Photo of garden gates with pink flowers
The gates of the Public Gardens in Halifax, Nova Scotia, 2012
© Photographer Markjt

The Halifax Public Gardens were designated a national historic site in 1983.

Commemorative plaque: Spring Garden Road, Halifax, Nova Scotia Footnote 1

Opened to the public in 1875, these grounds limited the 1837 Horticultural Society gardens with an adjacent civic garden created in 1867. The original design of landscape gardener Richard Power is largely intact, partly due to his family's long superintendence. Bedding patterns, exotic foliage, favourite Victorian flowers, subtropical species and tree specimens continue the planting traditions of the era. The serpentine paths, geometric beds, commemorative statuary and bandstand are also typical features of this, one of the rare surviving Victorian gardens in Canada.

Description of historic place

The Halifax Public Gardens National Historic Site of Canada is one of the rare surviving Victorian gardens in Canada. Located in the heart of downtown Halifax, Nova Scotia, it is a favourite place for Haligonians and visitors to stroll and relax. Despite natural changes and occasional storm damage, the original nineteenth century design remains essentially intact, including bedding patterns, exotic foliage, favourite Victorian flowers, subtropical species and tree specimens, serpentine paths, geometric beds, commemorative statuary, and a bandstand that continue the traditions of the era.

 

Photo of a historic garden and monument
Monument at the Halifax Public Gardens, date unknown
Photo of a historic garden with a gazebo
General view, 1992

Heritage value

Halifax Public Gardens was designated a national historic site of Canada as a rare surviving example of a Victorian public garden. The heritage value of this site resides in its continued use as a public park and in its illustration of Victorian “Gardenesque” landscape design and planting traditions.

 

Photo of a colourful garden
General view
© Justin Paulson, Halifax Public Gardens, 2007
Photo of a colourful garden
General view
© Justin Paulson, Halifax Public Gardens, 2007
Photo of a gate entrance into a historic garden
The ornate main gates, crafted in Scotland, provide advance notice of the Victorian-era splendor that lies within – a journey back in time.
© Photo courtesy of Halifax Public Gardens, photographer unknown.
Photo of colourful plants in a historic garden
One of the historic gardens, date unknown
© Martin Wigginton

 

The Halifax Public Gardens was established in 1874 by the amalgamation of two older gardens, the Nova Scotia Horticultural Society Garden (laid out in 1837) and an adjacent public park (opened in 1866). In 1872, Robert Power was hired as the park’s superintendent. He introduced an axially symmetrical plan which governs the overall design of the site. Over the years, he oversaw the introduction of the bandstand (designed by architect Henry Busch), fountains, statues, and wrought iron gates as well as establishing the bedding out of annuals in highly designed carpet beds, redesigned Griffin’s Pond and introduced water fowl. He also initiated specimen planting, including many exotic and semi-tropical species. The whole was united by a system of gently curving gravel pathways within a perimeter of mature trees and wide sidewalks acting as buffers between the park and the surrounding city.

Picture of statue in a colourful garden
Iconic Roman Statues preside over and grace the public gardens. The statues and six large stone vases circling the bandstand were donated by Sir William Young in 1887. The restoration of these gifts began in 2012 and will be completed to their original beauty in 2022.
© Martin Wigginton
Picture of statue in a colourful garden
Iconic Roman Statues preside over and grace the public gardens. The statues and six large stone vases circling the bandstand were donated by Sir William Young in 1887. The restoration of these gifts began in 2012 and will be completed to their original beauty in 2022.
© Martin Wigginton

Source: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, November 1983; Commemorative Integrity Statement 1999.

 

Related information about this designation :

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Photo de portes de jardin avec des fleurs roses
Les portes des jardins publics à Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse, 2012
© Photographe Markjt

Les Jardins publics de Halifax ont été désignés lieu historique national en 1983.

Paque commémorative : chemin Spring Garden, Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse Footnote 1

Ouverts au public en 1875, ces jardins regroupaient les jardins aménagés par la Horticultural Society en 1837 et le jardin municipal adjacent créé en 1867. Le plan conçu en 1870 par Richard Power, jardinier paysagiste, est presque intact, du fait que sa famille en a longtemps assuré la surintendance. Repiquages, plantes exotiques et subtropicales, arbres divers et fleurs chères aux Victoriens perpétuent le mode de culture de l'époque; sentiers sinueux, parterres géométriques, statues et kiosques, telle est l'illustration de la rare survivance d'un jardin victorien.

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada des Jardins publics de Halifax est l'un des rares jardins de style victorien préservés au Canada. Il est situé au centre-ville de Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et les habitants de la ville aiment s'y promener pour se détendre. Malgré l'évolution de la végétation et les dommages causés par les intempéries, la conception d'origine du XIXe siècle demeure pratiquement intacte, notamment les massifs du type mosaïque, les feuillages exotiques, les magnifiques fleurs victoriennes, les espèces subtropicales et les essences d'arbres, les allées en zigzags, les plates-bandes géométriques, les statues commémoratives, ainsi qu'un kiosque à musique qui perpétuent les traditions de cette époque.

 

Photo d'un jardin historique avec un monument
Monument aux Jardins publics d'Halifax, date inconnue
Photo d'un jardin historique avec un belvédère
Vue générale, 1992

Valeur patrimoniale

Les Jardins publics de Halifax ont été désignés lieu historique national parce qu’ils constituent un des rares exemples préservés de jardin public de style victorien. La valeur patrimoniale de ce lieu a trait à sa vocation inchangée de jardin public, et au fait qu'il est un exemple de l’architecture paysagère de type « jardinesque » de l’ère victorienne et de ses traditions en matière de plantation.

 

Photo d'un jardin coloré
Vue générale
© Justin Paulson, Jardins-Publics-d'Halifax, 2007
Photo d'un jardin coloré
Vue générale
© Justin Paulson, Jardins-Publics-d'Halifax, 2007
Photo d'une porte d'entrée dans un jardin historique
Les portes principales ornées, fabriquées en Écosse, annoncent à l'avance la splendeur de l'époque victorienne qui se trouve à l'intérieur - un voyage dans le temps.
© Halifax Public Gardens, photographe inconnu.
Photo de plantes colorées dans un jardin historique
Un des jardins historiques, date unknown
© Martin Wigginton

 

Les Jardins publics de Halifax ont été créés en 1874, suite à la fusion de deux jardins : le jardin de la Nova Scotia Horticultural Society (conçu en 1837) et un parc public adjacent (ouvert en 1866). Robert Power a été engagé en 1872 à titre de surintendant du parc. Il a dessiné un plan axial symétrique dont s’inspire la conception globale du site. Au fil des ans, il a supervisé l’installation d'un kiosque à musique (conçu par l'architecte Henry Busch), de fontaines, de statues et de portes en fer forgé. En outre, il a créé une mosaïculture, composée principalement de fleurs annuelles, et a réaménagé l'étang Griffin pour qu’il serve d’habitat à la sauvagine. Il a également commencé à planter des essences remarquables, notamment beaucoup d'espèces exotiques et semi-tropicales. Tous les éléments du jardin sont reliés par des allées sinueuses recouvertes de gravier et encadrées par des arbres matures et de larges trottoirs servant de zone tampon entre le parc et la ville.

Photo de statue dans un jardin coloré
Des statues romaines emblématiques président et ornent les jardins publics. Les statues et les six grands vases en pierre entourant le kiosque à musique ont été donnés par Sir William Young en 1887. La restauration de ces cadeaux a commencé en 2012 et sera achevée dans leur beauté d'origine en 2022.
© Martin Wigginton
Photo de statue dans un jardin coloré
Des statues romaines emblématiques président et ornent les jardins publics. Les statues et les six grands vases en pierre entourant le kiosque à musique ont été donnés par Sir William Young en 1887. La restauration de ces cadeaux a commencé en 2012 et sera achevée dans leur beauté d'origine en 2022.
© Martin Wigginton

Source : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, novembre 1983; Énoncé d'intégrité commémorative, 1999.

 

Informations liées à cette désignation :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus