Massey Hall was designated a national historic site in June 1981.

Heritage value: Massey Hall was designated a national historic site of Canada in 1981 because it has served as one of Canada's most important cultural institutions and has earned widespread renown for its outstanding acoustics.

Commemorative plaque: 178 Victoria Street, Toronto, Ontario

Since its opening in 1894, massey Hall has served as one of Canada's most important cultural institutions. A gift to Toronto from wealthy industrialist Hart Massey, it provided the city with professional concert facilities. Its presence gave a new impetus to the city's budding music community which let to the founding of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra and Toronto Mendelssohn Choir. Although critized for its plain exterior, the concert hall has earned widespread renown for its outstanding acoustics. Over the years it has attracted orchestras, soloists and speakers from around the world.

General view of Massey Hall National Historic Site of Canada
General view
© Parks Canada Agency/Jim Molnar, 2005
Vue de l'intérieur du Lieu historique national du Canada Massey Hall
Interior view
© Parks Canada Agency/HRS 0821, 1990

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Le Massey Hall a été désigné comme lieu historique national en juin 1981.

Valeur patrimoniale : Massey Hall a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada en 1981 parce qu'il est une des institutions culturelles les plus importantes du Canada, et qu'il est renommé pour son acoustique exceptionnelle.

Plaque commémorative : 178, rue Victoria, Toronto, Ontario

Offrert à Toronto par le riche industriel Hart Massey et inauguré en 1894, Massey Hall devint une salle de concert importante pour musiciens professionnels. La présence stimula la vie musicale dans la ville et amena la fondation de l'orchestre symphonique et du choeur Mendelssohn de Toronto. L'extérieur de Massey Halll est modeste, c'est son acoustique qui lui a valu sa grande renommée. Au fil des ans, elle a attiré des orchestres, des solistes et des conférenciers du monde entier, devenant ainsi l'un des établissements culturels les plus renommés du Canada.

Vue générale du Lieu historique national du Canada Massey Hall
Vue générale
© Agence Parcs Canada, Jim Molnar, 2005
Vue de l'intérieur du Lieu historique national du Canada Massey Hall
Vue de l'intérieur
© Agence Parcs Canada, HRS 0821, 1990

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus