Historical photo of a woman standing and smiling
Lucile Clifton in 1948.
© Courtesy of the Prince Rupert City & Regional Archives & Museum of Northern B.C., Wrathall collection / JRW2208

‘Wii Niisł Puuntk (Lucille Clifton) was designated a national historic person in May 2016.

Historical importance: Former Laxsgiik (Eagle Clan) leader, she is an outstanding example of a centuries-old role held by prominent Gitga’at (Tsimshian) women in this matrilineal society, held traditional knowledge and passed on cultural practices.

Commemorative plaque: Hartley Bay Cultural Centre, in Hartley Bay (Gitga’at First Nation), British Columbia

Honoured and remembered for her teachings, this Laxsgiik (Eagle Clan, House of Sinaxe’et) matriarch held great rights and responsibilities in Gitga'at society. Dedicated to passing on ancestral knowledge, she fought to preserve cultural practices and nurtured spiritual life in her community. She applied her deep understanding of plants and their uses in her work as a healer and midwife. Her memorable feasts celebrated traditional foods and reinforced social protocols and ceremony. As Hartley Bay, which was founded in 1887, faced disruption due to the loss of land and government policies, Lucille Clifton taught generations how to remain Gitga'at.

‘Wii Niisł Puuntk (Lucille Clifton)

Honoured and remembered for her teachings, Wii Niisł Puuntk (Lucille Clifton) was the Laxsgiik (Eagle Clan, House of Sinaxe’et) matriarch of the Gitga’at of Hartley Bay for over half a century, beginning around 1890. At a time when her community faced broad cultural disruption, she was one of the few who still held ancestral knowledge. Recognizing its intrinsic value for the future, Clifton dedicated her life to passing on cultural practices such as social protocols and ceremonial ways, as well as Indigenous and non-Indigenous health skills, including midwifery. She is especially remembered for her knowledge of plants from the sea and from the land, their harvesting and processing into food and medicine, and their manufacture into items of everyday use. Her teaching helped to preserve cultural practices and she taught generations how to remain Gitga’at.

Clifton is an outstanding example of a centuries-old role played by prominent Gitga’at women in this matrilineal society. She belonged to the Gitga’at people of Hartley Bay, one of 14 individual First Nations that form the broader Tsimshian of the northwestern corner of British Columbia. She became the matriarch of the Laxsgiik (Eagle Clan, House of Sinaxe’et) of Hartley Bay, making her the highest-ranking female in the clan. Her primary responsibilities were to manage the territory of the House of Sinaxe’et, to provide for its members, and to meet the social and ceremonial responsibilities of the house with respect to the clan, but also to other houses of the Gitga’at.

 

Historical photo of a man and a woman standing side by side
Lucille Clifton and her husband.
© Courtesy of Teresa Robinson for Gitga'at First Nation / Parks Canada
Commemorative plaque for Lucille Clifton
Trilingual commemorative plaque: Sm’algyax, English and French - ‘Wii Niisł Puuntk (Lucille Clifton) National Historic Person. This commemorative plaque was publicly unveiled on October 4, 2018.

 

For over 50 years, Clifton carried out the responsibilities of being the matriarch while also guiding the Gitga’at through a period of broad and traumatic change. By the 1880s, culture loss had been extensive throughout Tsimshian territory. Government laws and the adoption of Christianity changed ancient links to secret societies and shamanism, created substantial language losses, and outlawed ceremonies and feasts such as potlatches, all of which were central to Tsimshian social framework and community relationships. Land losses were significant due to European encroachment and these culminated in the creation of reserve lands. As a result, access was lost to a number of important traditional resource areas, thus changing the Gitga’at relationship with the land.

Within this context, Clifton passed on her multi-faceted and vast set of ancestral knowledge. She left a lasting legacy of teaching traditional social protocols and the celebration of foods through community feasting. A midwife and healer, she was also trained in non-Indigenous hygiene and disease prevention at a time when European diseases still had a devastating effect on the Tsimshian. She also played an important role in nurturing the spiritual life of Hartley Bay, having adapted Protestant Christianity to Gitga’at culture. Clifton continues to stand out in memory as a leader, teacher and mentor in her community of Hartley Bay.

Backgrounder last update: 2018-02-26

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Historical photo of a woman standing and smiling
Lucile Clifton en 1948.
© Courtoisie de Prince Rupert City & Regional Archives & Museum of Northern B.C., Wrathall collection / JRW2208

‘Wii Niisł Puuntk (Lucille Clifton) a été désignée personnage historique national en mai 2016.

Importance historique : Ancienne chef des Laxsgiik (clan des Aigles), elle est un exemple remarquable du rôle séculaire des femmes gitga’at (tsimshian) de haut rang dans leur société matrilinéaire, a veillé à la transmission du savoir traditionnel et de pratiques culturelles.

Plaque commémorative Hartley Bay Cultural Centre, à Hartley Bay (Première Nation Gitga’at), Colombie-Britannique

Honorée pour ses enseignements, cette matriarche des Laxsgiik (clan de l’Aigle, maison de Sinaxe’et) assume d’importantes responsabilités chez les Gitga’at. Elle transmet le savoir ancestral, lutte pour préserver les pratiques culturelles et guide la vie spirituelle des siens. Elle applique sa connaissance des plantes médicinales comme guérisseuse et sage-femme et tient des festins qui célèbrent les aliments traditionnels et les protocoles sociaux et cérémoniels. Alors que Hartley Bay, fondée en 1887, est perturbée par la perte de son territoire et minée par les politiques gouvernementales, elle enseigne l’identité gitga’at à ses contemporains.

‘Wii Niisł Puuntk (Lucille Clifton)

Honorée et reconnue pour ses enseignements, ‘Wii Niisł Puuntk (Lucille Clifton) est matriarche des Laxsgiik (clan des Aigles, maison de Sinaxe’et) des Gitga’at de Hartley Bay pendant plus d’un demi-siècle à partir d’environ 1890. À une époque où sa communauté est confrontée à de graves bouleversements culturels, elle est une des rares membres qui détiennent toujours le savoir ancestral. Consciente de la valeur intrinsèque de ces connaissances pour l’avenir, Clifton consacre sa vie à transmettre des pratiques culturelles comme les protocoles sociaux et les pratiques cérémonielles de même que son savoir sur les soins de santé autochtones comme non autochtones, y compris la pratique du métier de sage-femme. On se souvient tout particulièrement d’elle pour sa connaissance des plantes terrestres et marines, qu’elle sait récolter et transformer pour nourrir et soigner ou encore fabriquer des objets d’usage courant. Ses enseignements contribuent à la préservation des pratiques culturelles, alors qu’elle enseigne l’identité gitga’at à ses contemporains.

Lucille Clifton est un exemple exceptionnel du rôle pluricentenaire occupé par les femmes gitga’at dans une société matrilinéaire. Elle est membre de la communauté gitga’at de Hartley Bay, l’une des 14 Premières Nations distinctes des Tsimshians qui occupent le vaste territoire de la pointe nord-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle devient la matriarche des Laxsgiik (clan des Aigles, maison de Sinaxe’et) de Hartley Bay, et donc la femme au rang le plus élevé de son clan. Ses principales responsabilités consistent à gérer le territoire de la maison Sinaxe’et, assurer la subsistance de ses membres et à s’acquitter des responsabilités sociales et cérémonielles de la maison de Sinaxe’et avec respect au sein du clan, mais également vis-à-vis des autres maisons des Gitga’at.

 

Historical photo of a man and a woman standing side by side
Lucille Clifton et son mari
© Courtoisie de Teresa Robinson pour la Première Nation Gitga'at / Parcs Canada
Commemorative plaque for Lucille Clifton
Plaque commémorative trilingue : Sm’algyax, Anglais et Français - Personnage historique national de ‘Wii Niisł Puuntk (Lucille Clifton). Cette plaque commémorative a été dévoilée publiquement le 4 octobre 2018.

 

Pendant plus de 50 ans, Clifton assume ses responsabilités de matriarche tout en guidant les Gitga’at, qui traversent alors une période de changement considérable et traumatisante. Dans les années 1880, les pertes culturelles ont marqué presque tout le territoire tsimshian. L’adoption du christianisme et l’imposition des lois gouvernementales bouleversent les liens anciens des peuples avec les sociétés secrètes et le chamanisme, réduisent grandement la connaissance de la langue et interdisent des cérémonies et fêtes comme le potlatch. Tous ces éléments nourrissaient le tissu social et encadraient les relations au sein de la collectivité des Tsimshian. L’empiètement des colons européens entraîne de vastes pertes de territoires, culminant avec la création des réserves. Par conséquent, d’importants territoires traditionnels de récolte de ressources sont devenus inaccessibles aux Gitga’at, modifiant leur rapport à la terre.

Dans ce contexte, Clifton transmet ses vastes connaissances ancestrales multidimensionnelles. Elle laisse un legs durable grâce à l’enseignement des protocoles sociaux traditionnels et à la célébration des aliments par les festins communautaires. Sage-femme et guérisseuse, elle a également reçu une formation en prévention des maladies et une formation non autochtone sur l’hygiène alors que les maladies européennes ont toujours un effet dévastateur chez les Tsimshians. Elle exerce également un rôle important en guidant la vie spirituelle de Hartley Bay, ayant adapté le christianisme protestant à la culture des Gitga’at. Clifton se distingue toujours dans les mémoires comme matriarche, enseignante et mentor dans sa communauté d’Hartley Bay.

Dernière mise à jour de ce document d'information : 2018-02-26

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus