Adelaide Hunter Hoodless Homestead National Historic Site of Canada
Adelaide Hunter Hoodless Homestead
© Parks Canada

Adelaide Hunter Hoodless Homestead was designated a national historic site in November 1995.

Heritage value: The heritage value of Adelaide Hunter Hoodless Homestead National Historic Site of Canada lies in its direct association with Adelaide Hunter Hoodless, particularly in its role in defining and describing the reason she became a figure of national importance. Its value is expressed by the relatively isolated setting and in its illustration of a typical farm house of mid-to-late nineteenth century Ontario. Adelaide Hunter was born in this house, and lived here until 1881 when she married successful Hamilton furniture manufacturer John Hoodless. Here, as the youngest child in a large farming family raised by a widowed mother, she experienced the hardship and isolation that attracted her to social activism. That experience, together with the loss of her youngest child 1889, inspired her determination and defined the nature of the causes she championed.

Commemorative plaque: 359 Blue Lake Road, St. George, Ontario

Born in Ontario, Adelaide Hoodless sought to release the full potential of women for social action. An outspoken educator and social reformer, she successfully pressed for acceptance of Domestic Economy as a subject for study in Canadian schools, and was largely responsible for founding the Institutes of Household Science at Guelph, Ste. Anne de Bellevue and Toronto. Active in forming the Young Women's Christian Association, the National Council of Women, and the Federated Women's Institute, she also aided in establishing the Victorian Order of Nurses. She died in Toronto.

 

Other national historic designation associated with this one:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Lieu historique national du Canada du Homestead-d'Adelaide-Hunter-Hoodless
Adelaide Hunter Hoodless Homestead
© Parcs Canada

Le Homestead d'Adelaide Hunter Hoodless a été désigné lieu historique national en novembre 1995.

Valeur patrimoniale : La valeur patrimoniale du lieu historique national du Canada du Homestead-d'Adelaide-Hunter-Hoodless a trait à ses liens directs avec Adelaide Hunter Hoodless, et surtout au rôle qu'il a joué pour façonner les motifs pour lesquels elle est devenue un personnage d'importance nationale. Sa situation relativement isolée et le fait qu'il s'agisse d'une maison de ferme ontarienne typique de la deuxième moitié du XIXe siècle contribuent également à sa valeur patrimoniale. Adelaide Hunter est née dans cette maison et elle y a vécu jusqu'en 1881, date à laquelle elle a épousé John Hoodless, un fabricant de meubles prospère de Hamilton. Benjamine d'une famille nombreuse élevée par une mère veuve, elle y a connu la misère et l'isolement qui l'ont poussée à son activisme social. Cette expérience, ainsi que la perte de son plus jeune enfant en 1889, ont façonné sa détermination, et défini la nature des causes qu'elle a défendues.

Plaque commémorative : 359, chemin Blue Lake, St. George, Ontario

Originaire de l'Ontario, Adelaide Hoodless employa toute sa vie à promouvoir l'action sociale féminine. Éducatrice et réformatrice, elle réussit à faire enseigner l'économie domestique dans les écoles canadiennes et on lui doit la fondation des instituts d'arts ménagers de Guelph, de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellvue et de Toronto. Elle participa à la création de la Young Women's Christian Association, du Conseil national des femmes du Canada, du Federated Women's Institute et aida à la mise sur pied du Victorian Order of Nurses. Elle mourut à Toronto.

 

Autre désignation historique nationale liée à celle-ci :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus