The Residential School System is a topic that may cause trauma invoked by memories of past abuse. The Government of Canada recognizes the need for safety measures to minimize the risk associated with triggering. A National Residential School Crisis Line has been set up to provide support for former residential school students. You can access information on the website or access emotional and crisis referral services by calling the 24-Hour National Crisis Line: 1-866-925-4419.

Large Building
Former Shingwauk Indian Residential School
© Parks Canada / Nathalie Ouellette

The Former Shingwauk Indian Residential School was designated a national historic site in April 2021.

Commemorative plaque: No plaque installedFootnote 1

Nominated by the Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre

The former Shingwauk Indian Residential School is located in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, on Robinson-Huron territory on the traditional homeland of the Anishinaabe and the Métis. The former school property encompasses the present campus of Algoma University and Shingwauk Kinoomaage Gamig (Shingwauk University). This site was nominated for designation by the Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre (SRSC). Parks Canada, the Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association, and the SRSC worked collaboratively to identify the historic values of this former residential school, and co-developed the report on the students’ experiences and the history of the school for the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

The Residential School System

Opened in 1875 by the Anglican Church, Shingwauk IRS was part of the system of residential schools in Canada. This system was imposed on Indigenous Peoples by the federal government and certain churches and religious organizations, who worked together in a deliberate effort to assimilate Indigenous children and convert them to Christianity by separating them from their families, cultures, languages, and traditions. From 1935 to its closure in 1970, the school was administered and funded by the federal government. The Anglican Church operated the school until 1969.

The school was named after prominent Anishinaabe Chief Shingwaukonse, whose vision for a school where Anishinaabe students could acquire European-based knowledge and skills that would enable them to thrive in a rapidly changing society led to the establishment of earlier schools in the region. Over the course of its 96 years of existence, it was a Shingwauk school in name only as Chief Shingwaukonse’s true vision was lost.

The site and property

Shingwauk Hall, the school’s primary structure, was built in 1934-35 to replace the original school building which dated to the late-19th century. It is one of the few remaining residential school buildings in Canada. Other buildings and landscape elements related to the former school include the Shingwauk Memorial Cemetery (1876), Bishop Fauquier Memorial Chapel (1883), the former principal’s residence (1935), the former woodworking shop (1951), and Anna McCrea Public School (1956). The Shingwauk IRS site is one of the few surviving residential school sites with a notable ensemble of preserved built and landscape elements that continue to testify to the long history of the residential school system in Canada.

The mistreatment of students

More than a thousand Indigenous children from Ontario, Quebec, the Prairies, and the Northwest Territories attended this school. Whether they were there by choice or coercion, students were subject to a regimented daily routine that involved working to maintain the school while facing severe discipline and abuse, harsh labour, emotional neglect, inadequate nutrition, poor healthcare, and poor living conditions. Siblings remained separated by gender and age, and Indigenous languages were forbidden. Many students spent their entire childhoods at the school and some never returned home. The far-reaching effects of the residential school experience continue to have significant impact on former students, their families, and communities today.

A place of cultural reclamation

Since the closure of the school in 1970, the site has been a place of cultural reclamation and education. For decades, Algoma University, Shingwauk Kinoomaage Gamig (Shingwauk University), the Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association, and their partners have been committed to the restoration of the true intent and spirit of Chief Shingwaukonse’s vision – cross-cultural education and learning – and the reinterpretation of the site as a place for healing and reconciliation.

Backgrounder last update: 2021-07-07

Description of historic place

The Former Shingwauk Indian Residential School National Historic Site of Canada is located on Robinson-Huron treaty territory on the traditional homelands of the Anishinaabe and the Métis, in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario. The former school property encompasses the present campus of Algoma University and Shingwauk Kinoomaage Gamig.

The residential school was established by the Anglican Church and ran from 1875 to 1970. In 1935, the church transferred its property and administration to the federal government while maintaining responsibility for its operation. The main building known as Shingwauk Hall was built in 1934-35 to replace the original school and was designed in a style common for residential schools during that period.

Remaining built and landscape elements include a chapel, a cemetery, the former principal’s residence, the former woodworking shop, and a public elementary school (Anna McCrae). Since the school’s closure, its site has been used for cultural reclamation, cross-cultural education and learning, and reinterpreted as a place for healing and reconciliation.

Official recognition refers to the limits of the property bordered on the north by the southern limits of Wellington Street East, Sault St. Marie, and on the south by the high-water mark of the north bank of the St. Mary’s River. The site’s boundaries aligning closely with the limits of the original residential school property acquired in 1874.

Heritage value

The Former Shingwauk Indian Residential School was designated a National Historic Site of Canada in 2021. It was recognized because:

  • established on the traditional lands of the Anishinaabe and the Métis, it was named after prominent Anishinaabe Chief Shingwaukonse, whose vision for a school where Anishinaabe students could acquire European- based knowledge and skills that would enable them to thrive in a rapidly changing society led to the establishment of earlier schools in the region;
  • opened in 1875 by the Anglican Church, it was part of the system of residential schools in Canada that was imposed on Indigenous Peoples by the federal government and Christian churches who worked together in a deliberate effort to assimilate Indigenous children and convert them to Christianity by separating them from their families, cultures, languages, and traditions. In 1935, and until its closure in 1970, the school was administered by the federal government and continued to be operated by the Anglican Church until 1969;
  • over the course of its 96 years of existence it was a Shingwauk school in name only as Chief Shingwaukonse’s true vision was lost. More than a thousand Indigenous children from Ontario, Quebec, the Prairies, and the Northwest Territories attended school here. Whether they were here by choice or coercion, all students were subject to a regimented daily routine that involved working to maintain the school while facing severe discipline and abuse, harsh labour, emotional neglect, inadequate nutrition, poor healthcare, and poor living conditions. Siblings remained separated by gender and age, and Indigenous languages were forbidden; many students spent their entire childhoods at the school and some never returned home. The far-reaching effects of the residential school experience continue to have significant impact on former students, their families, and communities today;
  • Shingwauk Hall, the school’s primary structure, built in 1934-35 to replace the original school building which had become dilapidated, is one of the few remaining examples of an Indian Residential School building in Canada. Designed by R.G. Orr, Chief Architect for the Department of Indian Affairs, it is a representative example of a residential school designed in the Collegiate Gothic style. Its imposing size, institutional appearance, bleak Gothic ornamentation, and rigid spatial separation reinforced the government’s goals of assimilation in its stylistic references to European educational institutions. For students, the school’s design further amplified feelings of fear and isolation;
  • it is one of the few surviving residential school sites comprised of a notable ensemble of preserved built and landscape elements that continue to testify to the long history of the residential school system in Canada. At Shingwauk, these elements include the Shingwauk Memorial Cemetery (1876), Bishop Fauquier Memorial Chapel (1883), Shingwauk Hall (1934-35), the former principal’s residence (1935), the former woodworking shop (1951), and Anna McCrea Public School (1956);
  • it has been a site of cultural reclamation and education since the closure of the school in 1970. For decades, Algoma University, Shingwauk Kinoomaage Gamig (Shingwauk University), the Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association, and their partners have been committed to the restoration of the true intent and spirit of Chief Shingwaukonse’s vision, cross-cultural education and learning, and the reinterpretation of the site as a place for healing and reconciliation.

Source: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, December, 2020


Other national historic designations associated with this one:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Le système des pensionnats autochtones est un sujet pouvant causer des traumatismes évoqués par des souvenirs d’abus passés. Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît la nécessité d’établir des mesures de sécurité afin de minimiser le risque de déclencher une réaction à l'évocation de violences passées. Une ligne d’écoute téléphonique des pensionnats autochtones a été établie au niveau national pour apporter du soutien aux anciens élèves des pensionnats. Vous pouvez obtenir de l’information sur le site Web ou accéder en tout temps à des services de soutien affectif et d’aiguillage en situation de crise en composant le : 1-866-925-4419.

Grand bâtiment
L’ancien pensionnat indien de Shingwauk
© Parcs Canada / Nathalie Ouellette

L'ancien pensionnat indien de Shingwauk a été désigné lieu historique national en avril 2021.

Plaque commémorative : Pas de plaque installée Footnote 1

Désignation proposée par le Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre

L’ancien pensionnat indien de Shingwauk se situe à Sault Ste. Marie (Ontario) sur le territoire visé par le traité Robinson-Huron, territoire traditionnel des Anishinaabe et des Métis, à l’emplacement du campus actuel de l’Université Algoma et de la Shingwauk Kinnomaagee Gamig (l’Université Shingwauk). La demande de désignation pour ce site a été présentée à la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada par le Shingwauk Residential Schools Centre (SRSC). Parcs Canada, la Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association et le SRSC ont collaboré pour déterminer les valeurs historiques de cet ancien pensionnat puis ont codéveloppé un rapport à l’intention de la Commission portant sur les expériences des élèves et l’histoire du pensionnat.

Le système de pensionnats autochtones

Établi en 1875 par l’Église anglicane, le pensionnat de Shingwauk fait partie du système de pensionnats indiens soutenu par le gouvernement canadien et certaines églises et organisations religieuses qui, dans un effort concerté et délibéré, visent à assimiler les enfants autochtones, les convertir au christianisme et les isoler de leurs familles, de leur culture, de leur langue et de leurs traditions. Le pensionnat est administré par le gouvernement fédéral à partir de 1935, mais demeure sous la gestion de l’Église anglicane jusqu’en 1969. Le gouvernement fédéral en aura l’entière responsabilité jusqu’à sa fermeture en 1970.

Le pensionnat doit son nom à l’éminent chef anishinaabe Shingwaukonse dont la vision d’une école où les élèves anishinaabe pourraient acquérir des connaissances et habiletés européennes qui leur permettraient de s’épanouir dans une société évoluant rapidement avait déjà mené à la création d’autres écoles dans la région. Au cours de ses 96 années d’existence, soit de 1875 à 1970, le pensionnat de Shingwauk ne conserve toutefois du chef Shingwaukonse que son nom, car sa véritable vision est perdue.

Le site et le bâtiment

Construit en 1934-1935 pour remplacer le bâtiment d’origine datant de 1875, Shingwauk Hall, est l’un des derniers édifices ayant servi de pensionnat indien qui subsiste toujours au Canada. De plus, le site du pensionnat est l’un des rares qui existent encore aujourd’hui. Ce dernier se compose d’un ensemble notable d’éléments bâtis et de paysages préservés qui témoigne de la longue histoire des pensionnats au Canada, notamment le cimetière commémoratif Shingwauk (1876), la chapelle commémorative de l’évêque Fauquier (1883), le bâtiment Shingwauk Hall (1934-35), lequel constitue le bâtiment principal du site, l’ancienne résidence du directeur (1935), l’ancien atelier de menuiserie (1951) et l’école publique Anna McCrea (1956).

Les mauvais traitements infligés aux élèves

Plus de mille enfants autochtones de l’Ontario, du Québec, des Prairies et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest fréquentent ce pensionnat. Venus par choix ou par obligation, tous les élèves sont soumis chaque jour à un emploi du temps très strict marqué par des tâches d’entretien, une discipline sévère et des abus, du travail pénible et de la négligence émotionnelle. Les frères et sœurs sont séparés selon leur sexe et leur âge, et les langues autochtones sont interdites. De nombreux élèves y passent toute leur enfance, et certains ne sont jamais rentrés à la maison. Les séquelles durables des expériences vécues dans les pensionnats ont encore aujourd’hui des répercussions importantes sur les anciens élèves, leurs familles et leur communauté.

Un lieu de reconquête culturelle

Depuis la fermeture du pensionnat de Shingwauk en 1970, le site est utilisé à des fins de réappropriation culturelle et d’éducation. Depuis plusieurs décennies, l’Université Algoma, la Shingwauk Kinnomaagee Gamig, la Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association et leurs partenaires travaillent à restaurer la véritable intention du chef Shingwaukonse et l’essence de sa vision, c’est-à-dire l’éducation et l’apprentissage interculturels, et à réinterpréter le site comme un lieu de guérison et de réconciliation.

Dernière mise à jour de ce document d'information : 2021-07-07

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada de l’Ancien- Pensionnat-Indien-de-Shingwauk se situe à Sault Ste. Marie, en Ontario, sur le territoire visé par le traité Robinson Huron, sur les terres ancestrales des Anishinaabe et des Métis, à l’emplacement du campus actuel de l’Université Algoma et du centre d’excellence en éducation Anishinaabe Shingwauk Kinoomaagee Gamig.

L’Église anglicane fonde le pensionnat en 1875. En 1935, elle en transfère la propriété et l’administration au gouvernement fédéral, mais en aura l’entière responsabilité jusqu’à ce qu’il ferme ses portes, en 1970. Construit en 1934 1935 pour remplacer le bâtiment d’origine, le bâtiment principal, Shingwauk Hall, est d’un style architectural typique des pensionnats de l’époque..

Certains éléments bâtis et paysagers sont préservés, notamment la chapelle, le cimetière, l’ancienne résidence du directeur, l’ancien atelier de menuiserie et l’école primaire publique (Anna McCrea). Depuis la fermeture du pensionnat, le site est utilisé à des fins de réappropriation culturelle, d’éducation et d’apprentissage interculturels et est réinterprété comme un lieu de guérison et de réconciliation.

La reconnaissance officielle s’applique à l’enceinte de la propriété, qui s’étend au nord jusqu’à la limite de la rue Wellington Est, à Sault Ste. Marie, et au sud, jusqu’à la ligne de laisse de crue de la rive nord de la rivière Sainte-Marie. Les limites du site sont fort semblables à l’enceinte d’origine de la propriété acquise en 1874.

Valeur patrimoniale

L’ancien pensionnat indien de Shingwauk a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada en 2021. Il a été reconnu pour les raisons suivantes :

  • établi sur le territoire traditionnel des Anishinaabe et des Métis, il doit son nom à l’éminent chef anishinaabe Shingwaukonse dont la vision d’une école où les élèves anishinaabe pourraient acquérir des connaissances et habiletés européennes qui leur permettraient de s’épanouir dans une société évoluant rapidement avait déjà mené à la création d’autres écoles dans la région;
  • ouvert en 1875 par l’Église anglicane, il fait partie du système des pensionnats imposé aux peuples autochtones par le gouvernement fédéral et les Églises chrétiennes qui travaillent ensemble dans une tentative délibérée d’assimiler les enfants autochtones et de les convertir au christianisme en les isolant de leurs familles, de leur culture, de leur langue et de leurs traditions. De 1935 et jusqu’à sa fermeture en 1970, le pensionnat est administré par le gouvernement fédéral, mais demeure sous la gestion de l’Église anglicane jusqu’en 1969;
  • au cours de ses 96 années d’existence, soit de 1875 à 1970, le pensionnat de Shingwauk ne conserve du chef Shingwaukonse que son nom, car sa véritable vision est perdue. Plus de mille enfants autochtones de l’Ontario, du Québec, des Prairies et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest fréquentent ce pensionnat. Venus ici par choix ou par obligation, tous les élèves sont soumis chaque jour à un emploi du temps très strict marqué par des tâches d’entretien du pensionnat, une discipline sévère et des abus, du travail pénible et de la négligence émotionnelle. Les frères et sœurs sont séparés selon leur sexe et leur âge, et les langues autochtones sont interdites; de nombreux élèves passent toute leur enfance au pensionnat, et certains ne sont jamais rentrés à la maison. Les séquelles durables des expériences vécues dans les pensionnats ont encore aujourd’hui des répercussions importantes sur les anciens élèves, leurs familles et leur communauté;
  • Shingwauk Hall, principal bâtiment du site du pensionnat construit en 1934-1935 pour remplacer le bâtiment de 1875 alors devenu vétuste, est l’un des derniers bâtiments ayant servi de pensionnat indien qui existent encore au Canada. Conçu par R. G. Orr, architecte en chef du ministère des Affaires indiennes, le bâtiment est un exemple représentatif d’un pensionnat de style gothique collégial. Sa taille imposante, son apparence institutionnelle, ses ornements gothiques austères et la ségrégation rigide de ses espaces renforcent les objectifs d’assimilation du gouvernement dans leurs liens stylistiques avec les établissements d’enseignement européens. Chez les élèves, l’architecture de l’école accentue les sentiments de peur et d’isolement;
  • le site du pensionnat est l’un des rares qui existent encore aujourd’hui. Composé d’un ensemble notable d’éléments bâtis et de paysages préservés, notamment le cimetière commémoratif Shingwauk (1876), la chapelle commémorative de l’évêque Fauquier (1883), le bâtiment Shingwauk Hall (1934-35), l’ancienne résidence du directeur (1935), l’ancien atelier de menuiserie (1951) et l’école publique Anna McCrea (1956), il témoigne encore aujourd’hui de la longue histoire du système des pensionnats au Canada;
  • depuis la fermeture du pensionnat en 1970, le site est utilisé à des fins de réappropriation culturelle et d’éducation. Depuis plusieurs décennies, l’Université Algoma, la Shingwauk Kinnomaagee Gamig (l’Université Shingwauk), la Children of Shingwauk Alumni Association et leurs partenaires travaillent à restaurer la véritable intention du chef Shingwaukonse et l’essence de sa vision, c’est-à-dire l’éducation et l’apprentissage interculturels, et à réinterpréter le site comme un lieu de guérison et de réconciliation.

Source : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, procès-verbal, décembre 2020.


Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus