The Residential School System is a topic that may cause trauma invoked by memories of past abuse. The Government of Canada recognizes the need for safety measures to minimize the risk associated with triggering. A National Residential School Crisis Line has been set up to provide support for former residential school students. You can access information on the website or access emotional and crisis referral services by calling the 24-Hour National Crisis Line: 1-866-925-4419.

Former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School
© Parks Canada / Allison Sarkar

The Former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School was designated a national historic site in 2020.

Commemorative plaque: No plaque installed Footnote 1

The Former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School

Built in 1914-1915, the former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School is located on Keeshkeemaquah Reserve, part of the reserve lands of Long Plain First Nation. This building was nominated for designation by Long Plain First Nation. Parks Canada and Long Plain First Nation worked collaboratively to identify the historic values of this former residential school, and the report on the building prepared for the Historic Sites and Monuments Board was co-authored by members of the First Nation and Parks Canada.

This large, three-storey brick building is a rare surviving example of residential schools that were established across Canada. It functioned within the residential school system whereby the federal government and certain churches and religious organizations worked together to assimilate Indigenous children as part of a broad set of efforts to destroy Indigenous cultures and identities and suppress Indigenous histories.

Children who were sent to the former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School came from many First Nations and other Indigenous communities within Manitoba and elsewhere. There, they faced severe discipline and abuse, harsh labour, emotional neglect, the attempted suppression of their language and cultures, and isolation from their families and communities. Many children ran away, some to be later returned by force, and others engaged in acts of resistance such as secretly speaking in their own languages. The experiences of survivors of the Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School and other residential schools have affected members of these First Nations for generations.

The design of this three-storey building is typical of residential schools built in the early 20th century and reflects the norms of Euro-Canadian school design. Its imposing size, confining and institutional configuration, and isolated site generated feelings of dislocation, intimidation, and fear in the Indigenous children who lived there. The building was not culturally appropriate for children who were accustomed to living in familiar, open environments where they were free to explore.

The school closed in 1975 and six years later, the building and its surrounding lands were transferred to Long Plain First Nation to fulfill part of their treaty land entitlement. Since that time, the school has been readapted by the First Nation to serve a number of community purposes. It is now known as the Rufus Prince Building, named for a survivor of Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School who served in the Second World War and later became chief of Long Plain First Nation and vice-president of the Manitoba Indian Brotherhood. The building has been given new meaning by the community as a site of commemoration and resilience that keeps the legacy of the residential school era alive and educates the public.

Backgrounder last update: 2020-01-09

Description of historic place

The Former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School National Historic Site of Canada is a large, three-storey brick building located on Keeshkeemaquah Reserve, part of the reserve lands of Long Plain First Nation, just outside the small city of Portage La Prairie, Manitoba. It was designed in an imposing hybrid Neo-Italianate style that was one of several historical styles used for residential schools during this time period. The former school sits on a treed lot and is set back from a relatively quiet road, with a small residential development and other buildings owned by the First Nation nearby, and farmland and Crescent Lake beyond. The school’s farmland once extended far beyond these boundaries. The formal recognition refers to the area that encompasses the current boundaries of the lot, essentially the treed lot surrounding the school.

Heritage value

The Former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School was designated as a National Historic Site of Canada in 2020. It is recognized because:

  • built in 1914–1915, the former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School is a rare surviving example of Indian Residential Schools established across Canada. Managed by the Presbyterian and later United Church, the school functioned within the system of residential schooling in Canada, whereby the federal government and Christian churches worked together in an attempt to assimilate Indigenous children, convert them to Christianity, and isolate them from their families, cultures, languages, and traditions;
  • children who were sent to the former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School came from many First Nations and other Indigenous communities within Manitoba and elsewhere. There, they faced severe discipline and abuse, harsh labour, emotional neglect, the attempted suppression of their language and cultures, and isolation from their families and communities. Many children ran away, some to be later returned by force, and others engaged in acts of resistance such as secretly speaking in their own languages. The experiences of survivors of the Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School and other residential schools have affected members of these First Nations for generations;
  • the design of this three-storey building is typical of Indian Residential Schools built in the early 20th century and reflects the norms of Euro-Canadian school design. Its imposing size, confining and institutional configuration, and isolated site generated feelings of dislocation, intimidation, and fear in the Indigenous children who lived there. The building was not culturally appropriate for children who were accustomed to living in familiar, open environments where they were free to explore.

The school closed in 1975 and six years later, the building and its surrounding lands were transferred to Long Plain First Nation to fulfill part of their treaty land entitlement. Since that time, the school has been readapted by the First Nation to serve a number of community purposes, and has been given new meaning by the community as a site of commemoration and resilience that keeps the legacy of the residential school era alive and educates the public.

The former residential school’s interior and exterior retain many features original to the time when it functioned as a school and residence however the cupola above the front entrance, and the verandahs at the rear of the building have been removed. In the 1980s, the school became the property of Long Plain First Nation and has been readapted for various community uses. This school building is valued as a site of resilience and part of it is dedicated to a museum documenting its history.

Source: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, December 2019.

 

Other national historic designations associated with this one:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Le système des pensionnats autochtones est un sujet pouvant causer des traumatismes évoqués par des souvenirs d’abus passés. Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît la nécessité d’établir des mesures de sécurité afin de minimiser le risque de déclencher une réaction à l'évocation de violences passées. Une ligne d’écoute téléphonique des pensionnats autochtones a été établie au niveau national pour apporter du soutien aux anciens élèves des pensionnats. Vous pouvez obtenir de l’information sur le site Web ou accéder en tout temps à des services de soutien affectif et d’aiguillage en situation de crise en composant le : 1-866-925-4419.

L’ancien pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie
© Allison Sarkar, Parcs Canada, 2019

L’ancien pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie a été désigné lieu historique national en 2020.

Plaque commémorative : Pas de plaque installée Footnote 1

L’ancien pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie

Construit en 1914-1915, l’ancien pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie est situé dans la réserve Keeshkeemaquah, laquelle fait partie des terres de réserve de la Première Nation Long Plain. Une demande de désignation de ce bâtiment a été faite par la Première Nation Long Plain. Parcs Canada et la Première Nation ont collaboré pour déterminer les valeurs historiques de cet ancien pensionnat et rédiger le rapport sur l’édifice préparé pour la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Ce grand bâtiment en brique de trois étages est l’un des rares exemples subsistants des pensionnats autochtones établis à travers le Canada. Il faisait partie du système de pensionnats autochtones où le gouvernement fédéral et certaines églises et organisations religieuses travaillaient ensemble afin d’assimiler les enfants autochtones dans le cadre d’un vaste ensemble de démarches visant à détruire les cultures et les identités autochtones et à supprimer leurs histoires.

Les enfants envoyés au pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie provenaient de plusieurs Premières Nations et d’autres communautés autochtones au Manitoba et ailleurs. Dans cet établissement, ils ont fait face à une discipline sévère, à des abus, à du travail exténuant, à de la négligence affective, à des tentatives d’anéantissement de leur langue et de leur culture ainsi qu’à l’isolement de leur famille et de leur communauté. Plusieurs enfants se sont enfuient, dont certains ont été ramenés de force. D’autres ont choisi la voie de la résistance, notamment en continuant secrètement de parler leur langue. Les expériences des survivants du pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie et des autres pensionnats ont eu des incidences sur les membres de ces Premières Nations pendant des générations.

La conception de ce bâtiment de trois étages est typique des pensionnats autochtones construits au début du XXe siècle et reflète les normes de conception des écoles eurocanadiennes. Sa dimension imposante, son caractère institutionnel et de confinement ainsi que son environnement restrictif inspiraient un sentiment de désaffection, d’intimidation et de peur aux enfants autochtones qui y étaient pensionnaires. Son architecture n’était pas adaptée sur le plan culturel à des enfants habitués à vivre dans un milieu ouvert et familier où ils étaient libres d’explorer.

Le pensionnat a fermé ses portes en 1975. Six ans plus tard, le bâtiment et les terrains environnants ont été cédés à la Première Nation Long Plain afin de remplir en partie leurs droits fonciers issus de traités. Depuis, la Première Nation a adapté l’ancien pensionnat pour lui conférer plusieurs vocations communautaires. Le bâtiment est maintenant connu sous le nom de l’édifice Rufus Prince, nommé en l’honneur d’un survivant du pensionnat qui a servi pendant la Seconde Guerre mondiale et est plus tard devenu chef de la Première Nation Long Plain et vice-président du Manitoba Indian Brotherhood. L’ancien pensionnat a acquis un nouveau sens en tant que lieu de résilience et de commémoration qui préserve l’héritage de l’ère des pensionnats autochtones et permet d’éduquer le public.

Dernière mise à jour de ce document d'information : 2020-01-09

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada de l’Ancien- Pensionnat-Indien-de-Portage-La-Prairie est un grand bâtiment en brique de trois étages situé dans la réserve Keeshkeemaquah, sur les terres de réserve de la Première Nation de Long Plain, à l’extérieur de la petite ville de Portage La Prairie, au Manitoba. Sa conception est de style hybride néo-italianisant, l’un des styles particulièrement en vogue à l’époque pour les pensionnats autochtones. L’ancien pensionnat se trouve sur un terrain arboré, en retrait d’une route relativement paisible, à proximité d’un petit quartier résidentiel et d’édifices appartenant à la Première Nation ainsi que de terres agricoles et du lac Crescent. Auparavant, les terres agricoles du pensionnat s’étendaient bien au-delà du périmètre actuel. La reconnaissance officielle fait référence au territoire qui couvre les limites actuelles du lot, essentiellement le terrain arboré environnant.

Valeur patrimoniale

L’ancien pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada en 2020. Il a été reconnu pour les raisons suivantes :

  • construit en 1914-1915, l’ancien pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie est l’un des rares exemples subsistants des pensionnats indiens établis à travers le Canada. Gérée d’abord par l’Église presbytérienne, puis par l’Église unie, cette école fait partie du réseau de scolarisation en pensionnat au Canada, un régime permettant au gouvernement fédéral et aux Églises chrétiennes d’unir leurs efforts pour tenter d’assimiler les enfants autochtones, de les convertir au christianisme et de les isoler de leur famille, de leur culture, de leur langue et de leurs traditions;
  • les enfants envoyés au pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie proviennent de plusieurs Premières Nations et d’autres communautés autochtones au Manitoba et ailleurs. Dans cet établissement, ils ont dû faire face à une discipline sévère, à des abus, à du travail exigeant, à de la négligence affective, à des tentatives d’anéantissement de leur langue et de leur culture ainsi qu’à l’isolement de leur famille et de leur communauté. Plusieurs enfants s’enfuient, dont certains ont été ramenés de force. D’autres ont choisi la voie de la résistance, notamment en continuant secrètement de parler leur langue. Les expériences des survivants du pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie et des autres pensionnats ont eu des incidences sur les membres de ces Premières Nations pendant des générations;
  • la conception de ce bâtiment de trois étages est typique des pensionnats indiens construits au début du XXe siècle et reflète les normes de conception des écoles eurocanadiennes. Sa dimension imposante, son caractère institutionnel et de confinement ainsi que son environnement restrictif inspiraient un sentiment de désaffection, d’intimidation et de peur aux enfants autochtones qui y étaient pensionnaires. Son architecture n’était pas adaptée sur le plan culturel à des enfants habitués à vivre dans un milieu ouvert et familier où ils étaient libres d’explorer.

Le pensionnat ferme ses portes en 1975. Six ans plus tard, le bâtiment et les terrains environnants sont cédés à la Première Nation de Long Plain pour remplir en partie leurs droits fonciers issus des traités. Depuis, la Première Nation a réadapté l’école pour lui conférer plusieurs vocations communautaires. Le bâtiment a acquis un nouveau sens en tant que lieu de résilience et de commémoration qui permet de préserver l’héritage de l’ère des pensionnats et d’instruire le public.

Bien que l’on retrouve encore à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des éléments architecturaux datant de l’époque où le bâtiment servait de pensionnat, la coupole surmontant l’entrée principale et les vérandas situées à l’arrière ont été retirées. Dans les années 1980, le bâtiment est passé aux mains de la Première Nation de Long Plain, qui l’a réadapté pour lui conférer plusieurs vocations communautaires. Depuis, le bâtiment est valorisé en tant que lieu de résilience et est en partie réservé à un musée qui en relate l’histoire.

Source : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, procès-verbal, décembre 2019.

 

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus