General view of a garden
General view of the Butchart gardens
© Parks Canada/A. Mosquin, 2004

The Butchart gardens were designated a national historic site in 2004.

Commemorative plaque: 800 Benvenuto Drive, Saanichton, British ColumbiaFootnote 1

Jennie Butchart began to shape this magnificent landscape in 1904. She established, in the style of the grand estates of the period, several distinct gardens to evoke a range of aesthetic experiences. An abandoned limestone quarry was transformed into the dramatic Sunken Garden, a reflection of the early 20th-century beautification movement and an exceptional achievement in Canadian gardening history. Through successive generations of the Butchart family, this site has retained much of its original design, and continues the Victorian tradition of seasonally changing the outstanding floral displays.

Description of historic place

Butchart Gardens National Historic Site of Canada is an internationally-known public attraction that has been open to visitors since 1904. It is located on the Saanich Peninsula, approximately 21 kilometres north of Victoria, British Columbia. The gardens occupy the site of a former quarry and borders on Tod Inlet. The designated area of the gardens occupies approximately 5.26 hectares and corresponds to the areas developed under the guidance of Jennie Butchart between 1904 and 1939. The gardens provide dramatic floral displays in a variety of garden settings and styles set against a backdrop of mature trees and shrubs and linked together by a network of paths and transition areas. Throughout the garden are viewpoints offering glimpses of Tod Inlet and the hills beyond. Official recognition generally corresponds with the historic gardens laid out by Mrs. Jennie Butchart between 1904 and 1939, and includes the residence that was remodeled and enlarged for the Butchart’s by architect Samuel Maclure.

 

Commemorative bronze plaque on its stand in a garden
Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada commemorative plaque for Butchart Gardens National Historic Site of Canada, British Columbia, date unknown
Commemorative bronze plaque surrounded by plants
Commemorative plaque for Butchart Gardens National Historic Site of Canada, date unknown

Heritage value

Butchart Gardens was designated a National Historic Site of Canada in 2004 because:

  • it represents the remarkable combination of three aspects of Canadian gardening history. First, the gardens represent the traits of an early 20th-century estate garden through its different types of gardens such as the Japanese Garden, the Rose Garden, the Italian Garden, the Star Pond and Jennie Butchart's Private Garden. Second, the gardens evoke the early twentieth century beautification movement as expressed through the Sunken Garden. And third, the gardens rely upon the Victorian bedding out system to achieve their outstanding floral displays. These three aspects of the Butchart Gardens have been conveyed through the successive visions of Butchart family members, notably Jennie Butchart and Ian Ross;
  • the transformation of a limestone quarry into a sunken garden of massive dimensions and dramatic aesthetic qualities represents an exceptional creative achievement in Canadian gardening history. Moreover, as the garden has matured and evolved, its beauty has become more distinctive.
General view of a garden and trees
General view of the Butchart gardens
© Parks Canada/M. Trépannier, 2001

The layout of the gardens as a series of clearly defined spaces or “rooms,” each with its own character and style, was characteristic of Edwardian landscape design. The largest and most distinctive of these is the Sunken Garden, which occupies the former limestone quarry. Accessed by a switchback staircase that leads 15 metres (50 feet) down to the undulating floor of this garden, the initial core of the landscaping process begun by Jennie Butchart. The garden floor contains beds of annuals interspersed amongst flowering trees and shrubs planted up to the base of the towering quarry walls crowned by mature Douglas firs, cedars and Lombardy poplars. Other spaces include the Rose Garden featuring beds of hybrid tea roses, rose arches, and boxwood hedges; the Japanese Garden begun in 1906 by Jennie Butchart and Japanese landscaper Isaburo Kishida with its complex network of interconnected ponds criss-crossed by paths and bridges, moss-covered ground surfaces, bamboo, and meticulously pruned-trees and shrubs; the Star Pond as a formal water feature in the shape of a twelve-pointed star interspersed with beds of annual flowers with a frog fountain as its centre-piece; the Italian Garden, a formal sunken garden defined by a rectangular concrete terrace that encloses a cross-shaped water feature.

The Butchart residence is evidence that these beautiful gardens were once part of a private family estate. Originally a small summer residence, this rambling bungalow was enlarged and remodeled through renovations carried out between 1911 and 1925 to plans by celebrated west coast architect Samuel Maclure. This former residence is flanked by a broad patio area known as the Piazza, the Italian Garden, and by Jennie Butchart’s original private garden. The latter is a small formal garden containing flowerbeds, a gazebo and a pond that is enclosed by latticed fences.

Source: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, June 2004.

 

Related information about this designation:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Vue générale d'un jardin
Vue générale des jardins Butchart
© Parcs Canada/A. Mosquin, 2004

Les jardins Butchart ont été désignés lieu historique national en 2004.

Plaque commémorative : 800, promenade Benvenuto, Saanichton, Colombie-BritanniqueFootnote 1

Jennie Butchart commença à façonner ce magnifique paysage en 1904. Elle conçut, à la manière des grands domaines de l'époque, une variété de jardins pour créer autant d'expériences esthétiques. Une ancienne carrière de calcaire devint le spectaculaire Jardin en contrebas, témoin du mouvement d'embellissement du début du XXe siècle et constituant une réalisation exceptionnelle de l'histoire horticole au Canada. Au fil des ans, la famille Butchart a su conserver en grande partie le plan d'origine du site et perpétuer l'approche victorienne de changer, sur une base saisonnière, les superbes massifs floraux.

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada des Jardins-Butchart est une attraction publique de renommée internationale et ouverte aux visiteurs depuis 1904. Ils sont situés dans la péninsule de Saanich, environ 21 kilomètres au nord de Victoria, en Colombie-Britannique. Les jardins occupent le site d'une ancienne carrière en bordure de Tod Inlet. La zone désignée des jardins occupe environ 5,26 hectares et correspond aux espaces mis en valeur sous la direction de Jennie Butchart de 1904 à 1939. Les jardins présentent des arrangements floraux spectaculaires aux formes et aux styles diversifiés sur un fond d'arbres et d'arbustes matures et reliés par un réseau de sentiers et d'aires de transition. Les jardins sont parsemés de belvédères offrant des points de vue de Tod Inlet et des collines au loin. La reconnaissance officielle correspondent généralement aux jardins historiques établis par Mme Butchart entre 1904 et 1939, qui comprennent la résidence remaniée et agrandie pour la famille Butchart par l'architecte Samuel Maclure.

 

Plaque commémorative en bronze sur son socle dans un jardin
Plaque commémorative de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada pour le lieu historique national du Canada des Jardins-Butchart, Colombie-Britannique, date inconnue
Plaque commémorative en bronze entourée de plantes
Plaque commémorative pour le lieu historique national du Canada des Jardins-Butchart, date inconnue

Valeur patrimoniale

Les jardins Butchart ont été désignés lieu historique national du Canada en 2004 parce que :

  • ils combinent de façon remarquable trois éléments de l'histoire horticole canadienne. Premièrement, les jardins possèdent les caractéristiques des grands jardins du début du vingtième siècle, notamment ses différents types de jardins, comme le jardin japonais, la roseraie, le jardin italien, le bassin Star Pond et le jardin privé de Jennie Butchart. Deuxièmement, ces jardins évoquent le mouvement d'embellissement de la même époque, exprimé par le biais du jardin en contrebas. Troisièmement, les arrangements floraux exceptionnels des jardins Butchart sont inspirés des méthodes d'aménagement de l'époque victorienne. Ces trois éléments des jardins Butchart ont été traduits par les visions successives des membres de la famille Butchart, notamment Jennie Butchart et Ian Ross;
  • la transformation d'une carrière de calcaire en un jardin encaissé de taille impressionnante présentant des qualités esthétiques remarquables constitue une réalisation créative exceptionnelle dans l'histoire horticole canadienne. De plus, comme le jardin a évolué et atteint une certaine maturité, sa beauté a acquis un véritable caractère distinctif.
Vue générale d'un jardin et d'arbres
Vue générale des jardins Butchart
© Parcs Canada/M. Trépannier, 2001

L'aménagement des jardins en une série d'espaces clairement définis ou « pièces », chacun doté de son propre caractère et style, est caractéristique des aménagements paysagers édouardiens. Le plus grand et le plus particulier de ces espaces est le jardin en contrebas, qui occupe l'ancienne carrière de calcaire. On y accède par un escalier en lacet en descendant les 15 mètres (50 pieds) jusqu'au sol ondulé de ce jardin, le noyau initial du processus d'aménagement paysager amorcé par Jennie Butchart. Le sol du jardin contient des massifs d'annuelles répartis parmi les arbres et les arbustes à fleurs plantés jusqu'à la base des parois imposantes de la carrière couronnées de sapin de Douglas matures, de des cèdres et de peupliers de Lombardie. Les autres espaces comprennent la roseraie constituée de massifs de rosiers hybrides de thé, d'arceaux de rosiers et de haies de buis; le jardin japonais commencé en 1906 par Jennie Butchart et le paysagiste japonais Isaburo Kishida avec son réseau complexe de bassins interconnectés, entrecroisés de sentiers et de ponts, de surfaces couvertes de mousse, de bambou et d'arbres et arbustes taillés minutieusement; le bassin Star Pond doté d'un bassin d'eau de la forme d'une étoile à 12 pointes entrecoupées de massifs d'annuelles et d'une grenouille comme pièce d'eau centrale; le jardin italien, un jardin en contrebas classique défini par une terrasse rectangulaire en béton qui encadre un bassin d'eau en forme de croix.

La résidence Butchart atteste que ces magnifiques jardins ont déjà fait partie d'un domaine patrimonial privé. À l'origine une petite résidence d'été, ce bungalow horizontal a été agrandi et transformé lors de rénovations effectuées entre 1911 et 1925 selon des plans du célèbre architecte de la côte Ouest Samuel Maclure. Cette ancienne résidence est flanquée d'un vaste patio appelé la Piazza, du jardin italien et du jardin privé initial de Jennie Butchart. Ce dernier est un petit jardin classique contenant des massifs de fleurs, un belvédère et un bassin qui est encadré par des clôtures en treillis.

Source : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, juin 2004.

 

Informations liées à cette désignation :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus