School is highly fraught and difficult to construct given the trauma that was, and is, inherent within it. Many survivors are still unable to speak about their experiences.

Plaque commémorative
Trilingual Mi’kmaw commemorative plaque: Smith Francis, Father Pacifique and Listuguj
Plaque commémorative
Bilingual Wolastoqey commemorative plaque: Leavitt and Teeter
Plaque commémorative
Bilingual commemorative plaque: English and French

The co-chair of the Tripartite Culture and Heritage Working Committee of the Mi’kmaq-Nova Scotia-Canada Tripartite Forum submitted a nomination for the designation of the former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School on behalf of the Survivors and their descendants. Parks Canada and the proponent collaborated to highlight the experiences of Survivors and articulate the historic values of the site. The historical report and the plaque text presented to the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada were prepared by Parks Canada and the Tripartite Culture and Heritage Working Committee of the Mi’kmaq-Nova Scotia-Canada Tripartite Forum. The Government of Canada announced its designation as a national historic site under the National Program of Historical Commemoration on September 1, 2020.

Backgrounder last update: 2021-09-29

 

More information on the commemorative plaque unveiling ceremony:

Other national historic designations associated with this one:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Le système des pensionnats autochtones est un sujet pouvant causer des traumatismes évoqués par des souvenirs d’abus passés. Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît la nécessité d’établir des mesures de sécurité afin de minimiser le risque de déclencher une réaction à l'évocation de violences passées. Une ligne d’écoute téléphonique des pensionnats autochtones a été établie au niveau national pour apporter du soutien aux anciens élèves des pensionnats. Vous pouvez obtenir de l’information sur le site Web ou accéder en tout temps à des services de soutien affectif et d’aiguillage en situation de crise en composant le : 1-866-925-4419.

L’ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie
© Soeurs de la Charité, Halifax, Archives de la congrégation

L’ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie a été désigné lieu historique national en juillet 2020.

Plaque commémorative : 47 route Indian School, Shubenacadie, Nouvelle-Écosse

L’ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie

L’ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie était le seul pensionnat autochtone des Maritimes. Construit en 1928-1929 dans le district Sipekni’katik de Mi’kma’ki près du village de Shubenacadie, en Nouvelle-Écosse, l’édifice principal du pensionnat était situé sur une grande propriété qui comprenait des étables et d’autres bâtiments de ferme, des maisons pour le personnel, des champs cultivés et des pâturages. Le pensionnat a été établi en 1929 et a reçu des élèves de 1930 à 1967. Laissé à l’abandon, l’édifice principal a été démoli en 1986 et une usine se dresse désormais à sa place. 

Administré et financé par le gouvernement fédéral, le pensionnat de Shubenacadie a d’abord été géré par l’archidiocèse catholique de Halifax, puis par les missionnaires Oblats de Marie-Immaculée, tandis que les Sœurs de la Charité de Saint-Vincent de Paul d’Halifax se sont chargées de l’enseignement aux élèves.

Le pensionnat de Shubenacadie faisait partie du système des pensionnats autochtones selon lequel le gouvernement canadien ainsi que certaines églises et organisations religieuses (lien disponible en anglais seulement) travaillaient ensemble afin d’assimiler les enfants autochtones dans le cadre d’un vaste ensemble de mesures visant à détruire les cultures et les identités autochtones et à supprimer leurs histoires. En 2015, la Commission de vérité et réconciliation a décrit cette politique comme un génocide culturel. Plusieurs survivants du pensionnat de Shubenacadie et leurs descendants la qualifient de génocide. 

Des enfants mi’kmaq et wolastoqiyik de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, du Nouveau-Brunswick et du Québec ont fréquenté ce pensionnat. Des enfants d’autres communautés autochtones y ont également été envoyés. Plusieurs d’entre eux étaient contraints de fréquenter l’établissement. Il est difficile d’identifier tous les élèves qui ont été admis à cette école et de déterminer de quelles communautés ils provenaient, car les registres de ce pensionnat, comme ceux des autres pensionnats autochtones, sont incomplets et incohérents.

Plusieurs personnes rassemblées sous une tente lors d'une cérémonie
Dévoilement de plaque commémorative pour le lieu historique national de l'ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie
 © Parcs Canada
Trois plaques commémorative installées sur leur socle
Plaques commémoratives pour le lieu historique national de l'ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie. Ces plaques commémoratives ont été dévoilées publiquement le 30 septembre 2021 à Shubenacadie, Nouvelle-Écosse.

Les élèves devaient se plier à une routine quotidienne stricte qui les obligeait à effectuer des tâches pénibles pour assurer l’entretien du pensionnat tout en étant confrontés à une discipline sévère, à de la malnutrition, à des soins de santé de piètre qualité, à des expériences nutritionnelles, à de la négligence, à la suppression délibérée de leurs cultures et de leurs langues ainsi qu’à des sévices physiques, psychologiques et sexuels. Certains d’entre eux sont décédés pendant qu’ils étaient au pensionnat. 

Dès les premiers jours du pensionnat, les élèves, leurs familles et les dirigeants de la communauté ont exprimé des objections et ont protesté contre tout ce qui s’y rattachait, notamment la fréquentation forcée, les conditions pitoyables, les mauvais traitements et la piètre qualité de l’enseignement. Plusieurs enfants ont lutté contre le système en refusant de renoncer à leur langue et à leur identité. Certains élèves se sont enfuis pour tenter de rentrer chez eux.

Bien que le bâtiment scolaire ait été démoli, le site de l’ancien pensionnat est un lieu de mémoire et de guérison pour certains survivants et leurs descendants qui souhaitent préserver l’histoire des pensionnats autochtones dans les Maritimes. D’autres, pour qui le site ne détient aucune valeur commémorative ou de guérison, considèrent que l’édifice et le site témoignent de l’expérience des enfants qui y résidaient et de l’héritage de ces expériences à travers le Mi’kma’ki. Plusieurs craignent que les répercussions intergénérationnelles de ces expériences sur les survivants, leurs familles et leurs communautés ne soient oubliées. L’histoire du pensionnat de Shubenacadie est très délicate et difficile à reconstituer compte tenu des traumatismes qui y sont associés. De nombreux survivants n’arrivent d’ailleurs toujours pas à parler de leurs expériences.

Plaque commémorative
Plaque commémorative bilingue : Anglais et Français
Plaque commémorative
Plaque commémorative Wolastoqey bilingue : Leavitt et Teeter
Plaque commémorative
Plaque commémorative Mi’kmaw trilingue : Smith Francis, Father Pacifique et Listuguj

La demande de désignation de l’ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie a été soumise par le coprésident du groupe de travail sur la culture et le patrimoine du Forum tripartite Mi’kmaq–Nouvelle-Écosse–Canada au nom des survivants du pensionnat de Shubenacadie et de leurs descendants. Parcs Canada et le demandeur ont collaboré pour mettre en lumière les expériences des survivants et déterminer les valeurs historiques du site. Le rapport historique accompagnant la demande de désignation et le texte de la plaque qui ont été soumis à la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada ont été préparés par Parcs Canada et le groupe de travail sur la culture et le patrimoine du Forum tripartite Mi’kmaq–Nouvelle-Écosse–Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé sa désignation en tant que lieu historique national en vertu du Programme national de commémoration historique le 1er septembre 2020.

Dernière mise à jour de ce document d'information : 2021-09-29

 

Plus d'informations sur la cérémonie de dévoilement de la plaque commémorative :

Autres désignations historiques nationales liées à celle-ci :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus