Erland Lee (Museum) Home National Historic Site of Canada
Main façade
© Parks Canada Agency / Dianne Dodd, 2002.

Erland Lee (Museum) Home was designated a national historic site in November 2002.

Heritage value: The Erland Lee (Museum) Home was designated a national historic site of Canada in 2002 because: it is the site of the drafting of the constitution of the first Women’s Institute and the home of the organizations’ co-founders and leaders, Janet and Erland Lee; it is widely recognized and valued as the birthplace of an important national and international movement for rural and farm women; it is a well-preserved and interpreted home that speaks to the legacy of the Stoney Creek Women’s Institute.

Commemorative plaque: 552 Ridge Road, Stoney Creek, Ontario

This 19th-century farmhouse is the birthplace of Women's Institutes (WI), an organization that played a vital role in thousands of small communities. Inspired by domestic science reformer Adelaide Hoodless, and supported by her husband Erland, Janet Lee drafted the constitution of the Stoney Creek Women's Institute here in 1897. From these roots emerged a movement that spread throughout Canada and the world. In meeting halls across the country, the WI brought women together to learn diverse skills and to promote civic reform, helping them break the grinding isolation of rural life.

 

Other national historic designation associated with this one:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Maison-Musée-Erland-Lee
Façade principale
© Parcs Canada / Dianne Dodd, 2002

La Maison-Musée-Erland-Lee a été désignée lieu historique national en novembre 2002.

Valeur patrimoniale : La Maison-Musée-Erland-Lee a été désignée lieu historique national du Canada en 2002 pour les raisons suivantes : c’est l’endroit où a été rédigé l’acte constitutif du premier Institut féminin et c’est aussi la demeure des cofondateurs et codirigeants de l’organisme, Janet et Erland Lee; la maison est généralement reconnue comme le berceau d’un important mouvement national et international d’agricultrices et de femmes en milieu rural et tenue en grande estime pour cette raison; c’est une maison qui, grâce à son bel état de conservation et à son programme d’interprétation, évoque l’héritage laissé par l’Institut féminin de Stoney Creek.

Plaque commémorative : 552, chemin Ridge, Stoney Creek, Ontario

Cette maison de ferme du XIXe siècle fut le berceau des Instituts féminins, une organisation qui joua un rôle clé dans des milliers de petites communautés. Inspirée par la réformatrice de l'art ménager, Adelaide Hoodless, et épaulée par son mari Erland, Janet Lee rédigea ici l'acte constitutif de l'Institut féminin de Stoney Creek en 1897. Ainsi débuta un mouvement qui se répandit au Canada et dans le monde. Les Instituts féminins réunirent les Canadiennes pour les encourager à développer diverses aptitudes et à faire avancer les réformes civiles, brisant ainsi l'isolement accablant de la vie rurale.

 

Autre désignation historique nationale liée à celle-ci :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus