John Molson (1763-1836)
John Molson (1763-1836) on a Canada Post stamp
© Library and Archives Canada; Canada Post Corporation, Stamp Services

John Molson (1763-1836) was designated a national historic person in April 2021.

John Molson was one of Montréal’s leading entrepreneurs in the late 18th and early 19th centuries. By leading the construction of the first steamboat (1809) and the first railroad (1836) in British North America, he contributed to the early phase of the transportation revolution in the colonies of Lower and Upper Canada in the first third of the 19th century. These technologies proved central to the economic progress of these colonies. Molson also facilitated the transition to mechanized industry in Lower Canada by introducing steam-powered machinery in his businesses. Finally, during the important period when Montréal matured from a small colonial town into the commercial and financial metropolis of the Canadas, Molson contributed to the development of Montréal’s leading institutions, such as the Bank of Montreal and the Montreal General Hospital. 

Building the Molson Brewery

John Molson was born in England and settled in Montréal after immigrating in 1782. One year after his arrival, he joined in a brewing enterprise, then in 1785 became its sole owner. Over the next 20 years, Molson expanded the company, increased production, and made it one of the largest breweries in the colony. Molson Brewery’s success allowed its owner to diversify his activities.

Diversifying his activities

Beginning in 1809, Molson financed the construction of several steamboats, including the Accommodation, the first steamship to make a commercial voyage in British North America. In 1822, he established a steamboat company on the St. Lawrence River called the St. Lawrence Steamboat Company, then in the 1830s, he was the principal shareholder of Canada’s first railway, the Champlain and Saint Lawrence Railroad. Molson also owned hotels and the city’s first performing arts venue, the Theatre Royal, invested in real estate, and built wharves for his steamships in Montréal, Sorel, and Québec City. In 1822, Molson acquired several shares in the Bank of Montreal before being elected to its board of directors two years later. In 1826, he became the bank’s president, a position he held for four years. On the political front, Molson was a member of the Lower Canada House of Assembly for the riding of Montréal East from 1816-20 and was heavily involved in building the Lachine Canal, then from 1830-35, he served on the Legislative Council of Lower Canada.

Introduction of steam engine in the Molson Brewery

Molson’s efforts to build steam engines for his ships laid the foundation for later developments in the industrial sector. As the owner of St. Mary’s Foundry, Molson began supplying Canadian steam engines to the shipbuilding industry in the 1810s. St. Mary’s Foundry eventually began producing stationary engines, mill turbines, and other machinery for the local market. By 1811, the introduction of a steam engine to pump water and grind malt was the first step in Molson Brewery’s transition from craft-based to industrial production. Although the mechanization of production evolved slowly during his lifetime, Molson’s work proved decisive for the emergence of industrial production in Montréal in the following decades.

A community leader

Molson used his wealth and influence for philanthropic activities. In 1819, he and his three sons joined a group of Montréalers who financed the creation of a private hospital, the Montreal General Hospital. Molson served as the hospital’s vice-president from its official founding and as president from 1831-35. In addition, he financially supported the Unitarian Congregation of Montréal in the last years of his life. Shortly before his death in Boucherville on 11 January 1836, Molson dictated the provisions of his will in such a way that would ensure the business would continue to be family run.

Backgrounder last update: 2021-03-29

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

John Molson (1763-1836)
John Molson (1763-1836) sur un timbre de Postes Canada
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada; Société canadienne des postes, Services de timbres

John Molson (1763-1836) a été désigné personnage historique national en avril 2021.

John Molson est l'un des principaux entrepreneurs montréalais à la fin du XVIIIe siècle et dans les premières décennies du XIXe siècle. À travers son implication dans la construction du premier bateau à vapeur (1809) et du premier chemin de fer (1836) en Amérique du Nord britannique, il contribue aux débuts de la révolution des transports dans les colonies du Bas et du Haut-Canada dans le premier tiers du XIXe siècle. Molson facilite également le passage du Bas-Canada à l’industrie mécanisée en introduisant la machine à vapeur dans ses propres entreprises. Il contribue enfin au développement d’institutions montréalaises phares telles que la Banque de Montréal et la création du Montréal General Hospital au moment où Montréal passe d’une petite bourgade coloniale à la métropole commerciale et financière des Canadas.

La naissance de la Molson Brewery 

John Molson est né en Angleterre et s’établit à Montréal après avoir immigré en 1782. Il investit un an plus tard dans une brasserie, en devient l’unique propriétaire en 1785 et recommence à brasser de la bière à l’automne suivant. Au cours des vingt années suivantes, Molson agrandit son établissement, accroît sa production et en fait l’une des plus grandes brasseries de la colonie. 
Le succès de la Molson Brewery permet à son propriétaire de diversifier ses activités.

Diversification de ses activités 

À partir de 1809, il finance la construction de plusieurs bateaux à vapeur, dont l’Accomodation, le premier navire à vapeur à effectuer un trajet commercial dans les eaux de l’Amérique du Nord britannique. En 1822, il établit une entreprise de navigation à vapeur sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent, la St. Lawrence Steamboat Company, et, dans les années 1930, il est le principal actionnaire du premier chemin de fer du Canada, le Champlain and Saint Lawrence Railroad. Molson possède plusieurs hôtels en plus du Theatre Royal, le premier bâtiment de la ville destiné à la présentation de spectacles dramatiques. En 1822, Molson acquiert plusieurs parts dans la Banque de Montréal avant d’être élu sur son conseil d’administration deux ans plus tard. En 1826, il en devient le président, fonction qu’il occupe pendant quatre ans. Sur la scène politique, Molson est député pour la circonscription de Montréal-Est à la Chambre d’assemblée du Bas-Canada de 1816 à 1820 et s’engage notamment dans le dossier du canal de Lachine. De 1830 à 1835, il siège au Conseil législatif du Bas-Canada.

Introduction du moteur à vapeur dans la Molson Brewery

Les efforts consacrés par Molson à la construction de moteurs à vapeur pour ses bateaux forment aussi les bases des développements ultérieurs dans le milieu industriel. Propriétaire de la St. Mary’s Foundry, Molson commence à fournir dès la décennie 1810 des moteurs à vapeur canadiens à l’industrie navale. La St. Mary’s Foundry va ultimement commencer à produire des engins stationnaires, des turbines de moulins et d’autres machineries pour le marché local. Dès 1811, l’introduction d’une machine à vapeur pour pomper l’eau et broyer le malt constitue la première étape de la transition de la Molson Brewery du travail artisanal à la production industrielle. Si la mécanisation de la production demeure assez lente au cours de sa vie, les efforts de Molson pour développer les navires à vapeur se révèlent déterminants pour l’émergence à Montréal de la production industrielle dans les décennies suivantes.

Un leader pour sa communauté

Molson utilise également sa fortune et son influence pour des activités philanthropiques. En 1819, avec ses trois fils, il se joint à un groupe de Montréalais qui financent la création d’un établissement hospitalier privé, le Montréal General Hospital. Molson est également vice-président de l’hôpital à partir de sa fondation officielle et président de 1831 à 1835. De plus, il appuie financièrement la Congrégation unitarienne de Montréal dans les dernières années de sa vie. Peu avant son décès à Boucherville, le 11 janvier 1836, Molson dicte les dispositions testamentaires qui, d’une certaine manière, assureront la pérennité et le caractère familial de l’entreprise. 

Dernière mise à jour de ce document d'information : 2021-03-29

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus