Hunt waiting place made of rocks
General view, date unknown

The fall caribou crossing on the Kazan River has been designated as a national historic site in 1995.

Commemorative plaque: Inuit Heritage Centre, Baker Lake, NunavutFootnote 1

For centuries, the fall caribou crossing on the Kazan River was essential to the inland Inuit, providing them the necessities of daily life and the means to survive the long winter. Once in the water, the caribou were vulnerable to hunters in kayaks who caught and lanced as many animals as possible. The Inuit cherished and cared for the land at crossing areas in accordance with traditional beliefs and practices to ensure the caribou returned each year during their southward migration. To inland Inuit, the caribou were the essence of life, providing food, fuel, tools, clothing and shelter.

 

Group of caribous crossing a river
Caribous, date unknown

Description of historic place

Fall Caribou Crossing National Historic Site of Canada spans a section of the lower Kazan River (Harvaqtuuq) between the Kazan Falls and the narrows in Thirty Mile Lake (Quukilruq) in the Territory of Nunavut. In this area, the river has an east-west orientation, and is relatively narrow with gently sloping shorelines. The entire area is criss-crossed with extensive caribou trails. The designation refers to the entire cultural landscape with its associated resources.

 

View of land and river
General view, date unknown
Person standing near rocks
Unkown man, date unknown

 

A group of caribous crossing a river
Caribou crossing a river, date unknown

Heritage value

Fall Caribou Crossing was designated a national historic site of Canada in 1995 because:

  • the Fall Caribou Crossing hunt on the Kazan River, focusing on the inland or caribou hunt, speaks eloquently to the cultural, spiritual and economic life of the Inuit in the Keewatin region, and
  • stands as a site of particular significance to its community.
Person hunting caribou
Caribou hunting, person and date unknown

The heritage value of Fall Caribou Crossing National Historic Site of Canada lies in its witness to centuries of inland Inuit caribou hunt in a cultural landscape with particular natural geographic features, abundant evidence of human occupation associated with the caribou hunt, and animated by oral histories, cultural traditions and archaeological patterns related to long term inland Inuit use, maintenance and activity. For centuries, the fall caribou crossing on the Kazan River was essential to the inland Inuit, providing them with the necessities of daily life and the means to survive the long winter. Once in the water, the caribou were vulnerable to hunters in kayaks who caught and lanced as many as possible. The Inuit cherished and cared for the land at the crossing areas in accordance with traditional beliefs and practices to ensure that the caribou returned each year during their southward migration. To inland Inuit, the caribou was the essence of life. All parts were valuable for food, fuel, tools, clothing and shelter.

Sources: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, July 1995; Commemorative Integrity Statement, 1997.

 

Related information about this designation:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Une cache de chasse faite de pierres
Vue générale
© Parcs Canada, 2000

L'endroit où les caribous traversaient la rivière Kazan a été désigné lieu historique national en 1995.Footnote 1

Plaque commémorative : Centre Inuit Heritage Centre, Lac Baker, NunavutFootnote 2

Pendant des siècles, les caribous qui traversaient la rivière Kazan, à l'automne, assurèrent la subsistance quotidienne des Inuits de l'intérieur et leur survie durant le long hiver. Une fois dans l'eau, les caribous étaient à la merci des chasseurs en kayak, qui les capturaient et en harponnaient le plus grand nombre possible. Les Inuits vénéraient et protégeaient les lieux de traversée pour assurer le retour annuel des caribous lors de leur migration vers le sud. Ceux-ci étaient pour eux l'essence de la vie et leur procuraient nourriture, combustible, outils, vêtements et abri.

 

Un groupe de caribous traverse une rivière
Caribous, date inconnue
© Parcs Canada, 2000

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada du Passage-de-Caribous-en-Automne est un tronçon du cours inférieur de la rivière Kazan (Harvaqtuuq) situé entre les chutes Kazan et le passage du lac Thirty Mile (Quukilruq), dans le territoire du Nunavut. Dans cette zone, avec ses rivages légèrement en pente, la rivière a une orientation est-ouest et est relativement étroite. On y trouve de nombreux sentiers tracés par les caribous. La désignation a trait à tout le paysage culturel, ainsi qu'aux ressources connexes.

 

A group of caribous crossing a river
Caribous traversant la rivière, date inconnue
© Parcs Canada

Valeur patrimoniale

Le Passage de caribous en automne a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada en 1995 parce que :

  • c’est une zone de chasse au caribou située sur la rivière Kazan qui évoque avec éloquence la vie culturelle, spirituelle et économique des Inuits de la région de Keewatin, et
  • revêt une importance particulière pour cette communauté.
Vue d'un territoire et d'une rivière
Vue générale, date inconnue
© Parcs Canada/Lyle Henderson

La valeur patrimoniale du lieu historique national du Canada du Passage-de-Caribous-en-Automne a trait au fait que, depuis des siècles, les Inuits de l'intérieur y chassent le caribou dans un paysage culturel présentant des caractéristiques géographiques naturelles particulières; on y trouve de nombreux vestiges d’objets ayant servi à la chasse au caribou qui attestent l’occupation humaine de la région, et il est animé par des histoires orales, des traditions culturelles et des parcours archéologiques liés à son utilisation, à son entretien par les Inuits de l’intérieur ainsi qu’aux activités qu’ils y ont pratiqué. Pendant des siècles, le caribou fournissait aux Inuits de l’intérieur tous les éléments nécessaires à leurs besoins quotidiens en plus des moyens pour survivre à l’hiver rigoureux. Lorsque les caribous traversaient la rivière Kazan à cet endroit, ils s’exposaient aux lances des chasseurs en kayak qui pouvaient alors les capturer et les tuer en très grand nombre. Les Inuits avaient un grand respect et un amour de la terre et des passages utilisés par le caribou, conformément à leurs croyances et leurs pratiques traditionnelles; ils s’assuraient ainsi que le caribou reviendrait chaque année au cours de sa migration vers le sud. Le caribou était au cœur de la vie des Inuits de l’intérieur, qui utilisaient précieusement toutes les parties de l’animal dont ils tiraient de la nourriture, du combustible, des outils, des vêtements et des abris.

Sources : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, juillet 1995; Énoncé d'intégrité commémorative, 1997.

 

Informations liées à cette désignation :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus