Photo of a commemorative plaque in front of a boat
General view, 2015

The S.S. Klondike was designated a national historic site in 1967.

Commemorative plaque: 10 Robert Service Way, Whitehorse, Yukon Territory Footnote 1

The largest vessel ever to ply the Canadian portion of the Yukon River, this sternwheeler was built by the British Yukon Navigation Co. and launched at Whitehorse in 1937 to replace her namesake, which sank the year before. Klondike No. 2 was designed to expedite the movement of silver-lead ore on the Yukon River. A combination freight and passenger boat, she operated primarily between Whitehorse and Dawson. In 1954-55 the vessel was placed in cruise service after an extensive refurbishment. Her retirement in 1955 brought to an end the era of commercial steamboat navigation in the Yukon.

Description of historic place

S.S. Klondike National Historic Site of Canada is a large sternwheeler dry-docked on the bank of the Yukon River beside the Robert Campbell Bridge in Whitehorse, Yukon Territory.

 

Photo of a historic boat
The sternwheeler by the lake, the S. S. Klondike National Historic Site, 2012
Photo outside a historic boat
Aerial vue, 2017

Heritage value

The S.S. Klondike was designated a national historic site of Canada: 

  • to commemorate inland water transportation in the Yukon Territory;
  • to represent Yukon steamers and other vessels.
Photo of anchors inside a building
Anchor, date unknown
Photo of two people sitting in front of a boat
Two youg women on the sternwheeler, the S. S. Klondike National Historic Site, 2015

 

The heritage value of the S.S. Klondike resides in its completeness and legibility as a fast water shallow drafter sternwheeler steamer representative of the type of vessel built for Yukon water transportation. The S.S. Klondike was built by the British Navigation Co, launched in 1937 and operated as a freight and passenger vessel on the Yukon river until 1955, when she retired. Commercial navigation ceased on the Yukon River in 1957. The S.S. Klondike has been restored by Parks Canada to the 1937-1940 period ship and is now open for public visitation.

Sources: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, 1962: Commemorative Integrity Statement, 7 July 1997. 

Related information about this designation:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Photo d'une plaque commémorative devant un bateau
Vue générale, 2015

Le S.S. Klondike a été désigné lieu historique national en 1967.

Plaque commémorative : 10, Robert Service Way, Whitehorse, Territoire du Yukon Footnote 1

Le plus grand navire a franchir les eaux canadiennes du fleuve Yukon, ce vapeur à roue à aubes a été construit par la British Yukon Navigation Co. et lancé à Whitehorse en 1937 pour remplacer son homonyme, qui avait coulé l'année précédente, Le Klondike II devait accélérer le transport du minerait d'argurit et de plomb sur le fleuve. Navire commercial et de croisière, il navigua surtout entre Whitehorse et Dawson. En 1954-1955, il ne fit que des croisières, après avoir été remis a neuf. Son retrait en 1955 mit fin à l'ère de la navigation commerciale à vapeur au Yukon.

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada S.S. Klondike est un gros vapeur à une roue en cale sèche au bord du fleuve Yukon, près du pont Robert Campbell, à Whitehorse, dans le territoire du Yukon.

 

Photo d'un bateau historique
Bateau à aubes au bord du lac, le lieu historique national S. S. Klondike, 2012
Photo à l'extérieur d'un bateau historique
Vue aérienne, 2017

Valeur patrimoniale

Le S.S. Klondike a été désigné lieu historique national du Canada : 

  • pour commémorer le transport sur les eaux intérieures du territoire du Yukon;
  • parce qu'il représente les vapeurs et les autres navires qui ont autrefois sillonné le fleuve Yukon.
Photo d'ancres à l'intérieur d'un bâtiment
Ancre, date inconnue
Photo de deux personnes assises devant un bateau
Deux jeunes femmes sur le bateau à aubes, le lieu historique national S. S. Klondike, 2015

 

La valeur patrimoniale du S.S. Klondike a trait à sa lisibilité, à son intégralité et au fait qu’il représente les vapeurs à une roue et à faible tirant d'eau, construits pour assurer le transport maritime sur le fleuve Yukon. Le S.S. Klondike a été construit par la British Yukon Navigation Co., inauguré en 1937, puis exploité comme navire à cargaison et à passagers sur le fleuve Yukon avant d’être mis hors service en 1955, soit deux ans avant la fin de la navigation commerciale dans ces eaux. Il a retrouvé l’apparence qu’il avait en 1937-1940, grâce aux travaux de restauration effectués par Parcs Canada, et est maintenant exploité comme site touristique.

Sources : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, 1962; Énoncé d'intégrité commémorative, 7 juillet 1997. 

Informations liées à cette désignation :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus