A building beside water with a flag
The Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site, 2012
© Giovanni Martorella

The Gulf of Georgia Cannery was designated a national historic site in 1976.

Commemorative plaque: 12138 4th Avenue, Richmond, British Columbia Footnote 1

For thousands of years the fishery has been vitally important to people on Canada's west coast. It provided food for Aboriginal peoples and is still an essential element of their culture. Commercial fishing began in the 1830's when the Hudson's Bay Company salted salmon for export in barrels. More efficient fishing methods, new canning and freezing technologies, and access to remote markets by ship and railway fostered an industry which has for generations employed men and women of many origins. The Gulf of Georgia Cannery, built in 1894, serves as a symbol of this history.

Description of historic place

Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site of Canada is a large complex of wooden buildings associated with fish processing and canning built on wharf structure situated on the north bank of the south arm of the Fraser River at the River’s mouth on the Gulf of Georgia in the village of Steveston. It is operated now as a historic site open to the public.

 

Many cans being packaged into a crate
Cans being packaged at the Gulf of Georgia Cannery, 2015
© Sonja Peterson Photography
Cans being packaged
An assembly line of cans at the Gulf of Georgia Cannery, 2015
© Sonja Peterson Photography

Heritage value

Gulf of Georgia Cannery was designated a national historic site in 1976 because of: its association with the West Coast Fishing Industry, from the 1870s to the modern era, its location in Steveston, historically the most important fishing village on the West Coast, the cannery buildings and extant resources which reflect the industry’s development.

The heritage value of the site is carried by the physical complex of buildings constructed and modified between 1894 and 1964 and their illustration of industrial fish processing and canning during the first half of the twentieth century. Over the years, the cannery evolved into a herring reduction plant and finally ceased functioning in 1979 when the buildings were used as storage and a netloft facility until purchased by the Government of Canada for operation as a national historic site.

Sources: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, June 1977 Minutes; Commemorative Integrity Statement, November 1997.

A building beside water
A sunset picture of the Gulf of Georgia Cannery National Historic Site, 2021
© Johnny Choi 

Character defining elements

Key elements contributing to the site’s heritage value include:

  • its location on British Columbia’s lower mainland at the mouth of the Fraser River;
  • its siting, built on wharf structures out over the river;
  • the range and functional diversity of the remaining structures (Cannery building, Ice House, Feeding Oil Plant, Oil Drum Shed, Watchman’s Shed, Lead Foundry, Tank Farm Deck, Oil Drum Cradles and remnants of the South Dock);
  • the varied massing and profile of the cannery complex;
  • the orientation of specific buildings and structures and their place within the complex;
  • the simplicity of building design throughout the complex (rectangular, pitched roof structures with sparse, utilitarian details);
  • the unity of building materials throughout the complex (inexpensive and utilitarian contemporary materials including wood, metal, and manufactured sheathing materials);
  • the prevalence of utilitarian requirements governing form, location, materials and equipment;
  • the presence of special purpose equipment related to the functions of specific buildings and structures;
  • the functional organization of space between and among buildings and inside individual buildings;
  • legibility and integrity of the wharf that comprises the cannery site and supports the cannery complex;
  • the technology of wharf construction (heavy timber piles driven into the riverbank, heavy timber and wood framed substructure);
  • the materials of wharf construction (heavy timber beams, wood, wood plank);
  • viewplanes to the village of Steveston, and to surrounding cultural landscapes shaped by the fishery including other complexes of fishing industry structures, facilities (the seine loft, the gillnet loft, the driveways and front wharf), and artifacts and activities related to fishing (boat moorage), to the dike on the northeast side of the Cannery, and to the Fraser River, its mouth and the Gulf of Georgia. 

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Un bâtiment au bord de l'eau avec un drapeau
Le lieu historique national du Canada Gulf of Georgia Cannery, 2012
© Giovanni Martorella

La Gulf of Georgia Cannery a été désignée lieu historique national en 1976.

Plaque commémorative : 12138, 4ième avenue, Steveston, Richmond, Colombie-Britannique Footnote 1

Pendant des millénaires, la pêche a été vitale pour les habitants de la côte ouest. Elle assurait la subsistance des Autochtones et demeure un élément essentiel de leur culture. Dans les années 1830, la Compagnie de la baie d'Hudson se mit à saler du saumon pour l'exporter en barils. L'amélioration des méthodes de pêche, la mise en conserve, la congélation et l'accès à des marchés éloignés par bateau et par train firent prospérer cette industrie, qui emploie depuis des générations des hommes et des femmes de nombreuses origines. La conserverie Gulf of Georgia, bâtie en 1894, témoigne de cette page d'histoire.

Description du lieu patrimonial

Le lieu historique national du Canada Gulf of Georgia Cannery est un grand complexe de bâtiments de bois associés à la transformation et à la mise en conserve du poisson. Il est bâti sur un quai situé sur la rive nord du bras sud du fleuve Fraser, au niveau de son embouchure dans le détroit de Géorgie, dans le village de Steveston. Ce site historique est maintenant ouvert au public.

 

De nombreuses canettes étant emballées dans une caisse
Boîtes de conserve en cours d'emballage à la Gulf of Georgia Cannery, 2015
© Sonja Peterson Photography
Canettes en cours d'emballage
Une chaîne de montage des boîtes de conserve à la Gulf of Georgia Cannery, 2015
© Sonja Peterson Photography

Valeur patrimoniale

La Gulf of Georgia Cannery a été désignée lieu historique national du Canada en 1976 en raison: de ses liens avec l'industrie halieutique de la côte Ouest, depuis les années 1870 jusqu'à l'époque contemporaine; du fait qu'elle soit construite à Steveston, le village de pêche le plus important de la côte Ouest sur le plan historique; et des bâtiments et ressources subsistants de la conserverie, qui illustrent le développement de cette industrie.

La valeur patrimoniale du site est attestée physiquement par le complexe de bâtiments, construits et modifiés entre 1894 et 1964, qui illustrent l'industrie de la transformation et de la mise en conserve du poisson pendant la première moitié du XXe siècle. Au fil des ans, la conserverie est devenue une usine de réduction du hareng. Finalement, elle a fermé ses portes en 1979 et on a utilisé ses bâtiments comme entrepôts et comme ateliers à filets, jusqu'à ce que le gouvernement du Canada l'achète pour l'exploiter à titre de lieu historique national.

Sources : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, Procès-verbal, juin 1977; Énoncé d'intégrité commémorative, novembre 1997.

Un bâtiment au bord de l'eau
Un coucher de soleil au lieu historique national de la Gulf of Georgia Cannery, 2021
© Johnny Choi 

Éléments caractéristiques

Parmi les caractéristiques qui confèrent à ce site sa valeur patrimoniale, notons :

  • sa situation sur les basses-terres continentales de Colombie-Britannique, à l'embouchure du fleuve Fraser;
  • son emplacement sur des quais dans la rivière;
  • l'éventail et la diversité fonctionnelle des bâtiments subsistants (édifice de la conserverie, glacière, usine d'huile nourricière, remise à fûts d'huile, guérite du gardien, plateau du parc de stockage, supports de fûts d'huile, et vestiges du dock sud);
  • la diversité des volumétries et des profils du complexe de la conserverie; l'orientation de certains bâtiments et structures, et leur emplacement au sein du complexe;
  • la simplicité de la conception des édifices dans tout le complexe (bâtiments rectangulaires à toit en pente, avec peu d'ornements, mais fonctionnels);
  • la cohérence des matériaux de construction dans tout le complexe (matériaux contemporains bon marché et utilitaires, et notamment le bois, le métal et les revêtements manufacturés de blindage);
  • le fait que ce soit principalement des préoccupations utilitaires qui aient dicté la forme, l'emplacement, les matériaux et l'équipement des bâtiments du complexe;
  • la présence d'équipement spécialisé lié aux fonctions de certains édifices et structures;
  • l'organisation fonctionnelle de l'espace à l'extérieur et à l'intérieur des édifices;
  • l'état de conservation et l'évidence de la fonction du quai qui forme le site et soutient le complexe de la conserverie;
  • la technologie de construction du quai, ses lourds piliers en grosses billes enfoncés dans la rive, et son infrastructure en bois massif et à ossature de bois;
  • les matériaux de construction du quai (grosses billes, bois et planches);
  • les perspectives vers le village de Steveston et les paysages culturels environnants façonnés par les pêcheries, et notamment les vues vers d'autres complexes industriels et installations de pêche (atelier à sennes, atelier à filets maillants, voies d'accès et quai principal);
  • ainsi que vers des objets et activités liées aux pêcheries (amarrage des bateaux), ainsi que la vue sur la digue située au nord-est de la conserverie, vers l'embouchure du fleuve Fraser, et vers le détroit de Géorgie.

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus