Photo of a plaque at a historic garden
Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada commemorative plaque for Jardins de Métis National Historic Site of Canada, Grand-Métis, Quebec, date unknown

The Jardins de Métis was designated a national historic site in 1995.

Commemorative plaque: 200 Highway 132, Grand-Métis, Quebec Footnote 1

Created by Elsie Reford between 1926 and 1958, these gardens are an inspired example of the English art of the garden. Woven into a natural setting, a series of gardens display perennials, trees and shrubs. A crab-apple orchard, a rock garden and the Long Walk are also the legacy of this dedicated horticulturist. A microclimate favours the growth of species found nowhere else in Canada, while the stream and winding paths add to the charm. Elsie Reford's beloved blue poppies and lilies still bloom and contribute, with other exotic and indigenous plants, to the harmony of the site.

Description of historic place

The Jardins de Métis National Historic Site of Canada is an English-inspired garden created by Elsie Reford from about 1926 to 1958. The property, which covers approximately 18 hectares (45 acres) of land, is located on the banks of the St. Lawrence and Métis Rivers between the towns of Mont-Joli and Matane, near Sainte-Flavie, Quebec. The site includes one villa and six distinct garden areas and more than 500 horticultural varieties. Official recognition refers to the gardens as well as the built elements within the property boundary at the time of designation.

 

Photo of a garden path with colourful flowers
Flowers and greenery at the Jardin de Métis National Historic Site of Canada, 1994
Vintage photo of a building on a historic garden site
One of the main buildings at the Jardin de Métis National Historic Site of Canada, 1994

Heritage value

Jardins de Métis was designated a national historic site of Canada in 1995 because:

  • the gardens, planned and developed over a thirty-year period by Elsie Reford, provide an excellent Canadian example of an English-inspired garden, with specialized gardens, winding paths, allée royale, and a variety of flower beds arranged in an informal manner;
  • the Jardins de Métis benefit from an exceptional microclimate, favourable to the growth of plants, flowers, bushes and trees, certain varieties of which are to be found nowhere else in the country.
Black and white photo of a historic building
Historic image of a building on the Jardin de Métis National Historic Site of Canada, circa 1920s
Aerial photo of a garden site
Aerial illustration of the Jardin de Métis National Historic Site of Canada, date unknown

 

Jardins de Métis is an excellent Canadian example of an early-20th century English-inspired garden. The gardens were created by Elsie Reford from about 1926 to 1958 on the grounds of a summer home given to her by her uncle, George Stephen, founder of the Canadian Pacific Railway and Canada's leading entrepreneur of the 19th century. Originally a fishing lodge, Mrs. Reford created the gardens from a rough landscape, taking full advantage of the site's favourable microclimate and its sublime views. The site now includes specialized gardens, winding paths, an allée royale and a variety of flower beds arranged in an informal manner.

Source: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes July 1995.

 

Related information about this designation:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Photo d'une plaque dans un jardin historique
Plaque commémorative de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada au lieu historique national du Canada des Jardins-de-Métis, Grand-Métis, Québec, date inconnue

Les Jardins de Métis ont été désignés lieu historique national en 1995.

Plaque commémorative : 200 Route 132, Grand-Métis, QuébecFootnote 1

Créés par Elsie Reford de 1926 à 1958, ces jardins témoignent de façon remarquable de l'art paysager à l'anglaise. Disposés dans un cadre naturel, un ensemble de jardins exhibent fleurs vivaces, arbres et arbustes. Le jardin des pommetiers, les rocailles et l'Allée royale évoquent l'oeuvre de cette dame passionnée d'horticulture. Agrémenté d'un ruisseau et de sentiers sinueux, ce site jouit d'un microclimat favorable à la croissance d'espèces uniques au Canada. Les pavots bleus et les lis, privilégiés par Mme Reford, y fleurissent toujours et contribuent, avec d'autres plantes exotiques et indigènes, à l'harmonie de ces lieux.

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada des Jardins-de-Métis comprend un jardin d’inspiration anglaise, dont la création par Elsie Reford remonte à la période comprise entre 1926 et 1958. La propriété d'environ 18 hectares (45 acres) est située au confluent du fleuve Saint-Laurent et de la rivière Métis, entre les villes de Mont-Joli et de Matane, près de Sainte-Flavie, au Québec. Le lieu comprend une villa et six jardins distincts mettant en valeur plus de 500 espèces florales. La reconnaissance officielle vise les jardins ainsi que les éléments construits situés dans les limites de la propriété au moment de sa désignation.

 

Photo d'une allée de jardin avec des fleurs colorées
Fleurs et verdure au Lieu historique national du Canada des Jardin-de-Métis, 1994
Photo vintage d'un bâtiment sur un site de jardin historique
Un des principaux bâtiments du lieu historique national du Canada des Jardin-de-Métis, 1994

Valeur patrimoniale

Les Jardins de Métis ont été désignés lieu historique national du Canada en 1995 parce que :

  • les jardins, dessinés par Elsie Reford et aménagés par elle sur une période de plus d'une trentaine d'années, sont un excellent exemple canadien des jardins d'inspiration anglaise, qui se caractérisent par la présence de jardins spécialisés, de sentiers sinueux, d'une allée royale et d'une multitude de plates-bandes disposées de manière informelle;
  • les Jardins de Métis jouissent d'un microclimat exceptionnel, propice à la croissance de plantes, de fleurs, de buissons et d'arbres dont certaines variétés sont introuvables ailleurs au pays.
Photo en noir et blanc d'un bâtiment historique
Image historique d'un bâtiment sur le site des Jardin-de-Métis, vers les années 1920
Photo aérienne d'un jardin
Illustration aérienne du lieu historique national des Jardin-de-Métis, date inconnue

 

Les Jardins de Métis constituent un excellent exemple canadien des jardins d’inspiration anglaise du XXe siècle. De 1926 à 1958, Elsie Reford dessina et aménagea les nombreux jardins sur les terres de la résidence d'été que lui offra son oncle George Stephen, fondateur du Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique et éminent homme d'affaires du Canada au XIXe siècle. À l’origine le terrain d'un chalet de pêche, Mme Reford conçut des jardins dans un paysage rustique en tenant compte du microclimat favorable du lieu et de ses magnifiques points de vue. Le lieu comprend maintenant des jardins spécialisés, des sentiers sinueux, une allée royale et une multitude de plates-bandes disposées de manière informelle.

Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, procès-verbaux, juillet 1995.

 

Informations liées à cette désignation :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus