An ice road going across the Mackenzie
Ice road across the Mackenzie, at Tsiigehtchic, Northwest Territories
© Author: Ian Mackenzie / see wikipedia

The Establishment of ice roads in the Northwest Territories was designated a national historic event in December 2000.

Historical importance: Integral form of transportation in the Northwest Territories after World War II.

Commemorative plaque: Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

An integral part of transportation systems in the North, engineered ice roads have strengthened regional economic development, especially in the Northwest Territories. Introduced after the Second World War, these roads made the movement of the necessities of life more affordable. They also facilitated the transport of heavy equipment and supplies vital to the mining and petrochemical industries. By providing the only land link to many communities during the winter and by lowering the cost of living, ice roads have greatly improved the quality of life in Canada's North.

Commemorative plaque being unveiled by three man
Commemorative plaque unveiling, Rotary Park, Yellowknife, 2016.
Commemorative plaque installed on a rock
Commemorative plaque - Establishment of ice roads in the Northwest Territories National Historic Event. This commemorative plaque have been publicly unveiled on June 7, 2016, in Rotary Park, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories. 

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Une route de glace traversant le Mackenzie
Route de glace à travers le Mackenzie, à Tsiigehtchic, Territoires du Nord-Ouest
© Auteur : Ian Mackenzie / voir wikipédia

La création des chemins de glace dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest a été désignée événement historique national en décembre 2000.

Importance historique : Construits après la Seconde Guerre mondiale; ils forment encore aujourd'hui une importante composante du réseau de transport de la région.

Plaque commémorative : Yellowknife, Territoire du Nord-Ouest

Partie intégrante du réseau de transport du Grand Nord, les chemins de glace aménagés mécaniquement ont dynamisé le développement économique régional, notamment des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Adoptés après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, ils ont permis des économies sur le transport des produits de première nécessité. Ils ont aussi facilité l'approvisionnement et l'expédition de la machinerie lourde destinée aux industries minières et pétrochimiques. Ces chemins abaissent le coût de la vie et offrent, durant l'hiver, le seul lien terrestre entre plusieurs communautés, améliorant grandement la qualité de vie dans le Nord canadien.

Trois hommes dévoilent une plaque commémorative
Dévoilement de la plaque commémorative, Rotary Park, Yellowknife, 2016.
Plaque commémorative installée sur un rocher
Plaque commémorative - Événement historique national de la création des chemins de glace dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Cette plaque commémorative a été dévoilée publiquement le 7 juin 2016 au Rotary Park, Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest. 

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus