General view of a building and visitors
General view of the Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site, date unknown.

The Alexander Graham Bell Museum and property were designated a national historic site in 1952.

Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Person's commemorative plaque: 559 Chebucto Street, Baddeck, Nova Scotia

Teacher, scientist and inventor, Bell devoted his life, with unusual success, to the benefit of mankind. Known chiefly as the inventor of the telephone, he also produced important inventions and discoveries in medecine, aeronautics, marine engineering, genetics and electrical science, and greatly advanced the methods and practices of teaching the deaf. Born in Scotland, citizen of the United Sates and longtime resident of Canada, Bell is himself a symbol of the international impact of his achievements. He died near here at his summer home, Beinn Bhreagh.

Description of historic place

Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site consists of a 20th-century museum building containing Bell memorabilia, set on a 10 hectare property overlooking Baddeck Bay, part of Bras d'Or Lake, and Beinn Bhreagh, Alexander Graham Bell's summer home.

 

General view of a building
General view of Alexander Graham Bell Museum, date unknown.
General view of a building
General view of Alexander Graham Bell Museum, date unknown.

Heritage value

Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site was established as a historic museum in 1954 to house Alexander Graham Bell memorabilia. The reason for national significance is that the memorabilia are associated with Alexander Graham Bell, teacher, scientist and inventor, a person of national historic significance.

The heritage value of this site resides in the associations of the artifacts with Alexander Graham Bell and in the site's proximity to Bell's summer home which he established in Baddeck, Nova Scotia in 1886 and occupied it for a regular part of every year until his death in 1922. There, he conducted scientific experiments in sound transmission, medicine, aeronautics, marine engineering and space-frame construction.

The HSMBC has also commemorated- Frederick Walker ''Casey'' Baldwin and Douglas McCurdy for their flight experiments in Baddeck in association with Bell.

Source: HSMBC Minutes, April 1952 and June 1977, Commemorative Integrity Statement

Character-defining elements

Commemorative plaque on a brick wall
Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada commemorative plaque for Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Person (1847-1922), located at the Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site, 2002.

Bell memorabilia, including:

  • artifacts donated by the Bell family in 1955 from Kite House;
  • the family's personal museum on the estate of A.G.Bell established in 1910 (including various items of furniture, clothing and photographs);
  • memorabilia donated to the Government of Canada by the Bell family (including items associated with Bell's scientific experiments in Baddeck such as the tetrahedral shelter, the original HD-4 hull, and a hydrofoil towing target as well as various awards and certificates);
  • memorabilia associated with Bell on permanent loan to the Government of Canada by members of the Bell family (largely honours received by Bell);
  • artifacts directly associated with Bell that have been donated by non-family members (unlisted);
  • the contents of Bell's library (1500 books and periodicals) donated by the Bell family in the 1970s;
  • the setting of the museum in Baddeck Nova Scotia.

 

Other national historic designations associated with this one:

 

Learn more about Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site and plan a visit.

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Vue générale d'un édifice et des visiteurs
Vue générale du lieu historique national Alexander-Graham-Bell, date inconnue.

Le Musée Alexander-Graham-Bell et le domaine ont été désignés lieu historique national en 1952.

Plaque commémorative du personnage historique national d'Alexander Graham Bell : 559 rue Chebucto, Baddeck, Nouvelle-Écosse

Né en Écosse, citoyen américain et résident au Canada, Bell fut le symbole vivant de l'internationalisme de ses travaux. Comme enseignant, chercheur et inventeur, il consacra sa vie à l'avancement des connaissances humaines. Il est surtout renommé pour l'invention du téléphone, mais il s'illustra aussi en médecine, en aéronautique, en génie maritime, en génétique et en génie électrique. Il est l'auteur de nombreuses inventions et découvertes, dont quelques-unes contribuèrent à améliorer les méthodes et les techniques d'enseignement aux sourds. Il mourut près d'ici, à sa résidence estivale de Beinn Bhreagh.

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national Alexander-Graham-Bell est un musée du 20e siècle, contenant des objets ayant appartenu à M. Bell, situé sur une propriété de 10 hectares ayant une vue sur la baie de Baddeck, sur une partie du lac Bras d'Or et sur Beinn Bhreagh, la maison d'été d'Alexander Graham Bell.

 

Vue générale d'un édifice
Vue générale du Musée Alexander-Graham-Bell, date inconnue.
Vue générale d'un édifice
Vue générale du Musée Alexander-Graham-Bell, date inconnue.

Valeur patrimoniale

Le lieu historique national Alexander-Graham-Bell a été établi à titre de musée historique en 1954 afin d'abriter les objets liés à la vie d'Alexander Graham Bell. L'importance nationale de ce lieu a été reconnue, car les objets qui s'y trouvent sont liés à la vie d'Alexander Graham Bell, enseignant, scientifique et inventeur, une personne d'importance historique nationale.

La valeur patrimoniale de ce lieu se trouve dans l'association des artefacts avec Alexander Graham Bell et dans le lieu à proximité de la maison d'été de Bell qu'il a construite à Baddeck, Nouvelle-Écosse, en 1886 et qu'il a occupée de façon régulière pendant un certain temps chaque année, jusqu'à sa mort en 1922. Il a réalisé à cet endroit des expériences scientifiques sur la transmission du son, la médecine, l'aéronautique, le génie maritime et la construction de structures tridimensionnelles.

La CLMHC a également décidé de commémorer Frederick Walker ''Casey'' Baldwin et Douglas McCurdy pour leurs expériences de vols à Baddeck, en collaboration avec Bell.

Source : Procès-verbal de la CLMHC, avril 1952 et juin 1977, énoncé d'intégrité commémorative

Éléments caractéristiques

Plaque commémorative sur mur de briques
Plaque commémorative de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada pour le personnage historique national d'Alexander Graham Bell (1847-1922), située au lieu historique national Alexander-Graham-Bell, 2002.

Objets liés à la vie de Bell, notamment :

  • artefacts donnés par la famille Bell en 1955 provenant de la maison Kite ;
  • le musée personnel de la famille sur le domaine d'A.G. Bell établi en 1910 (y compris divers meubles, vêtements et photographies) ;
  • objets donnés au gouvernement du Canada par la famille Bell (y compris des objets associés aux expériences scientifiques de Bell à Baddeck, comme l'abri tétraédrique, la coque originale du HD-4 et une cible-remorque pour hydroptère, de même que divers prix et certificats) ;
  • objets liés à Bell prêtés de façon permanente au gouvernement du Canada par les membres de la famille Bell (en grande partie des décorations reçues par Bell) ;
  • objets liés directement à Bell donnés par des personnes ne faisant pas partie de la famille (ne sont pas inscrits au répertoire) ;
  • le contenu de la bibliothèque de Bell (1500 livres et périodiques donnés par la famille Bell dans les années 1970) ;
  • l'emplacement du musée à Baddeck, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

 

Autres désignations historiques nationales liées à celle-ci :

 

Apprenez-en davantage sur le lieu historique national Alexander-Graham-Bell et planifiez une visite.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus