Papineau House was designated a national historic site in November 1968.

Commemorative plaque: 440 Bonsecours Street, Montréal, Quebec

Built in 1785, this stone house has the rectangular shape and gable roof typical of contemporary urban architecture in Quebec. Between 1814 and 1871 the house belonged to Louis-Joseph Papineau, who lived here at irregular intervals. During the 1830s, Papineau made a number of changes to the house in keeping with the Neoclassic style then in vogue, including covering the facade with wood panelling in imitation of cut stone. A lawyer and politician, Papineau (1786-1871) was the leader of the parti canadien and a principal figure in the events of 1837.

Façade de la Maison papineau
Front Façade
© Parks Canada, 1990
Front façade of Papineau House
Front Façade. The restoration gave back to the house it's 1830s appearance.
© Parks Canada

Louis-Joseph Papineau National Historic Site

This stone house, built in 1785, was the home of Louis-Joseph Papineau (1786-1871) during the most active and important period of his life: when he was Speaker of the House of Assembly of Lower Canada and then leader of the Parti canadien, which became the Parti patriote. The house features an amalgamation of several architectural styles, merging French and English influences. Papineau acquired this French Regime residence in 1814, enlarged it in 1831-32, and added a neoclassical façade of wood cladding, fashioned to simulate cut stone.

View of a door at Papineau house
Detail
Rear elevation of Papineau house
Rear elevation
Interior view of Papineau house
Interior view

Joseph Papineau, the father of Louis-Joseph Papineau, originally purchased the house in 1809, and then Louis-Joseph acquired it from his father five years later. Louis-Joseph altered the residence by adding a brick extension with a passageway and a porte cochère, and then positioned the entrance to the home off-centre in the style of houses in London. Wooden wainscoting made to look like cut stone was affixed to the façade in order to conceal the different materials (foundation stone, stone cladding, bricks) and the foundation which had been partly exposed because of the lowering of Bonsecours Street after the demolition of the Citadel.

Former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School
© Sisters of Charity, Halifax, Congregational Archives

As a leader of the Parti patriote and a defender of republicanism in Lower Canada, Papineau became the guiding force of a vast movement of popular protest in the 1830s. As tensions mounted in the years leading up to the 1837 uprising, the Bonsecours Street house was the setting for numerous political demonstrations. On several occasions between 1834 and 1837, it was attacked and damaged. The Patriotes accused the British troops of parading in front of the house in a political manner on St. George’s Day in 1835. The house was also the scene of armed military organizing by the Patriotes from 7 November to 13 November 1837, the day Papineau left the house for the countryside. At the end of November, when the defeat of the Patriotes was imminent, Papineau fled to the United States and then sailed to France in 1839.

Granted amnesty in 1844, Papineau came back to Lower Canada 1845. Upon his return from exile, Papineau continued to live in his Montréal house until the completion of “Monte-Bello,” his seigneurial manor in 1850. The house was then passed on from generation to generation in the Papineau family until 1920.

Backgrounder last update: 2021-09-22

 

Learn more about Louis-Joseph Papineau National Historic Site and plan a visit.

 

More information on the commemorative plaque unveiling ceremony:

 

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

La maison Papineau a été désignée comme lieu historique national en novembre 1968.

Plaque commémorative : 440, rue Bonsecours, Montréal, Québec

Construite en 1785, cette maison de pierre, de forme rectangulaire avec toit à pignon, est caractéristique de l'architecture urbaine du Québec de l'époque. Louis-Joseph Papineau y habita occasionnellement de 1814 à 1871 . Durant les années 1830, Papineau apporta quelques changements à la maison. Il fit notamment recouvrir la façade d'un lambris de bois imitant la pierre de taille, selon le style néo-classique alors à la mode. Avocat et homme politique, Papineau (1786-1871) fut le chef du parti canadien et l'une des figures marquantes des évènements de 1837.

Façade de la Maison papineau
Façade frontale
© Parcs Canada, 1990
Façade avant de la maison Papineau
Façade frontale. Sa restauration lui a redonné son apparence des années 1830.
© Parcs Canada

Lieu historique national Louis-Joseph-Papineau

Cette maison en pierre, bâtie en 1785, est la demeure de Louis-Joseph Papineau (1786-1871) lors de la période la plus active et la plus importante de sa vie, alors qu’il est président de la Chambre d’assemblée du Bas-Canada puis chef du Parti canadien, qui devient le Parti patriote. La maison présente un amalgame de plusieurs styles architecturaux, alliant les influences françaises et anglaises. Papineau fait l’acquisition de cette demeure du Régime français en 1814, l’agrandit en 1831-1832 et la dote d’une façade en bois imitant la pierre de taille, dans l’esprit néoclassique.

Joseph Papineau, le père de Louis-Joseph Papineau, achète d’abord la maison en 1809, puis Louis-Joseph l’acquière de son père cinq ans plus tard. Louis-Joseph modifie la résidence en la dotant d’une allonge en brique avec passage et porte cochère, puis en décentrant la porte d’entrée à la manière d’une maison londonienne. Un lambris de bois imitant la pierre de taille est posé sur la façade afin de masquer les matériaux divergents (pierre de fondation, pierre de parement, brique) et les fondations, qui avaient été en partie exposées par l’abaissement de la rue de Bonsecours après la démolition de la citadelle.

vue d'une porte de la maison Papineau
Vue en détail
Façade arrière de la maison Papineau
Façade arrière
Vue intérieur de la maison Papineau
Vue de l'intérieur 

En tant que chef du Parti patriote et défenseur des idéaux républicains au Bas-Canada, Papineau devient l’âme dirigeante du vaste mouvement de protestation populaire des années 1830. Alors que les tensions montent au cours des années précédant le soulèvement de 1837, la maison de la rue Bonsecours est le théâtre de plusieurs manifestations politiques. À de nombreuses reprises de 1834 à 1837, la maison est attaquée et endommagée. Les Patriotes accusent également les troupes britanniques de défiler devant la maison de manière politique le jour de la Saint Georges en 1835. De plus, la maison est le théâtre d’une organisation militaire armée par les Patriotes du 7 au 13 novembre 1837, le jour où Papineau fuit la maison pour la campagne. À la fin du mois de novembre, alors que la défaite des Patriotes est imminente, Papineau s’enfuit aux États-Unis, puis, en 1839, il s’embarque pour la France. 

Amnistié en 1844, il rentre au pays en 1845. À son retour d’exil, Papineau revient vivre à sa maison de Montréal jusqu’à l’achèvement en 1850 de « Monte-Bello », son manoir seigneurial. La maison est ensuite transmise de génération en génération chez les Papineau jusqu’en 1920.

Dernière mise à jour de ce document d'information : 2021-09-22

 

Apprenez-en davantage sur le lieu historique national Louis-Joseph Papineau et planifiez une visite.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus