The Halifax Explosion was designated as a national historic event in June 2016.

Historical importance: SS Mont Blanc and SS Imo collision caused the largest man-made explosion prior to the atomic bomb. It had profound and long-lasting consequences; national and international outpouring of aid and support followed.

Commemorative plaque: Fort Needham Memorial Park, Halifax, Nova Scotia

On December 6, 1917, the explosives-laden SS Mont-Blanc and SS Imo collided in Halifax Harbour, causing a massive explosion, a tidal wave, and fires. Some 2,000 people died and thousands more were wounded. The unprecedented devastation produced a tremendous local, national, and international outpouring of support, as first responders acted swiftly. The number of serious injuries led to advances in medical treatment, notably in pediatric surgery, and contributed to the creation of the Canadian National Institute for the Blind. Destroyed neighbourhoods were rebuilt to safer standards and innovative urban designs.

Plaque commémorative sur son socle
Commemorative plaque on its stand. Halifax, Nova Scotia
Commemorative plaque for Halifax ExplosionCommemorative plaque - The Halifax Explosion National Historic Event

The Halifax Explosion

On 6 December 1917, the explosives-laden SS Mont-Blanc and SS Imo collided in Halifax Harbour, causing a massive explosion, a tidal wave, and fires. Some 2,000 people died and thousands more were injured. Destruction was widespread, with many homes destroyed or damaged. The unprecedented scale of the devastation caused a tremendous local, national, and international outpouring of aid and support, as first responders acted swiftly. The explosion had profound and long-lasting consequences. Destroyed neighbourhoods were rebuilt to safer standards, while medical treatment, social welfare, and public health saw advances and improvements.

During the First World War, Halifax was a busy port and the centre of wartime shipping for Canada. Ships from Allied and neutral countries, loaded with war supplies of food, munitions, and troops, arrived and departed from Halifax as part of convoys that crossed the Atlantic with armed warships as escorts. SS Imo was a Norwegian ship under charter to the Belgian Relief Commission. SS Mont-Blanc was a French ship laden with explosives. When they collided, a fire broke out on Mont-Blanc and its crew, fearing an immediate explosion, abandoned ship. The fire continued for 20 minutes while the ship drifted, eventually coming to rest against Pier 6. The collision and fire attracted crowds of spectators on the docks and in nearby homes and streets. Only handful of naval officers were aware of the potential danger involved.

At 9:05 am, Mont-Blanc exploded. In the nearby neighbourhood of Richmond, houses were destroyed and fires broke out. Elsewhere in the city, churches, schools, factories, docks, and ships were damaged to varying degrees. The blast caused also a massive tidal wave that crashed against the shores of the north end of Halifax and Dartmouth, causing further devastation. Many people were killed instantly, while others were trapped in collapsed buildings. Some 2,000 people died and injuries were widespread.

Photographie historique de l'explosion d'Halifax
© Library and Archives Canada / C-019948 / Copyrights expired
Photographie historique de l'explosion d'Halifax
© Library and Archives Canada / C-019944 / Copyrights expired
Photographie historique de l'explosion d'Halifax
© Library and Archives Canada / C-019953 / Copyrights expired

Rescue efforts began quickly and relief committees formed by that afternoon. Hospitals and shelters were soon filled, and crews began digging out survivors. The next day, a major snowstorm swept over the city, hampering rescue. Relief rapidly flowed in from the Maritimes, other Canadian provinces, and other countries. Slowly the city began to recover. The numerous eye injuries, primarily caused by windows shattering as people stood in their homes watching the fire, changed surgical procedures and eye care, and provided a major impetus for the formation of the Canadian National Institute for the Blind. The treatment of burn victims, many of whom were children, similarly led to advances in pediatric surgery related to fluid and electrolyte imbalances. As well, reconstruction efforts in the working-class neighbourhood of Richmond in Halifax, included the creation of the Hydrostone development, considered the first public housing project in Canada.

Last backgrounder update: 2017-10-30

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

L'explosion d'Halifax a été désignée comme un événement historique national en juin 2016.

Importance historique : La collision du SS Mont-Blanc et du SS Imo crée la plus puissante explosion causée par l'activité humaine avant la bombe atomique. Les consequences sont graves et durables; un mouvement d'aide national et international s'en suit.

Plaque commémorative : Parc commémoratif Fort Needham, Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse

Le 6 décembre 1917, le SS Mont-Blanc, chargé d'explosifs, et le SS Imo entrent en collision dans le port d’Halifax. L’accident provoque une explosion massive, une onde de marée et des incendies qui font quelque 2 000 morts et des milliers de blessés. Alors que les premiers répondants affluent, une vague de soutien locale, nationale et internationale s’organise face à cette dévastation sans précédent. On assiste à des progrès en médecine, notamment en chirurgie pédiatrique, et à la création de l’Institut national canadien pour les aveugles. Les quartiers détruits sont reconstruits selon des normes plus sûres et des concepts urbains novateurs.

Plaque commémorative sur son socle
Plaque commémorative sur son socle. Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse
Plaque commémorative pour l'explosion d'HalifaxPlaque commémorative - Événement historique national de l'explosion d'Halifax

L'explosion d'Halifax

Le 6 décembre 1917, le SS Mont-Blanc, chargé d'explosifs, et le SS Imo entrent en collision dans le port d’Halifax, causant une énorme explosion, une onde de marée et des incendies. Quelque 2 000 personnes perdent la vie et des milliers d’autres sont blessées. L’explosion fait d’énormes dégâts, et de nombreuses maisons sont détruites ou endommagées. Alors que les premiers répondants affluent, une grande vague de soutien locale, nationale et internationale se met en place face à cette dévastation sans précédent. L’explosion a des conséquences graves et durables. Des quartiers détruits sont reconstruits selon des normes plus sécuritaires et les secteurs des soins médicaux, du bien-être social et de la santé publique connaissent des avancées et des améliorations.

Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, Halifax est un port achalandé, au centre du transport en temps de guerre au Canada. Des navires de pays alliés et de pays neutres, chargés de nourriture, de munitions et de troupes, arrivent à Halifax et en repartent dans des convois qui traversent l’Atlantique, escortés de navires de guerre armés. Le SS Imo est un navire norvégien affrété par la Commission de secours belge et le SS Mont-Blanc, un navire français chargé d’explosifs. La collision déclenche un incendie à bord du Mont-Blanc et l’équipage, craignant une explosion immédiate, abandonne le navire. Le feu fait rage pendant environ 20 minutes, le navire dérive et bute le quai 6. La collision et le feu attirent une grande foule de badauds sur le quai et dans les maisons et rues voisines. Seule une poignée d’officiers de marine pressentent le danger imminent.

À 9 h 05, le Mont-Blanc explose. Dans le quartier voisin de Richmond, des maisons sont détruites et des feux font rage. Ailleurs dans la ville, des églises, des écoles, des usines, des quais et des navires sont endommagés à des degrés divers. La déflagration crée une vaste onde de marée dont les vagues se fracassent sur le rivage de la pointe nord des villes d’Halifax et de Dartmouth, causant d’autres ravages. De nombreuses personnes meurent sur le coup et d’autres sont coincées dans les bâtiments effondrés. La catastrophe fait quelque 2 000 morts et de nombreux blessés.  

Photographie historique de l'explosion d'Halifax
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / C-019948 / Droits d'auteurs expirés
Photographie historique de l'explosion d'Halifax
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / C-019944 / Droits d'auteurs expirés
Photographie historique de l'explosion d'Halifax
© Bibliothèque et Archives Canada / C-019953 / Droits d'auteurs expirés

Des efforts de sauvetage sont déployés rapidement et des comités de secours sont mis sur pied dans l’après-midi. Les hôpitaux et les refuges se remplissent rapidement et les équipes se mettent à creuser pour dégager les survivants. Le lendemain, une grosse tempête de neige s’abat sur la ville, nuisant aux opérations de sauvetage. Les secours arrivent rapidement depuis les Maritimes, d’autres provinces canadiennes et d’autres pays. Peu à peu, la ville commence à se rétablir. Les nombreuses lésions oculaires, causées principalement par le fracassement des fenêtres dans les maisons alors que les gens observaient le feu, ont pour effet de modifier les procédures chirurgicales et les soins oculaires et de donner une impulsion majeure à la formation de l’Institut national canadien pour les aveugles. Le traitement des brûlés, parmi lesquels se trouvaient beaucoup d’enfants, donne lieu à des avancées dans le domaine de la chirurgie pédiatrique liée aux déséquilibres des fluides et des électrolytes. De plus, la reconstruction du quartier ouvrier de Richmond à Halifax, y compris la création du district Hydrostone, est vue comme le premier projet de logement public au Canada.

Dernière mise à jour de ce document d'information : 2017-10-30

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus