Black and white photo of a women and a man in a small boat
Mabel Hubbard Bell and her husband Alexander Graham Bell in their  motorboat Ranzo at Beinn Bhreagh, Nova Scotia, August 1914.
© Library and Archives Canada/PA-089114

Mabel Hubbard Bell was designated a national historic person in 2017.

Historical importance: Wife and collaborator of Alexander Graham Bell, community organiser and philanthropist.

Commemorative plaque: 559 Chebucto, Baddeck, Nova Scotia Footnote 1

Mabel G. Hubbard Bell was an influential community organizer and philanthropist. After losing her hearing as a child in Massachusetts, she continued to speak and learned to read lips with the encouragement of her parents, who advocated the oral method of education for the deaf. She married inventor Alexander Graham Bell in 1877, and provided crucial support for his scientific research in the United States and at their Beinn Bhreagh estate. While living in Cape Breton, Mabel Bell helped establish the Young Ladies’ Club of Baddeck in 1891, as well as the first Montessori classes, and the earliest home and school association in Canada.

Mabel Hubbard Bell

Mabel Gardiner Hubbard Bell was a leader in her adopted community of Baddeck, Nova Scotia, and the active partner of her husband, inventor Alexander Graham Bell. After losing her hearing as a child, American-born Mabel continued to speak and learned to read lips with the encouragement of her parents, who advocated the oral method of education for the deaf. She provided crucial support to Alexander Bell’s work as an inventor and scientist, personally financing the Aerial Experiment Association (AEA), which contributed to early aviation history by creating four airplane prototypes. One of these, the Silver Dart, achieved the first controlled, powered flight in Canada. In addition, Mabel Bell helped establish the Young Ladies’ Club of Baddeck in 1891, as well as the first Montessori classes, and the earliest home and school association in Canada.

Born Mabel Gardiner Hubbard in Boston in 1857, she lost her hearing at the age of five as a result of scarlet fever. Rather than teach her sign language, her parents chose the oral method of deaf education, by which Mabel continued to speak and learned to read lips. One of her later speech tutors was Alexander Graham Bell, whom she married in 1877. During their engagement, he partnered with Mabel’s father and another investor on an invention that led to the invention of the telephone. Mabel understood the technical aspects of his innovations and took an active interest in his work, encouraging commercial applications.

Panels on Mabel Bell at Alexander Graham Bell Museum, Cape Breton
Interpretative panels on Mabel Hubbard Bell, Alexander Graham Bell Museum, Cape Breton, date unknown.

The Bell family lived in Washington, DC and summered in Baddeck Bay, Nova Scotia, after 1885, eventually building a home called Beinn Bhreagh Hall on Cape Breton Island. There, Alexander Bell conducted tetrahedral kite experiments, as part of broader efforts to understand the principles of flight. Mabel Bell recruited young engineers to help him, and funded the AEA, which was created in 1907.

Mabel Bell added considerably to her Nova Scotia community by helping to establish the Young Ladies’ Club of Baddeck in 1891, which is still active today as the Alexander Graham Bell Club. Working through the Young Ladies’ Club, she promoted the concept of the home and school association then being pioneered in the United States. This initiative led to the founding of the Parents’ Association of Baddeck in 1895, which later evolved into the Canadian Home and School Federation, founded in 1927. Mabel Bell also established Montessori classes in the town, the first of their kind in Canada. Additionally, she financially supported local healthcare and created a program to help women improve their handicraft skills and sell their work.

When Mabel Bell died in 1923, she left behind an important legacy as a contributor to her husband’s scientific achievements and as an influential community organizer whose charitable works in health, education, and literacy had a local and, in some cases, national impact.

Backgrounder last update: 2018-07-20

 

Other national historic designations associated with this one:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Black and white photo of a women and a man in a small boat
Mabel Hubbard Bell et son mari Alexander Graham Bell dans leur canot à moteur Ranzo, à Beinn Bhreagh, Nouvelle-Écosse, août 1914.
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada/PA-089114

Mabel Hubbard Bell a été désignée personnage historique national en 2017.

Importance historique : Épouse et partneraire d'Alexander Graham Bell, organisatrice communautaire et philanthrope.

Plaque commémorative : 559 Chebucto, Baddeck, Nouvelle-Écosse Footnote 1

Mabel G. Hubbard Bell est une influente philanthrope et organisatrice communautaire. Perdant l’ouïe dès son enfance au Massachusetts, elle continue de parler et apprend la lecture labiale grâce à ses parents qui prônent la méthode d’éducation oraliste pour les sourds. Elle épouse l’inventeur Alexander Graham Bell en 1877, et elle l’appuie dans ses travaux de recherche aux États-Unis et à leur domaine Beinn Bhreagh. Alors qu’elle habite au Cap-Breton, Mabel Bell aide à établir le Young Ladies’ Club de Baddeck, en 1891, ainsi que les premiers cours Montessori et la première association foyer-école au Canada.

Mabel Hubbard Bell

Mabel Gardiner Hubbard Bell est une figure de proue dans sa communauté d’adoption à Baddeck, en Nouvelle-Écosse, ainsi que la partenaire active de son mari, l’inventeur Alexander Graham Bell. Perdant l’ouïe dès son enfance, Mabel, qui est née aux États-Unis, continue à parler et apprend la lecture labiale grâce à ses parents qui prônent la méthode d’éducation oraliste pour les sourds. Mabel apporte un soutien crucial à Alexander Bell dans ses travaux d’inventeur et de scientifique, finançant personnellement l’Aerial Experiment Association (AEA), laquelle contribue aux débuts de l’aviation en créant quatre prototypes d’avion. L’un de ces prototypes, le Silver Dart, réalise le premier vol motorisé et contrôlé au Canada. De plus, Mabel Bell aide à établir le Young Ladies’ Club de Baddeck en 1891, ainsi que les premiers cours Montessori et la première association foyer-école du Canada.

Née Mabel Gardiner Hubbard à Boston en 1857, elle perd l’ouïe à l’âge de cinq ans des suites de la scarlatine. Plutôt que de lui enseigner la langue des signes, ses parents choisissent la méthode d’éducation oraliste par laquelle Mabel continue à parler et apprend la lecture labiale. L’un de ses professeurs de langue est Alexander Graham Bell, qu’elle épouse en 1877. Tandis qu’ils sont fiancés, Bell s’associe au père de Mabel et à un autre investisseur pour créer un appareil qui mène à l’invention du téléphone. Mabel comprend les aspects techniques de ses innovations et s’intéresse de près à ses travaux, encourageant leur application à des fins commerciales.

Panels on Mabel Bell at Alexander Graham Bell Museum, Cape Breton
Panneaux d'interprétation sur Mabel Bell, Musée Alexander Graham Bell, Cap Breton, date inconnue.

Les Bell habitent à Washington et passent leurs étés dans la baie de Baddeck, en Nouvelle-Écosse, dès 1885. Plus tard, ils y construisent une demeure appelée Beinn Bhreagh Hall, sur l’île du Cap-Breton. À cet endroit, Alexander Bell effectue des expériences sur des cerfs-volants tétraédriques dans le cadre de ses travaux pour comprendre les principes de l’aviation. Mabel Bell recrute de jeunes ingénieurs pour l’aider et finance l’AEA, qui est fondée en 1907.

Mabel Bell apporte une contribution importante à sa communauté néo-écossaise en aidant à la création du Young Ladies’ Club de Baddeck en 1891, qui demeure en activité aujourd’hui sous le nom d’Alexander Graham Bell Club. Par l’intermédiaire de ce club, elle fait la promotion du concept d’association foyer-école alors nouveau aux États-Unis. Cette initiative mène à la fondation de la Parents’ Association de Baddeck en 1895 qui est à l’origine de la création de la Fédération Canadienne des Associations Foyer-École en 1927. Mabel Bell fonde également des groupes d’enseignement selon la méthode Montessori à Baddeck, les premiers du genre au Canada. Par ailleurs, elle contribue financièrement aux soins de santé locaux et crée un programme pour aider les femmes à améliorer leurs habiletés artisanales et à vendre leurs produits.

À sa mort en 1923, Mabel Bell laisse un héritage important à la fois comme contributrice aux exploits scientifiques de son mari et comme organisatrice communautaire d’influence dont les œuvres caritatives en santé, en éducation et en alphabétisation ont porté fruit à l’échelle locale et parfois même nationale.

Dernière mise à jour de ce document d'information : 2018-07-20

 

Autres désignations historiques nationales liées à celle-ci :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus