Historic portrait of a man
Captain John Stewart
© Prince Edward Island Public Archives and Records Office (PAROPEI Acc 2320/2-1) / Bill Rose Collection

John Stewart was designated a national historic person in 2022. 

Commemorative plaque: Footnote 1

John Stewart (1758-1834)

John Stewart was the author of An Account of Prince Edward Island (1806), which is recognized as the first written history of the colony of Prince Edward Island. Through this publication, he made an important contribution to the understanding and interpretation of Prince Edward Island’s history, and to the knowledge of the Island’s ecology and natural resources in the colonial period.

Born in 1758 in Campbeltown, Kintyre, Scotland, Stewart came to St. John’s Island (later Prince Edward Island) with his family in 1775. Known as “Hellfire Jack” for his fiery temperament, Stewart was a member of the colonial gentry of the Island and was involved in the military, law, politics, and landholding. Like a number of others in similar positions, Stewart used public office for personal gain and score-settling; for example, on more than one occasion he stirred up agitation against personal and political rivals in attempts to unseat them from political power. He was first elected to the colony’s assembly in 1784 and maintained a strong influence, serving as speaker three times, despite facing scandal and opposition. While serving in the Assembly, Stewart collected other offices and land. In 1790, he succeeded to the post of the Office of Receiver of the Island Quit Rents—responsible for collecting rent for the state from island landlords. Stewart held this post for over 25 years. He also held various military offices.

In 1804, Stewart was appointed as Paymaster General for the British forces stationed in Newfoundland. While splitting his time between St. John’s and London, he remained involved in the affairs of Prince Edward Island and published one of his most enduring historical legacies: An Account of Prince Edward Island, a historical and geographical snapshot of the Island at the turn of the century. With this publication, Stewart has become recognized as the Island’s first historian.

With his book, Stewart aimed to present a new interpretation of the Island’s settlement (or lack thereof) to colonial decision makers in Britain, which he hoped would counteract the negative image of the Island and its residents. He criticized absentee landlords who remained in Britain and did not develop or settle their lands, but did not criticize Island officials or the Island landholding system itself. This subtle argument, pitting the absentee landlords against the Island residents, was intertwined with Stewart’s encyclopaedic description of PEI. Stewart’s Account has had a lasting impact on how subsequent historians wrote Island history, influencing interpretations into the 1970s.

The book has also become an important historical source on the Island in its own right. Stewart’s Account is a frequently cited source for the environmental and natural history of PEI. The detail with which Stewart compiled the Island’s natural resources, combined with its early publication date, provides a time capsule of Island flora and fauna before European agricultural practices came to dominate the landscape.

After a long and eventful political career, Stewart retired from public life in 1830 and died in 1834.

This backgrounder was prepared at the time of the Ministerial announcement in 2022.

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Portrait historique d'un homme
Capitaine John Stewart
© Bureau des archives et des documents publics de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard (PAROPEI Acc 2320/2-1) / Collection Bill Rose

John Stewart a été désigné personnage historique national en 2022.

Plaque commémorative : Note de bas de page 1

John Stewart (1758-1834)

John Stewart est auteur de l’ouvrage An Account of Prince Edward Island (1806), considéré comme la première histoire écrite de la colonie de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Grâce à cette publication, Stewart contribue considérablement à la compréhension et à l’interprétation de l’histoire de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, ainsi qu’à la connaissance de l’écologie et des ressources naturelles de l’île à l’époque coloniale.

Né en 1758 à Campbeltown, dans la région du Kintyre en Écosse, John Stewart arrive sur l’île Saint-Jean (aujourd’hui l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard) avec sa famille en 1775. Connu sous le nom de « Hellfire Jack » pour son tempérament fougueux, Stewart est un membre de la bourgeoisie coloniale de l’île et est impliqué dans les affaires militaires, juridiques, politiques et foncières. Comme plusieurs autres personnes occupant des postes similaires, Stewart utilise ses charges publiques de façon à en tirer des avantages personnels et à régler des comptes. Par exemple, à plus d’une occasion, il suscite une agitation contre des rivaux personnels et politiques dans le but de les évincer du pouvoir politique. Il est élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée de la colonie en 1784 et exerce une forte influence. Il en sera le président à trois reprises, malgré les scandales et l’opposition qu’il suscite. Tandis qu’il est membre de l’Assemblée, Stewart accumule d’autres charges publiques ainsi que des terres. En 1790, il obtient le poste de receveur général des redevances de l’île, où il est responsable de percevoir au nom de l’État les redevances auprès des propriétaires. Stewart exerce cette fonction pendant plus de 25 ans. Il occupe également diverses fonctions militaires.

En 1804, Stewart est nommé payeur général des forces britanniques et est posté à Terre-Neuve. Habitant en alternance à St. John’s et à Londres, il continue de participer aux affaires de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et publie une œuvre marquante avec un héritage historique durable : An Account of Prince Edward Island (1806), un portrait historique et géographique de l’île au tournant du siècle. Grâce à cette publication, Stewart est considéré comme le premier historien de l’île.

Avec son livre, Stewart vise à présenter une nouvelle interprétation du peuplement (ou de l’absence de peuplement) de l’île aux autorités coloniales en Grande-Bretagne, ce qui, espère-t-il, permettrait de contrer l’image négative de l’île et de ses résidents. Il critique les propriétaires absentéistes qui restent en Grande-Bretagne et qui ne développent et ne colonisent pas leurs terres, mais ne critique pas les fonctionnaires de l’île ou le système de propriété foncière de l’île lui-même. Cet argument subtil, opposant les propriétaires absentéistes aux résidents de l’île, est imbriqué dans la description encyclopédique de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard faite par Stewart. Son récit eut un impact durable sur la façon dont les historiens ultérieurs ont écrit l’histoire de l’île, influençant les interprétations jusque dans les années 1970.

Le livre est également devenu une source historique importante sur l’île en soi. Le récit de Stewart est une source fréquemment citée dans l’histoire environnementale et naturelle de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Le détail avec lequel Stewart a compilé les ressources naturelles de l’île, combiné à sa date de publication précoce, fournit une capsule temporelle de la flore et de la faune de l’île avant que les pratiques agricoles européennes ne dominent le paysage.

Après une carrière politique longue et mouvementée, Stewart se retire de la vie publique en 1830 et décède en 1834.

Cette fiche d’information a été préparée au moment de l’annonce ministérielle en 2022.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus