The Fortifications of Québec were designated as a national historic site en 1948.

Picture of a historic place surrounded by brick walls
General view
© Parks Canada / P. St. Jacques / 1984

Commemorative plaque: 97 Saint-Louis St., Québec, Quebec Footnote 1

The principal military stronghold in Canada during the colonial period, Québec City was protected by an elaborate defence system developed between 1608 and 1871. In addition to the ramparts surrounding the old city, the fortifications included other structures and spaces such as guardhouses, gates, powder magazines, stores, soldiers' and officers' barracks, parade grounds, and esplanades. Today, the main surviving components of the system are the 4.6-kilometre-long ramparts, the Citadel, three Martello towers, and Fort No. 1 at Lévis. Significant parts of the fortifications were saved from demolition as the result of several initiatives, in particular those of Governor General Lord Dufferin, a pioneering figure in Canada's heritage conservation movement in the late 19th century. Québec, the only fortified city in North America to have preserved its ramparts and numerous other defensive works, was recognized in 1985 as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Description of historic place

Picture of a walled city
A wall of the fortifications of Quebec and the Porte Saint-Jean at Place D'Youville, Quebec. In the background, the Kent gate.
© Pierre-Olivier Fortin, 2012
Picture of a walled city
Porte Saint-Jean and rue Saint-Jean from place d'Youville, Quebec.
© Pierre-Olivier Fortin, 2012

The Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site of Canada comprises a number of sites associated with the city of Québec’s historic defence systems. Its components are located in the city’s Upper Town and Lower Town, along the north shore of the St. Lawrence River to the Montmorency River in Beauport and on the south shore of Lévis. The site includes the actual fortifications and certain components, such as doors, guard posts, powder magazines, storehouses, barracks, and military facilities, all built between 1608 and 1871, which contribute to the city’s defence system. Official recognition refers to all of the associated physical, built, archaeological and landscape resources within the defined perimeter that are linked to the defence system, namely the mill’s redoubt and Mont-Carmel Park, the Esplanade powder magazine, the powder magazine located on the property of the Hôtel-Dieu Hospital, the Artillery barracks, the sections of the Artillery Park Heritage Site declared surplus by the Dominion Arsenal, the captain’s quarters in the Artillery Park Heritage Site, the ordnance storehouse in the Saint-Jean bastion, the Dauphine barracks, the Québec Martello Towers National Historic Site of Canada (NHSC), the Québec Garrison Club NHSC, the Québec Citadelle NHSC, and the Lévis Forts NHSC.

Heritage value

The Fortifications of Québec were designated a national historic site of Canada in 1957 because: they commemorate the defence system built between 1608 and 1871 in Quebec City, Canada’s main stronghold in the colonial era. 

Located on a plateau overlooking the convergence of the St. Lawrence and the St. Charles Rivers, the fortifications for the city of Québec began with the city’s founding in 1608 by Samuel de Champlain. The original fortifications were makeshift works, built to meet the colony’s most pressing needs. Resembling a medieval castle, Champlain’s first fort, or Habitation, included a residence, merchandise and supply store, and a redoubt with elevated walls. Throughout the 17th century, this first habitation was replaced by a succession of rudimentary military works, including Fort St. Louis and Champlain’s second Habitation. In 1690, the fall of Port Royal in Acadia led the French to properly fortify the city with its first enceinte, consisting of 11 redoubts joined by palisades. Although the Upper Town’s steep cliffs acted as natural defences for two of its three sides, its vulnerable west side, which faced the open countryside of the Plains of Abraham, was made the top priority of Québec’s fortification program. The initial enceinte was followed by a succession of modifications and additions until 1745 when, after the fall of Louisbourg to the British triggered a state of panic among Québec’s inhabitants, a new enceinte laden with masonry was built, permanently enclosing the Upper Town’s western boundary.

Sunrise picture of a walled city
Walls of La Citadelle and the Chateau Frontenac.
© Parks Canada
Picture of a historic building on a hill top
Plains of Abraham and Martello Tower n°1
© Josyan Pierson, 2006

Shortly after the conquest of Canada in 1759, the British victors were faced with new defense requirements. Though the British feared an attempt by the French to recapture Québec, as well as an uprising from the Francophone population, they could not raise the funds to strengthen the city’s defences right away. However, the Revolutionary War in America eventually spurred the construction of new fortifications. The British undertook a plan to strengthen and extend the 1745 enceinte around the entire city, build outworks in front of the enceinte to hamper the enemy’s approach, build defense works on the Plains of Abraham, and erect a masonry citadel on Cap Diamant. This last phase was completed between 1819 and 1832. Incorporating existing 18th-century defence systems in its design, the Citadel’s only real new fronts were those that faced the city, indicating that it was built, in part, to function as a British refuge in the event of a Francophone uprising. The completion of the Citadel marked the height of the city of Québec’s role as a fortress.

The construction of detached forts on the south shore in Lévis in 1865 was followed by the departure of the British garrison in 1871. Although several structures of the fortifications have deteriorated or were demolished since then, the primary defences of the city have been preserved due to the late 19th-century intervention of Governor General of Canada Lord Dufferin (1872-1878). Today, the city of Québec is the sole surviving example of a fortified city in North America.

Sources: Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada, Minutes, 1948, December 2000, June 2001; Statement of Commemorative Integrity, 2004.

Related information about this designation:

The National Program of Historical Commemoration relies on the participation of Canadians in the identification of places, events and persons of national historic significance. Any member of the public can nominate a topic for consideration by the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada.

Get information on how to participate in this process

Les Fortifications de Québec ont été désignées lieu historique national en 1948.

Photo d'un lieu historique entouré de murs de briques
Vue general
© Parcs Canada / P. St. Jacques / 1984

Plaque commémorative : 97, rue Saint-Louis, Québec, Québec Footnote 1

Principale place forte du Canada à l'époque coloniale, la ville de Québec était protégée par un système défensif élaboré, mis en place entre 1608 et 1871. Outre les remparts, les fortifications comptaient de nombreux ouvrages et espaces à vocation militaire, tels l es corps de garde, les portes, les poudrières, les entrepôts, les casernes pour soldats et officiers ainsi que les places d'armes et les esplanades. Aujourd'hui, les principales composantes de ce système de défense encore présentes sont les remparts ceinturant la vieille ville sur un périmètre de 4,6 kilomètres, la Citadelle, trois tours Martello et, à Lévis, le fort Numéro-Un. Une bonne partie des fortifications échappa à la démolition grâce à un ensemble d'initiatives, dont celle du gouverneur général lord Dufferin qui, à la fin du XIXe siècle, faisait figure de pionnier au sein du mouvement de conservation patrimoniale au Canada. Québec est la seule ville fortifiée en Amérique du Nord à avoir conservé ses remparts et un nombre appréciable d'ouvrages défensifs, ce qui a contribué à son inscription, en 1985, sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial de l'UNESCO.

Description du lieu patrimonial

Image d'une ville fortifiée
Un mur des fortifications de Québec et la porte Saint-Jean à place D'Youville, Québec. À l'arrière-plan, la porte Kent.
© Pierre-Olivier Fortin, 2012
Image d'une ville fortifiée
La porte Saint-Jean et rue Saint-Jean depuis place d'Youville, Québec.
© Pierre-Olivier Fortin, 2012

Le lieu historique national du Canada des Fortifications-de-Québec se compose de plusieurs lieux associés aux systèmes de défense historiques de la ville de Québec. Ces composantes sont situées dans la Haute-Ville et la Basse-Ville de Québec, le long de la rive nord du fleuve Saint Laurent jusqu’à la rivière Montmorency, à Beauport, et sur la rive sud, à Lévis. Le lieu comprend les fortifications à proprement parler ainsi que certaines composantes telles que des portes, des postes de garde, des poudrières, des entrepôts, des casernes et des espaces militaires, tous aménagés entre 1608 et 1871 en tant qu’éléments du système de défense de la ville. La désignation fait référence à toutes les ressources physiques, bâties, archéologiques et de paysage associées à l’intérieur des périmètres définis et qui sont liées au système de défense, notamment la redoute du moulin et le parc du Mont-Carmel, la poudrière de l’Esplanade et la poudrière située sur la propriété de l’hôpital de l’Hôtel-Dieu, les casernes de l’Artillerie, les sections du site patrimonial du Parc-de-l'Artillerie déclarées excédentaires par les Arsenaux du dominion, les quartiers du capitaine dans le site patrimonial du Parc-de-l'Artillerie, le dépôt du service du matériel dans le bastion Saint-Jean, les casernes Dauphine, ainsi que les lieux historiques nationaux du Canada (LHNC) des Tours-Martello-de-Québec, du Cercle-de-la-Garnison-de-Québec, de la Citadelle-de-Québec et des Forts-de-Lévis.

Valeur patrimoniale

Les fortifications de Québec ont été désignées lieu historique national du Canada en 1957 pour la raison suivante : ce lieu commémore le système défensif mis en place entre 1608 et 1871 à Québec, principale place forte du Canada à l’époque coloniale. 

Situées sur un plateau qui surplombe la confluence du fleuve Saint-Laurent et de la rivière Saint Charles, les fortifications de Québec voient le jour en même temps que la ville, fondée en 1608 par Samuel de Champlain. Les fortifications d’origine sont composées d’ouvrages improvisés, construits pour répondre aux besoins les plus pressants de la colonie. Ressemblant à un château médiéval, le premier fort de Champlain (l’Habitation) comprend une résidence, un magasin de produits et de fournitures, ainsi qu’une redoute aux murs élevés. Au cours du XVIIe siècle, la première Habitation est remplacée par une succession d’ouvrages militaires rudimentaires, notamment le fort Saint-Louis et la deuxième Habitation de Champlain. En 1690, la chute de Port Royal en Acadie pousse les Français à munir la ville de fortifications appropriées en y construisant la première enceinte, formée de 11 redoutes reliées par des palissades. Même si les falaises abruptes de la Haute-Ville font office de remparts naturels sur deux des trois côtés, la limite ouest, qui s’ouvre sur les Plaines d’Abraham, est vulnérable et constitue la priorité du programme des fortifications de Québec. L’enceinte initiale subit de nombreux ajouts et modifications jusqu'en 1745, date à laquelle un nouvelle enceinte de pierre est constuite pour fermer la limite ouest de façon permanente puisque la prise de Louisbourg par les Britanniques a semé un vent de panique chez les habitants de Québec.

Photo du lever du soleil d'une ville fortifiée
Murs de la Citadelle et le Château Frontenac.
© Parks Canada
Photo d'un bâtiment historique au sommet d'une colline
Plaines d'Abraham et tour martello n°1
© Josyan Pierson, 2006

Peu après la conquête du Canada en 1759, les vainqueurs britanniques doivent revoir leurs besoins en matière de défense. Même s’ils craignent une reprise de la ville par les Français et un soulèvement de la population francophone, les Britanniques sont incapables d’amasser tout de suite les fonds nécessaires au renforcement des ouvrages défensifs de la ville. La Révolution américaine les incite enfin à construire de nouvelles fortifications. Les Britanniques entreprennent un plan visant à solidifier et à étendre l’enceinte de 1745 à tout le périmètre de la ville, à construire des ouvrages à l’extérieur de cette enceinte pour gêner l’approche de l’ennemi ainsi que des ouvrages de défense sur les hauteurs des Plaines d’Abraham, et enfin, à ériger une citadelle de maçonnerie sur le Cap Diamant. Cette dernière étape du plan se termine entre 1819 et 1832. Puisqu’on incorpore à la citadelle les éléments déjà existants du système de défense du XVIIIe siècle, on ne doit construire que les murs faisant face à la ville, ce qui laisse croire que l’ouvrage avait au départ été construit, en partie, pour servir de refuge aux Britanniques en cas de révolte des Francophones. L’achèvement de la citadelle marque l’apogée du rôle de forteresse de Québec.

En 1865, la construction de forts indépendants sur la rive sud, à Lévis, est suivie par le départ de la garnison britannique, en 1871. Même si plusieurs structures des fortifications ont été endommagées ou démolies depuis, les principaux ouvrages de défense de la ville ont été préservés, grâce à l’intervention, à la fin du XIXe siècle, de Lord Dufferin, Gouverneur général du Canada de 1872 à 1878. La ville de Québec est, à ce jour, la seule ville fortifiée en Amérique du Nord.

Sources : Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada, procès-verbal, 1948, décembre 2000, juin 2001; Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative, 2004.

Informations liées à cette désignation :

Le Programme national de commémoration historique repose sur la participation des Canadiens afin d’identifier les lieux, les événements et les personnages d’importance historique nationale. Tous les membres du public peuvent proposer un sujet afin qu’il soit étudié par la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada.

Obtenir plus d'informations sur la façon de participer à ce processus